We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ribs in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabana Covent Garden

Cabana Covent Garden
7 Central St Giles Piazza St Giles High Street, London WC2H 8AD, England
+44 20 7632 9630
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cabana Covent Garden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,993 of 17,998 Restaurants in London
Price range: $16 - $28
Cuisines: Barbecue, Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best ribs in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Went here last night not expecting a lot. Ended up having the best ribs I've had. Not at all fatty. Even better than the ones in America. Huge portions. My boyfriend had the signature chicken dish on the skewer. Was to did for. Very well flavoured and succulent. The dessert of peanut butter frozen yogurt Sunday was heaven. Can't wait to return !

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCabana, Owner at Cabana Covent Garden, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
You have made our day with this review - thank you so much! Be sure to like us on Facebook - search for "CabanaBrasil" - that you can get a free street food on your next visit.

All best,
Lizzy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    88
    67
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porsgrunn, Norway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

My hangar steak was tasty. Never tries Brazilian food before, it was lovely. More than enough food for me :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCabana, Owner at Cabana Covent Garden, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Really great to hear it. The steak is new on the menu, so we're delighted you enjoyed it.
Do make sure to like us on Facebook (search CabanaBrasil) to get a free streetfood next time you're in.

all best,
Lizzy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Really tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Went to Cabana on a chilly Saturday afternoon with my dad and brother and thought the restaurant looked a little quiet. However many more people arrived during our meal and the atmosphere picked up. We had two friendly waiters- one who was being trained- we liked the t-shirts explaining this!- and our orders were taken quickly. My iced tea instantly made me feel like it was summer- such a refreshing drink and loved the wild leaf cordial. This summertime feeling carried on when we went on to the food. I had the pork tenderloin with chimichurri crust, with two sides (very moreish cassava chips and the butteriest corn on the cobs ever) whilst my brother had the prawn moqueca and Dad, the pork fejioada. All of it delicious, rich and incredibly tasty. Sad to have missed dessert- we were too full- but will be back again soon to sample it I hope!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCabana, Owner at Cabana Covent Garden, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
So pleased to hear you all had a good visit to the restaurant and thrilled to hear you like the t-shirts - we're hoping to sell them on our website in the near future!

Hope you'll be back soon.
Tudo Bem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant but food lacking!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Went to Cabana with some friends last weekend on the Tastecard offer. Location and staff were fine, but don't expect great things with food. We had Plantain crisps and the prawn starter - nice but not enough! Burgers for main apart from my friend who had the Mushrooms and Halloumi for main. Well I would have called it a "taster dish", 2 pretty small mushrooms as a main. It was laughable! When we spoke to staff, she was very friendly and brought some more free of charge, but really nearly £7 for 2 mushrooms and a little cheese. The waiter had told her that there would be 4 mushrooms! Sides were tasty but again not even average size portions. It was worth visiting with Tastecard, but I won't rush back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCabana, Owner at Cabana Covent Garden, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Sorry to hear the mushrooms were a tad on the small size - that certainly shouldn't be the case. If you'd like to drop me an email I'd be happy to look into this for you: lizzy.barber@sweetpotato.co.uk

Many thanks,
Lizzy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Great selection of BBQ and sides to match and compliment the meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Different take on the Brazilian BBQ - it wasn't all you can eat - which meant that you could order what you wanted and be in control (unlike at the other style where they bring the meat around every one in a while). We had a Tastecard which allowed 50% off the skewers so we found that helped us have a great selection of food at a good price. We ordered a few different dishes and sides - was surprised it all came out at once - expected it to come in stages. Was impressed with the restaurant and would definitely go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCabana, Owner at Cabana Covent Garden, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review - we hope you'll come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabana Covent Garden also viewed

 

Been to Cabana Covent Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabana Covent Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.