We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #37 of 1,075 hotels in London
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Classic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Wonderful service, helpful staff, beautiful room. We stayed in a family room and it was simply adorable. Great location, central for major sights.
Highly recommend. Delicious breakfast. Staff very gracious and accommodating.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us.
It is lovely to hear that you booked one of our family rooms which are very spacious and have two bathrooms also. Glad you liked it so much.
We do receive some lovely comments about our great breakfast selection from our guests and I am so pleased your enjoyed it too.
Thank you for recommending us.
Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,853 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,981
    697
    118
    39
    18
See reviews for
837
1054
91
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We booked this hotel on Venere.com, and while we had some difficulty confirming the reservation with this third party site, the hotel itself was fabulous. I called the hotel directly to confirm and they were very pleasant and reassuring. Upon arrival, a nice chap helped with baggage and ushered in to the check in area. Our room was not quite ready after a long flight from Vancouver but the concierge service held our bags and dropped them off in the room when it was available. We were upgraded to a courtyard view room and welcomed with a bottle of water and a bowl of fresh cherries! Such a cute touch!
The room was spacious and modern with a complimentary Nespresso coffee maker and coffee/espresso and tea amenities. Being all about decor and linens, this hotel really lived up to my standards. The washroom was small with limited storage but manageable. Turn down service was provided as part of our upgrade (again, nice touch) and we were provided with chocolates, slippers and pillow spray in the evenings.
A full service breakfast was included as well and it had something to offer for everyone. Even the continental breakfast was lovely.
Wine and canapés were offered in the lobby in the evenings starting at 5pm. The staff was friendly, and offered up advice on local pubs, transit tips and general conversation.
I would pass on the hotel restaurant for dinner-we found this to be very expensive with basic food options. The bar however, has creative cocktails and nibbles for late night offerings. A terrace bar is also open but service was slow and closed early and we hence felt rushed out.
Overall, great location, lots of pubs around, easy access to tube (St. James) and walking distance to attractions (Buckingham).

Room Tip: Request a courtyard facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
I was so happy to read that we provided you with an upgraded room which overlooked out beautiful courtyard. This is particular beautiful during the Summer months. Glad you liked our turndown service which our chocolate bees left on your pillow, which represent our own bee’s that produce our St Ermin’s honey.
It’s lovely you joined us for cocktail hour in the lobby and that you chatted with some members of my team who were very helpful to you.
I see you had breakfast with us and liked it very much. We do receive some lovely comments about both our wide selection of continental choices as well as our cooked options.
I do hope that when you return to London next you will return and stay with us again.
Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife and two teenage daughters had a wonderful stay for 4 nights in July 2013. We could not have been happier in our family room with double queen beds and two bathrooms. Clean and spacious best describes the room and we experienced unbelievable service from the moment we entered the hotel. Quite a difference from the small room and just ok service at the hotel we came from in Paris before our visit to London. We are big fans now of St. Ermin's and look forward to coming back again. I strongly recommend this hotel and I am usually tough to please!

Room Tip: If you have children, the family room with queen beds and separate bathrooms is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Sir,
It’s great to read that you loved one of our really spacious family room and that it provided you, your wife and your daughters with the space you needed.
I am so happy to read that you found our service unbelievable from the time you arrived till the time you left. I do work very closely with all of my team through the hotel to ensure that each guest is made to feel special and welcome.
Thank you for recommending us and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.
Warm Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

from check in to cab service to breakfast and of course what cab beat every evening wine in the lobby

for all the folks who served me either by special ordering cabs or making sure i was seating by the window for breakfast the service was perfect the hotel is located in an excellent location walking to the palace or big ben all is easy

While the hotel is part of Marriott it is in their Autograph collection and provedes a very special atmosphere

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Sharon,
I loved your title of your review. We are in a lovely location so away from the hustle and bustle of the main Victoria Street in London so very quiet in comparison to other hotels in the area.
Glad to hear you had a favourite seat for breakfast in the window and that we were able to do this for you. It is very important for us to make guests feel special and nothing is too much trouble.
Thank you for saying that we have a very special atmosphere…..we are very proud of the hotel and think it has a very oldie worldly charm about it.
We look forward to you returning.
Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

2nd time I stayed here, absolutely wonderful can not fault the place at all. The building itself is stunning, the location is fantastic and the staff are exceptional. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your lovely review and I am so pleased to hear that you could not fault the St Ermin’s Hotel at all.
It makes me so happy to read that you found my team exceptional and thank you for recommending us to others.
We look forward to you returning when next back in London.
Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

What a lovely hotel, we had a fantastic stay here last weekend. From the moment we arrived we were looked after. The rooms were clean and very nice. The food great. The location was perfect for our first visit to London as next to the tube. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Mikey,
Thank you for saying how lovely our hotel is and I am very happy that we made your stay a fantastic one last weekend.
We receive a lot of great comments about how clean our rooms are and I can say that I am very proud of my housekeeping team who work hard to achieve this.
We look forward to you returning back to the St Ermin’s for another stay.
Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

St Ermins is a hidden gem, perfect for exploring the west end and Westminster. The service by everyone from the doorman to the bar staff was first class, I stayed in a family room with 2 friends and 2 bathrooms, which is a god send for 3 women! I will definitely be returning, as will my friends. Wonderful experience, thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Madam,
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and it has made me really happy to read you have a lovely time.
Thank you for saying that all of my team are first class. We do work hard to achieve this service level and I am proud of all of them.
Glad you liked your family room with two double beds, day bed and two bathrooms. You are right it is ideal for either a family or friends to stay together.
We look forward to you returning and it would be our pleasure to look after you.
Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection

Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park  , Westminster / Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in London
#31 Luxury Hotel in London
#32 Romantic Hotel in London
#49 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.