We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it before we entered the building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection to your Saves list
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #58 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Loved it before we entered the building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked a room at the last minute as at a party in town. On arrival you are greeted by a magical looking building with a warm glow from the lights outside. We checked in with extremely pleasant and welcoming staff, to be told we had been upgraded for our stay. We were asked if we needed any assistance or services before we left the check in desk. The suite was amazing, it smelt devine and all the amenities arel from the white company. We had from service for both dinner and breakfast which was served on a table in our room. Finishing touches fill your stay from I pod docking stations to chocolate bees on the turn down service.
In all a totally enjoyable experience which we look forward to having again. I think I've found my new home in London

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your very lovely review following your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased you liked our very beautiful courtyard. It is especially lovely this time of year with the Christmas trees and lights in place, it does make it look magical.

Glad we could upgrade your room to a Suite and that you loved it so much you wanted to have room service for both dinner and breakfast which I see you very much enjoyed. Housekeeping work hard to ensure that our rooms and suites smell really fresh and fragrant and I am glad you thought so too.

I am overjoyed that you feel that you have found your new home in London. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and I very much look forward to welcoming you back and to making you feel at home once more.

Warm Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,266
    827
    147
    53
    20
See reviews for
977
1,242
113
440
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

A 15 minute local phone call from the hotel costs me 100 pound. Service was average.

Way too many busybodies in the lobby with a British accent but not really helpful. Overall not a business class hotel.

They gave me a handicap room without asking me which made the whole experience of using the bathroom weird

The buffet is average and expensive for its quality. I don't mind paying 25 pounds for a buffet as long as they have a good choice

The location is not good for a business visitor to have a drink or dinner no happening places in the neighborhood. Unless your idea of happening is gawking at the queen.


Overall avoid this very pricy low quality touristy place. Heard it's now a marriott franchise and will surely be apt...

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Mr John,

Following the receipt of your email sent to myself, General Manager I replied advising that although I could see a number of calls were made I have given a substantial discount to you to rectify your ill feeling.

All charges are communicated to each guest by way of our hotel directory which is on the desk in all rooms. This clearly indicates the charges that will be made depending on where and who you are calling. These charged are all in line with other London hotels in the same category as St. Ermin's.

I am very surprised and disappointed that you felt it necessary to communicate this worldwide even though I had dealt with this on the same day as receiving your email, which I believe would have provided you with a satisfactory resolution.

Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

St Ermins is a little gem in the heart of London.It is close to many attractions and only a minute away from the nearest underground station St.James which makes it easily accessible from airports,main train stations and bus terminals.Access to other sights is also easy and as a result it is ideal for short or long term visits to London.My wife,8 year old son and I stayed for just 2 nights early November and arrived late on a Friday night check in was quick and straightforward and my son was thrilled to be given a large envelope marked top secret,a really nice touch. The room was spacious and with 2 large double beds more than adequate for our group.The beds were comfortable and a good nights sleep was assured,and that's from someone who prefers to sleep on a futon and doesn't usually sleep well in a bed.It was my wife's first trip to London and thanks to St.Ermins her first impression was really a good one.The bathroom was large and spotlessly clean,simple things like good quality towels and plenty of them gave a really homely feel.Two robes were provided and these were comfortable and pleasant to wear.Only downside would be that a mid size robe could be provided suitable for children when it is known that a family with children will be staying,just an idea! If you do not wish to eat at the hotel there is plenty of choice within a few minutes walk.The staff are truly friendly and helpful,naturally so and not false as comes across in other places.The rooms are truly quiet and noise from inside or outside is not a problem. In summing up I would 100% recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again.Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Ritchie,
It was our pleasure to provide your son with his spy package on arrival and I hope he enjoyed this. It makes children feel very special to have something give to them also.
I hope you managed to take him to see our bees on the third floor, if not you must next time you stay. They are interesting to watch and all of our honey in the hotel is made by them.
I am really happy that you liked your room and that you found your bed comfortable. We do provide luxury amenities in our bathrooms, so pleased you enjoyed them.
I will pass on your lovely comments to my team as they will be really happy to know that you thought them very friendly and helpful.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the St. Ermin’s Hotel again and it was our pleasure having you stay.
Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Surprisingly large and very clean hotel room with complementary continental breakfast with many European choices to satisfy the palate. Located next to the St. James Park tube station which is convenient to multiple downtown locations. Plan to stay here in the future for business travel to London.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room spacious and up to standards as far as cleanliness is concerned. My housekeeping team work hard to keep everything spotless for our guests.
I see you had breakfast during your stay and found our great Continental selection to your liking. We do receive many comments about this so pleased you enjoyed it.
It was our pleasure to have you stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was, by far, one of the most pleasurable hotel properties we have visited. We are Marriott platinum members and have stayed in many Marriott and Autograph Collection hotels. Certainly one of the best! Stunning lobby, lounge and bar areas were comfortable - a very warm feel to this hotel and outstanding service. A special thank you to Concierge group - so kind to my father on his first trip to London. I enjoyed this Westminster area - steps away from the Underground, restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Jennifer,
It is really lovely to read that you found the St. Ermin’s to be one of your most pleasurable hotels you have stayed in.
We are very proud of our lobby, lounge and bar areas which are great to relax in after a day out sightseeing, so thank you for commenting on these.
I will pass on your thank you to my Concierge team as they will be pleased to hear that you found them very friendly and welcoming. They are a great and knowledgeable team to work with.
I do hope you will return to the St. Ermin’s for another stay and it was our pleasure looking after you.
Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

we loved it, stayed here with our two young children and it was great. Good room and facilities, amazing location and an amazing breakfast included in the rate. Not sure what the value for money is as I burned some points for this stay. Will certainly book it again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay with your family and that you thought your room and our facilities amazing.
We do receive a lot of nice comments about our breakfast as we have a very wide selection of Continental items to choose from as well as offering our Full English breakfast. I am pleased you enjoyed yours which you have included in your rate.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I'm writing this why actually in the hotel - I cant believe how lucky we were to find this hotel - Staff amazing - room lovely large walk in shower - was concerned about the location but its at the side of the tube.

Ate in the restaurant last night the Caxton Grill - the chef his Adam Handling who I think should win master chef - so I'd go to eat here because in a few weeks you wont be able to get a table, and by the way his foods amazing.

The waitress in the bar are very polite and efficient even though they are extremely busy.

This hotel will not disappoint and we will be returning

Room Tip: We had the executive king more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
It’s great to read that you saw that Adam Handling our Head Chef is competing in Masterchef the Professionals. I am very proud of him and he is doing very well so far.
I am glad you enjoyed your meal in the Caxton Grill and yes I think you will find that lots of people will come to experience his style and flair of cooking.
Glad you liked your room with the walk in shower and that the hotel met all your expectations.
Thank you for commenting on Adam and I will certainly ensure he reads your review.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another stay and we look forward to it.
Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection

Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park  , Westminster / Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#49 Luxury Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Amex, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.