We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection to your Saves list
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #51 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Queensland
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Great location and very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel when we arrived in London in early September. Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor we decided on this one and we were very pleased with our choice.

Located only a few minutes walk from Westminster Abbey but in a quiet backstreet, the hotel is in an ideal location. Front desk staff were helpful, though a little aloof but the concierge was very obliging. There is very nice bar downstairs and a restaurant (we didn't dine in) on the ground floor.

Our room was a good size, located on the first floor overlooking the front entrance to the hotel. The bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was also well stocked with toiletries, though not a very large room. Safe was provided in the wardrobe.

We took a ferry ride on the Thames to Greenwich - we accessed this by walking to the Westminster Bridge and then down on the wharf underneath. Excellent trip and a great way to see London from the water. 15 pounds each return. We walked mostly but the tube station is not far from the hotel. (we caught the tube from the airport to the hotel when we arrived and had no difficulty).

Suggest buying a day ticket if using the tube more than once. We went to Hampton Court using the tube and also to the Riverbank area for dinner on the same day. Restaurant called Zorita (great tapas and very interesting Spanish wines).

Highly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting London.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Many thanks for writing your review upon your return home.
It is nice to read that you found our Caxton Bar & Grill on the ground floor and that you thought the bar was really nice. My team there do try to make all guests feel welcome and at home.
I am glad you like your view over the courtyard and that you thought you room was adequate for your stay and your bed large and comfortable. Our courtyard is a very picturesque part of the property and many guests like their rooms to have this view.
Thank you for recommending us to others and I do hope you will return to stay with us again.
Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,164
    783
    133
    48
    20
See reviews for
932
1,177
105
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was a bit of personal celebration in London. Spent 3 nights and enjoyed every minute. Lovely well appointed rooms, although compact in size. The hotel has a grand feel and understated elegant ambiance. The service is generally very good, and always well intentioned. We were impressed with the attention to detail, the house keeping staff did an excellent job. The bathrooms were immaculate. Although, it is not a moderately priced London hotel, we would stay here again. We felt that there was very good value, when all the services and options were taken into account.

Room Tip: The entire hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood. We would probably recommend staying on the lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you for your very lovely comments about the service my team provided during your recent stay with us.

I hope your celebration went well and it is great to read that you think the hotel is both elegant and has a feeling of grandeur.

I see you liked your room and that you found the bathroom immaculate. I will pass your comments on to my housekeeping team who work hard to keep the rooms clean and looking well looked after.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the future.

Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Great location, walking distance to most main points of interest. Continental breakfast wonderful, lots of choice, smoked salmon, range of fresh breads, cheese, salami, fruit as well as superb fresh pastries.
Foyer very impressive and rooms very comfortable and clean. On the small side but most rooms are in london.
Would happily stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Kate,

I am glad that you liked our Continental breakfast. We receive many lovely comments about how wide the selection is to choose from, so pleased you thought that too.

I see you thought our reception and lobby area was impressive which makes me happy as my team work hard to keep it this way.

It was our pleasure having you stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had to dash to London for a charity reception with accommodation booked for us. The St Ermin certainly did not let us down, far from it! We felt nurtured and cared for; marvellous food, excellent service, good rooms and oooh such a sumptuous bed, whow so comfy!
We shall definitely return but for a longer visit to thoroughly spoil ourselves!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and that everything met with your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the St. Ermin’s for longer next time.

Best Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My daughter and I ran away for a quick girls trip to London and happily landed at the St. Ermins. The hotel is perfectly located next to the St. James tube stop and was a quick walk to Westminster Abbey and Buckingham Palace. I'm a Marriott Platinum and our room rate of 218 pounds/night included a cooked to order breakfast and cold buffet to fuel our days touring the city. As expected the rooms in Europe are smaller than in the US, but the St. Ermins has nicely appointed its rooms with plushy robes, a writing desk, included wifi and minibar and safe.

We'll choose this property again when we run away to London!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your lovely review following your return home to the USA.

It makes me very happy to read that you had such a lovely time with your daughter at St Ermin’s and that you found you room and its amenities very plush.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.

Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This property is in such a great location! We were able to walk, take the tube or train virtually everywhere. The interior is beautiful and ornate...you have a sense of old, ornate architecture.
The bed and linens were very comfortable, the room was spacious and had a sitting area.
The only complaint about the property is that the fire door leading to the elevator would slam and bounce each time a guest would exit the elevator or stairs. We were four doors down from it, but heard it as though someone was slamming our closet door. I am a light sleeper, but didn't have any problems with it during the night. (Not many young partiers on our floor ;)
Overall a wonderful place and one we will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I am really pleased that you thought that the interior of the hotel is beautiful and that it gives that feeling of it being old. We were careful to keep the Victorian charm when we carried out the refurbishment.

I am glad that you room was to your liking and that you found it spacious and the amenities good. I will discuss the fire door near to the elevator with my maintenance team and thank you for bringing this to my attention. You feedback is appreciated.

It was our pleasure having you stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a really lovely hotel - despite being quite large, it feels really homely. The entrance is beautiful and the common areas very comfortable and spacious. The staff are incredibly well trained and polite, and the rooms are very clean and comfortable, if a little on the small side. My parents had a lovely room overlooking the courtyard - mine at the back overlooked air conditioning units so it's worth asking for a room facing front. The hotel is well located, and really near St James Park in which I had some lovely walks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the entrance courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
It is great to read that you felt at home and you found the hotel beautiful. We do receive many lovely comments about our courtyard and lobby entrance as it gives that feel of grandeur.
I am glad that the rooms you received were clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay here.
St James Park, which is so close to us is really a great place to walk so it is nice that you managed some time to do this.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection

Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park  , Westminster / Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in London
#40 Romantic Hotel in London
#44 Business Hotel in London
#45 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Venere, Priceline, getaroom.com, Amex, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.