We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, in central London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection to your Saves list
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England (Westminster)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #59 of 1,050 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Comfort, in central London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was a bit of personal celebration in London. Spent 3 nights and enjoyed every minute. Lovely well appointed rooms, although compact in size. The hotel has a grand feel and understated elegant ambiance. The service is generally very good, and always well intentioned. We were impressed with the attention to detail, the house keeping staff did an excellent job. The bathrooms were immaculate. Although, it is not a moderately priced London hotel, we would stay here again. We felt that there was very good value, when all the services and options were taken into account.

Room Tip: The entire hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood. We would probably recommend staying on the lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you for your very lovely comments about the service my team provided during your recent stay with us.

I hope your celebration went well and it is great to read that you think the hotel is both elegant and has a feeling of grandeur.

I see you liked your room and that you found the bathroom immaculate. I will pass your comments on to my housekeeping team who work hard to keep the rooms clean and looking well looked after.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the future.

Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,530
    910
    157
    56
    23
See reviews for
1,085
1,391
123
480
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Great location, walking distance to most main points of interest. Continental breakfast wonderful, lots of choice, smoked salmon, range of fresh breads, cheese, salami, fruit as well as superb fresh pastries.
Foyer very impressive and rooms very comfortable and clean. On the small side but most rooms are in london.
Would happily stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Kate,

I am glad that you liked our Continental breakfast. We receive many lovely comments about how wide the selection is to choose from, so pleased you thought that too.

I see you thought our reception and lobby area was impressive which makes me happy as my team work hard to keep it this way.

It was our pleasure having you stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Had to dash to London for a charity reception with accommodation booked for us. The St Ermin certainly did not let us down, far from it! We felt nurtured and cared for; marvellous food, excellent service, good rooms and oooh such a sumptuous bed, whow so comfy!
We shall definitely return but for a longer visit to thoroughly spoil ourselves!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and that everything met with your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the St. Ermin’s for longer next time.

Best Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My daughter and I ran away for a quick girls trip to London and happily landed at the St. Ermins. The hotel is perfectly located next to the St. James tube stop and was a quick walk to Westminster Abbey and Buckingham Palace. I'm a Marriott Platinum and our room rate of 218 pounds/night included a cooked to order breakfast and cold buffet to fuel our days touring the city. As expected the rooms in Europe are smaller than in the US, but the St. Ermins has nicely appointed its rooms with plushy robes, a writing desk, included wifi and minibar and safe.

We'll choose this property again when we run away to London!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your lovely review following your return home to the USA.

It makes me very happy to read that you had such a lovely time with your daughter at St Ermin’s and that you found you room and its amenities very plush.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.

Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

This property is in such a great location! We were able to walk, take the tube or train virtually everywhere. The interior is beautiful and ornate...you have a sense of old, ornate architecture.
The bed and linens were very comfortable, the room was spacious and had a sitting area.
The only complaint about the property is that the fire door leading to the elevator would slam and bounce each time a guest would exit the elevator or stairs. We were four doors down from it, but heard it as though someone was slamming our closet door. I am a light sleeper, but didn't have any problems with it during the night. (Not many young partiers on our floor ;)
Overall a wonderful place and one we will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I am really pleased that you thought that the interior of the hotel is beautiful and that it gives that feeling of it being old. We were careful to keep the Victorian charm when we carried out the refurbishment.

I am glad that you room was to your liking and that you found it spacious and the amenities good. I will discuss the fire door near to the elevator with my maintenance team and thank you for bringing this to my attention. You feedback is appreciated.

It was our pleasure having you stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a really lovely hotel - despite being quite large, it feels really homely. The entrance is beautiful and the common areas very comfortable and spacious. The staff are incredibly well trained and polite, and the rooms are very clean and comfortable, if a little on the small side. My parents had a lovely room overlooking the courtyard - mine at the back overlooked air conditioning units so it's worth asking for a room facing front. The hotel is well located, and really near St James Park in which I had some lovely walks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the entrance courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
It is great to read that you felt at home and you found the hotel beautiful. We do receive many lovely comments about our courtyard and lobby entrance as it gives that feel of grandeur.
I am glad that the rooms you received were clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay here.
St James Park, which is so close to us is really a great place to walk so it is nice that you managed some time to do this.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hotel rooms show signs of recent £30M refurbishment with pristine upmarket wall paper and fabrics and a nice Nespresso coffee machine as well as a lovely marble bathroom with modern fittings. We were upgraded to a suite on a weekend stay and everyone seems to be given vouchers for a complimentary drink which was a nice touch on arrival. Greatest compliment I can give is to say the Hotel is like a little like a mini version of 5* Claridges, similar ambience and lots of nice service touches but on a much smaller scale. Area is well patrolled by police due to New Scotland Yard HQ being opposite. Lovely pedestrian passageway to St James Park just north of the hotel so you can take a 5 minute stroll over to watch Changing the Guard at Horseguards Arches at 11.30am.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget, there are two Starbucks within 50yds of the Hotel and free street parking di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
It’s great to read that you can see the affects that the refurbishment has had on the St Ermin’s and I am glad that you liked it in every way.
I am pleased that we were able to upgrade you to a suite with the additional amenities. Glad you liked it. We do receive lovely comments about our suites especially that they are more spacious.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding us being more of a 5 star category we really appreciate this and I am so pleased that everything met with your expectations during your stay here.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection

Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Luxury Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Marriott, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.