We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection to your Saves list
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #58 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location and nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night in February for a Birthday shopping trip for my wife and I.

The location is great, just a minute from the tube and 5 minutes from Buckingham Palace. The rooms too were lovely, a tad on the small size but I would say no different than any other central London hotel in the same price range. The room had all we could ask for and was decorated in a very tasteful way.

We spent all day sightseeing and shopping so didn’t really get to take all of the hotel in, but the main entrance and walk ways were really clean modern and classy.

The staff too were efficient and friendly, especially the people outside on the doors, they couldn’t do enough.

The bad thing for us was the hotel restaurant. We were quite tired so didn’t want to go too far. I’d heard good things about it. We had drinks (G&T’s) first and they were really well priced for such a nice hotel.
The starter was excellent, We’ve been to some of London’s best restaurants and The Caxton Grilles starters beat them. When the main came £30 for s steak seemed ok especially for London, you did have to pay extra for your sides though. But for that kind of money I would have expected something a lot better. The steak was cooked perfectly, but that’s it. The quality was poor and there was no taste to it. The salad was covered in olives and tasted strange, The best bit were the Garlic Fries, I would have preferred to have had a bigger portion of them and no steak.

We were so tired that we just ate some of it and left the rest and went to bed early.

I am a strong believer in the fact that if a meal is cooked well and the service is good then I will be extremely generous with a tip, paying much more than the standard 10% us Brits seem to give. At Caxtons there was a 12.5% tip already on the bill which I think is never a good thing for any place to do, mainly because most people will either not notice it or they will be too embarrassed to ask for it to be removed should there be bad food/service. A tip should be worked for, it shouldn’t be like the US where it’s a given regardless of the food/service, but that’s just my beliefs, maybe living on a small island where food quality and service is 99% of the time ‘excellent’ I get used to it.

Even though the main course wasn’t too great, the service at this point was quite good so I decided to pay the 12.5% (mainly as I was at this point very sleepy) tip rounding it up to the nearest whole pound. I didn’t have much change on me, and not wanting to break another £20 note I gave them a few 10p’s & 20p’s. When I gave this to the waiter who had served us all night, he called me back and insisted I wait until he had counted all of my coins twice in front of a half full restaurant. Forgetting the fact that there was already £140 in there which included a 12.5% tip, very embarrassing.

One tip for breakfast, its £24 a person in the hotel, but next door you have a prêt, or even better we thought was that about 2 minutes walk away is a House of Frasier that has a café which serves a great breakfast for £5.75 

Anyway enough of my ranting. I wouldn’t want the above situation to effect anyone coming to this hotel. It really is a stunning hotel, has great rooms and a perfect London location. I would personally never return but that’s only because of the restaurant incident.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,271
    828
    147
    53
    20
See reviews for
980
1,244
113
440
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Stay here sometimes for work and really like it. It has well equipped rooms, good food and nice decor, but the thing that sets it apart is that it has lots of atmosphere and personality. There is a bell in the lobby that was used to call people back into parliamentary sessions. The staff are really helpful and all the rooms I've had have been good and reasonably big. There doesn't seem to be a great deal of difference between a standard double and an executive room (the latter had a sofa, but wasn't much bigger). nice breakfast, including freshly prepared hot stuff. Good room service. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel just for one night with another couple. The hotel is in a good position depending on what you want to see in London. Good for Houses of Parliament, Buckingham Palace, St James Park etc but not so good for Covent Garden, West End. We had a bit of a problem checking in as our friends had arrived earlier and the girl on reception couldn't seem to grasp that we were the second couple on the booking and she gave us the same room as our friends. Anyway not a big problem. The room was very compact but also very nicely furnished with tea/coffee making facilities, minibar. Nice toiletries by The White Co in the compact bathroom and the bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately for us there was a child in the next room which screamed during the night and then again started up at about 5am screaming continually until another guest went and bashed on the door and had a few very loud words. When we mentioned this upon check out they very kindly knocked our bar bill off of the bill. In fairness to the hotel we should have rung down and complained to the front desk who could have sorted the situation out by strangling the little brat. The hotel has been refurbished to a high standard is is very pretty with a lovely entrance. The cream tea was very nice and the continental breakfast whilst fairly limited was adequate. I would definitely stay again if I wanted an hotel in that specific area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kungalv, Sweden
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend from thursday to sunday and just about everything was great.
After booking direct with the hotel we had some e mail correspond with the hotell and we got a lot more info of restaurang tips, how to reach the hotel etc. very quick.
Staff are very helpful.
Rooms are not large but not small, very clean and pure 4 star quality right through.
Breakfast ok but no vegetable unless you ask.
Could have been some paté to have on the bread but cheese and other meat was nice.
Subway 3-5 min walk away, very quiet area and 5 - 8 min walk to Big Ben, Queens residence.

We would defentlt stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Fantastic hotel and very friendly staff! Everything was very nice and this is the most beautiful hotel that we have ever stayed at. Location is amazing. Overall fantastic experience! Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

we went to a reception here, and thought it a good venue for a wedding.
The entrance is quite enchanting and very atmospheric. Rooms are large and tastefully decorated. The food we had was delicious. The waiters were charming and very professional. We didn't take up the offer of a room for £170, but I am sure it would be nice to stay there, just a bit out of our budget for one night!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We got a fair deal on the room from Tripadvisor (they had a "one day 30% off sale" when we were booking), and we were travelling with our 9 year old son. We had checked ahead to make sure we could take our son in to the bar area with us (not because we were planning on hanging out in the hotel bar for hours on end, but because we wanted to be able to pop in now and again if it suited us - and our preliminary enquiries at other hotels had told us that many hotels have a strict no children policy - some later in the evening but in quite a few cases, at any time).

On arrival, our bags were taken by a conscierge as we approached the hotel who then delivered them to our room after we had checked in and the staff were very warm and friendly throughout our stay. My wife had informed them that it was a special anniversary for us and on arrival, we were told that we had been upgraded to a bigger room overlooking New Scotland Yard and when we arrived at the room, we found a complimentary bottle of prosecco on ice along with some chocolates and a hand written note which was a lovely touch and much appreciated.

We had a drink in the bar in the evening and ended up eating in there and the food was very nice. We went out to see a show and then popped back to the bar at around 10pm and had one quick drink before getting to bed. Again, we were made to feel very welcome and the table service in the bar was excellent. When we got to our room, our son's mini sofa bed had been set up and there were complimentary chocolates on the pillows. Again, a nice touch.

The rooms were lovely and absolutely spotless. The free wifi was great, and both I and my son (on his Ipod touch) had an excellent connection throughout the hotel.

Our bed was incredibly comfortable and the room was extremely quiet so we had an excellent sleep. The bathroom was also stunning.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as we decided to see what we could find elsewhere and we ended up in a really nice "proper cafe" which was at the end of Strutton Ground (just off Victoria Street) where we had full cooked breakfasts with toast and teas which came in at £15 for all three of us.

The location is very handy for Westminster (Big Ben, Parliament etc.) and also for the west end. We used to live in London and so we have no problem getting around on public transport and it's extremely well connected via bus routes or via St James Park tube during the week (St James Park station is closed at weekends however).

All in all, we would have loved to have been able to stay for longer and would we stay there again? Absolutely yes. If travelling with children and wanting a bit of luxury, this is a great hotel and I would wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Many congratulations on your 10th Anniversary and thank you for choosing St.Ermin’s to celebrate such a special occasion. It’s very pleasing to see that we went beyond your expectations and I am happy to see that you enjoyed our added little touches to room amenities and our hospitality; we believe it is the small things which can make a huge difference to our guests’ experience.
The beds have been noted by many guests for being incredibly comfortable and just what everyone deserves after a long day sight-seeing!
Thank you for sharing such a positive and detailed review, we hope to welcome you and your family back one day soon,

Warmest regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection

Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park  , Westminster / Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in London
#43 Romantic Hotel in London
#48 Luxury Hotel in London
#57 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.