We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection to your Saves list
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England (Westminster)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #59 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
1 review
“Excellent all round !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Thank you for an outstanding stay St Ermins. The location was perfect, wonderful attentive staff and a beautiful grand hotel in a traditional style.
Eerything and more that we had hoped for.

We were made to feel very special, even down to the pre-dinner drinks in the lobby at 6:30pm.

Room Tip: We were more than happy with a room at the back of the hotel, although we d=couldnt see any issues w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,596
    929
    165
    58
    23
See reviews for
1,116
1,436
123
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bodmin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Enjoyed a single night here. Was offered free upgrade at check in. Very pleasant staff, spacious clean room. Grand reception areas and high standard of decor. Spent pleasant evening in the bar. Worth the money but got good rate by booking direct with hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We usually stay at The Cavendish whilst in London but on this occasion only wanted to stay one evening and they couldn’t accommodate us and were recommended this hotel by friends. We are so pleased that they passed on their recommendation. The hotel is conveniently placed to St James Park underground station and opposite New Scotland Yard. On arrival, we were impressed by the building, it has been renovated to such a high standard. The reception staff were extremely pleasant and checked us into our room immediately. We had a suite, which was lovely. Décor wonderful and immaculately clean, huge canopy bed with tv in the bedroom, plus a further tv in the sitting area. The bathroom was fairly small with only a shower, but this really wasn’t too much of a problem as we were only staying overnight. There was a small wardrobe in the room complete with iron, ironing board, safe. Tea and coffee making facilities, along with takeaway cup, and housekeeping had no issue with being asked to top the tea/coffee up on a couple of occasions. We cannot comment on food as we did not eat breakfast in the hotel, we had made alternative plans. We will definitely stay there next time we visit. It is our new favourite hotel in London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a GREAT hotel, warm staff, small yet cozy room (larger than standard London hotels); however, the flat screen TV is in an odd location: mounted on a wall at the foot of the bed, we kept running into it. This hotel is in a great (and safe) location, sandwiched between all the great sites you can walk to: Buckingham Palace, St. James's Park Underground station, Westminster Abbey, Westminster Cathedral (you cannot confuse the two), Elizabeth Tower, aka Big Ben, London Eye (a ferris wheel on steroids), Houses of Parliament. Our room overlooked the New Scotland Yard and a busy street yet we were not bothered by any street noise. The room had windows that we could open to let in fresh air. Just steps away is a Starbucks if your meal plan is budgeted; you can actually get a healthy breakfast there. Hotel concierge is most helpful: recommendations on getting you to the right places, hailing a cab, knowing the best Sushi places, timing for planning your trip back to Heathrow, etc. Pricing of this hotel and its restaurant is high but you get what you pay for. My ONLY complaint is they will charge you for WiFi in the room; it's complimentary in the hotel lobby only. We would DEFINITELY return!

Room Tip: We always ask for a room with a good view or high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Beautiful hotel in the heart of St James's. Fabulous foyer, lively bar still throbbing late into the night, friendly and helpful staff. We were upgraded to a superior room, but it was still very small - beautifully clean and comfortable but small. Couple of small niggles - at over £200 a night I can't believe they charge extra for wifi - and the toiletries were bolted to the wall like an Ibis! Anyway apart from that we'd recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The St. Ermin´s Hotel is a very fine hotel for a stay in London. It makes a difference if you are able to stay at a hotel where children are welcome. St. Ermin´s is such a kind of hotel and therefore a exception for a hotel in a city like London.

I would recommend this hotel a all time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I last stayed at this hotel when it was the Jolly St Ermins and before the refurb.
They have done a wonderful job on refurbishing this lovely hotel. The decor is pleasing and the beds comfortable. I always stay on one of the lower floors as the lifts take an age and are tiny. My only grumble would be the over priced breakfast at £20 for continental and the inattentive waiting staff. I also object to having a "discretionary" service charge added to my bill but this was kindly removed this when checking out.
All in all a lovely hotel and a great location when travelling on business.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection

Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in London
#47 Romantic Hotel in London
#55 Business Hotel in London
#55 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.