We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend for afternoon tea - elegant & rather special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #43 of 1,074 hotels in London
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Highly recommend for afternoon tea - elegant & rather special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I visited the hotel yesterday for afternoon tea with a friend. What a beautiful, elegant hotel with fabulous furniture and soft furnishings - we loved the Christmas decorations and the flower beds in the entrance driveway were really colourful and pretty. The afternoon tea was plentiful and delicious, the staff were very friendly, had great personality and made it clear that nothing was too much trouble for them. We stayed for a couple of hours and we were not rushed. Such was our enjoyment of the afternoon, we went on to have a drink in the bar and had a similarily enjoyable experience - lovely drinks, lovely bar staff. We would highly recommend this hotel and we all plan to visit again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,058 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,107
    757
    129
    45
    20
See reviews for
915
1136
102
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night for my girlfriends birthday going to watch a show in the evening. from the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming and smiling, the hotel was warm and felt cosy. Our room was large with a super comfy bed, slippers, robes, great shower, all in all a great stay. In the lobby we met the duty manager, Soyful, who was a pleasure to chat to, he helped us arrange our taxi and was full of helpful advice.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

For a hotel to balance their sophistication and their ability to welcome and set at ease is really difficult in my experience. St. Ermin's Hotel is both beautiful and welcoming. I felt comfortable and spoiled here! The staff were extremely attentive and efficient. it was basically traditional and elegant but there were some different decorative touches too. The food and breakfast were good. I was a bridesmaid for a friend and the wedding team also seemed fantastic too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Gorgeous exterior. Beautiful lobby. Stylish rooms. In great safe part of town. Close to tube. Super close (walking distance) to famous London monuments. Only complaint is free wi-fi is only available in the lobby.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Thank you to all Tripadvisor reviewers for this recommendation. I just returned from a 4 night stay. As a woman traveling alone I wanted to make sure my hotel was in a good location, safe, with excellent service and above all clean. St. Ermin's exceeded my expectations. I had a Superior Queen overlooking the courtyard (advice I took from reviewers). You could not ask for a better location. No problem with my IPad as there is free service in the lobby. Each morning I would ask the front desk to set it up with password as I am a novice at this sort of thing. Which brings me to the excellent service. Everyone from the doorman to the concierge, Juan, was so helpful. He assisted me with every little request and went well above the call of duty. I don't understand the pettiness of some of the recent reviewers. I think you can tell by reading them that some people can never be happy. I will and have recommended this hotel to friends. When you enter to lobby is like walking into a very magical place decorated with white frosting. I had a nice glass of wine in front of the fireplace after a cold and wet walk to the Palace. My dinner in the cocktail lounge (eating alone sometimes I feel funny in a big restaurant) I felt quite comfortable and could order from the restaurant menu. It was delicious and very reasonable. I will never stay anywhere else in London. I have found the perfect place.
By the way, I took Simply Airport service from Heathrow Airport to my hotel and had them pick me up at the hotel for my departure back home. It is only 25 GBP if you pay cash to the airport and 35 GBP from the airport using a credit card. (There are airport costs, which is why it costs more coming FROM the airport) I found them on Tripadvisor also. P.S. I arrived on an early flight and was able to have early check in at 10:30 AM. It was no problem at all.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the courtyard. I also asked for a shower and tub combination. No problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights recently whilst on business and had a very good experience. The staff there could not do enough for you, the room service food was excellent, probably the best I've ever had. Beautiful decor in the lobby etc.

The rooms are quite basic but clean and functional. Walls are a little thin as I discovered when my neighbour came home a little worse for wear and decided to phone all of her friends at 1am!

Good value in my opinion, which is very rare in London.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Big thank you to the staff at St Ermin's Hotel for the lovely stay that we had. The hotel is gorgeous, I wanted to go as soon as I saw the photos of the entrance and the lobby! We booked this for our anniversary and I'm so glad we did. We were very kindly given a free upgrade and found prosecco and chocolates waiting for us in our room. The staff were helpful and welcoming, I just wish we'd stayed longer.
The room was clean and warm (I don't know why but I frequently find London hotel rooms to be cold and draughty but maybe it's just me), bed was very comfortable and I enjoyed padding around in the dressing gown and slippers! We'd arranged to have lunch and dinner elsewhere but the menu at the hotel restaurant did look good and I regretted not having afternoon tea - definitely next time...
I'd recommend this hotel if you fancy something a bit special, it's well worth it. Nearest tube stop is just around the corner so no hassle getting around. We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection

Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park  , Westminster / Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in London
#35 Romantic Hotel in London
#39 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.