We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #41 of 1,072 hotels in London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night as we had a trip planned to see Shrek the Musical. It was very conveniently located close to all the main attractions. Taxis come straight to the front door and all the staff are extremely helpful. The room was a tad small but we payed a good price of £135 for the night and we were upgraded to a better view of the beautiful hotel entrance.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay. This hotel is very stylish, conveniently located and has fantastically helpful staff. My only criticism would be the price of breakfast at£54 for 2 people.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and shall be back for our next trip to London!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,892 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,003
    709
    121
    40
    19
See reviews for
855
1071
93
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed 3 days at St Ermins Hotel in November and enjoyed everything about it.
Everyone of the staff I encountered was friendly and helpful.
The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean as was the very modern bathroom.
I enjoyed having a white fluffy robe to sink into after a hot shower.
I ate at the Caxton Grill and Bar in the evening where the service was excellent as was the food.
I particularly enjoyed breakfast in the restaurant where the continental buffet suited me perfectly. The atmosphere in there in the morning had a cozy and lively family atmosphere where children were very definitely most welcome.
I would particularly like to compliment the concierge, Maxwell for being so helpful with my enquiries.
The central location is ideal for walking to famous landmarks such as Westminster Abbey, Parliament, The Embankment and others and nearby I also discovered the UK Supreme Court building which I didn't know existed!
I highly recommend staying at St. Ermins Hotel.
Wilma S

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent over a week at St. Ermin's Hotel in London in October. Don't miss this incredible hotel, what a total delight. It was our 5th anniversary and we were welcomed by warm and professional staff who could not do enough for us. This hotel has been renovated and it is simply beautiful. Its history is interesting and its location uncomparable. The hotel manager claims "we want you to feel at home but we don't forget it's a hotel". True, true, true. The dining was superb, the lobby simply breathtaking and the bar terrific. We had an executive king room which while compact was spacious enough with an easy chair and a desk area. Bathroom was perfect with a rain shower. Beautifully decorated, excellent maid service (spotlessly clean) and quiet. We'd recommend this hotel highly. All around rated 4 stars but we give it 5.
Katie Moyer and Jack Rugg
Ontario, Canada

Room Tip: We had a high floor room overlooking Scotland Yard. Very cool. Great king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templepatrick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is a hidden gem. In Caxton Street just off Victoria Street the hotel is about seven minutes walk away from the House's of Parliament so it is positioned very centrally. The lobby, bars and restaurants are very relaxing and the staff are both attentive and informative. It seemed to me that the staff are both well trained and customer focused. The room I stayed in was well appointed with a comfortable bed but, like the rooms in most city centre hotels it was compact. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Arrived early from 24 hour flight from Sydney Australia to be greeted by a smile and a welcome. No problems with early access to my room which meant the trip was off to a great start at 7am! 18 nights spent on their long stay plan (great value - also achieved full breakfast as an inclusion so a bit of chutzpah was worth it) with a superior room, great service, lots of hot water (can't understand unhappy reviews) and perfect location for what I needed in London: walking distance to Whitehall, the Palace, Westminster and less than 150 metres to a very safe tube station. Breakfast was plentiful, newspapers complimentary and the staff most helpful. Couldn't have asked for more. Perfect for solo traveller, also king executive room good for parents with one child prepared to bunk in. I could not recommend more highly.

Room Tip: Negotiate to get a superior room as the sitting area with big screen tv, table and sofa worth the ef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My Husband and I decided to give the hotel a second chance as we had experienced poor behaviour by the staff on our last trip in June.

I’m sorry to say that once again we experienced a number of issues when we stayed this trip.

1. No concierge service available after 8pm, the bellman did his best but his heavy accent was difficult to understand what he was saying, so became very confusing.

2. No Taxi’s available, despite calling ahead to ask the reception to arrange it, when we came down there was no taxi, the bellman then tried to get us a mini cab, but could not. Where do all the taxi's go to on a Saturday evening, we ended up going by subway.

3. Lot's of noise from the room maids every morning, vacuum cleaners , doors banging, talking loudly with each other in a foreign language, we went outside to ask them to keep the noise down, but the carried on anyway.

4. Concierge (Maxwell) tried to book us on a trip to Paris with Evans and Evans tours, but we were not satisfied with this as it became obvious that they were working on commission for the company.

5. We had an unpleasant experience in the bar and when we complained we were met by Maya or Mary or something like that, that became very defensive and tried to suggest that we were at fault

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Madam,

Firstly, thank you for returning to St.Ermin’s. It saddens me to know that we didn’t quite make your grade and I apologise if you were disappointed.

As you can see from other guest's comments, this is not the general consensus, but we appreciate your feedback.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Yours sincerely

Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is in the very center, two steps (literally) of New Scotlad Yard and Victoria Street. At walking distances are: Westminster Abbey, Parliament, Westminster Cathedral, Trafalguar Square, Victoria Station. Little further, but still walking can be reached at Covent Garden, London Eye.

It is a grand historic building with a real breakfast room, old furniture, f beautiful, but English breakfast and continental free newspapers. All VERY BRITISH. It was a little cold in the room and hotel in general, which also is still very British. It cost in Jut of 120 euro / night.

Very close to Victoria Street is a historic restaurant, famous Albert, you are strongly advised. Could eat 20-25 pounds / 2 pers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection

Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park  , Westminster / Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in London
#32 Romantic Hotel in London
#36 Luxury Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Venere, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.