We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #44 of 1,073 hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is in the very center, two steps (literally) of New Scotlad Yard and Victoria Street. At walking distances are: Westminster Abbey, Parliament, Westminster Cathedral, Trafalguar Square, Victoria Station. Little further, but still walking can be reached at Covent Garden, London Eye.

It is a grand historic building with a real breakfast room, old furniture, f beautiful, but English breakfast and continental free newspapers. All VERY BRITISH. It was a little cold in the room and hotel in general, which also is still very British. It cost in Jut of 120 euro / night.

Very close to Victoria Street is a historic restaurant, famous Albert, you are strongly advised. Could eat 20-25 pounds / 2 pers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,000 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,070
    741
    126
    44
    19
See reviews for
899
1110
99
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We sourced Tripadvisor before booking our accommodation in London and St Ermins read very well. We were breaking our stay, with 2 days in the countryside and then back again. Our Travel Agent also suggested this hotel, so we went ahead and booked. Very glad we did...

After a horrendous flight experience from Sydney we finally arrived at St Ermins about 36 hours after setting off. We were obviously tired and in need of a shower and a comfortable bed. Well St Ermins was there to the rescue.

Upon checking in, everything went very smoothly. The room was stylish and clean - a big plus in our book and the bed and bathroom first class. We were on the third floor and overlooked the main entrance/courtyard of the hotel.

The next morning we ventured down to the expansive restaurant for breakfast. It was here that we experienced some amazing service. The staff were totally professional and couldn't do enough for us. Fresh coffee served when we sat down and the rest of the offerings were just as good. We opted for the cooked breakfast, which was brilliantly done. Served quickly, but cooked fresh...

And the rest of our stay was just as good. Breakfast each morning, overseen by Elis and Bogdan, ran as smooth as silk.

The review would end here, except that we thought we'd try the Caxton Bar & Grill for lunch on our first day. The London winter weather being temperamental, we chose to stay dry after a morning of sightseeing.

Joining a mix of high powered suits, politicians and the like, we took our seats not far from where we sat for breakfast. Browsing the menu we instantly took a liking to what we saw. Would it live up to the way it read on the menu?

You bet! The food at this restaurant is mind blowing. Using a Josper Grill cooker, the meat we devoured was just brilliant. Smoked to perfection and falling apart at the knife's touch, our meal was to die for. My wife had the fish and chips, which sounding run of the mill, was anything but.

We were hooked, we were coming back for more.

And so over the next few days we would make a reservation for lunch or dinner at the Caxton Bar and Grill. Usually we would have a drink at the Caxton Bar where a large selection of cocktails, wines and beers were on offer.

It was here that we met Executive Chef, Hus Vedat. (He gave us his card)

We praised him on his outstanding food and he told us how he sourced only the best produce from suppliers who specialised in their offered product. On the menu, you can read about where some of the produce comes from.

We were a little bit ruined to go and try anything else during our stay in London. As creatures of habit, when we find a good thing we stick to it and we definitely found that at the Caxton Bar & Grill.

So, St Ermins ticks 2 boxes for us. A fantastic hotel with professional staff and close to all the major tourist attractions for one. Secondly, it hosts one of the best restaurants we have eaten in in our Europe travels so far. If you're looking for an all in one place to base yourself, you won't go wrong at St Ermins.

Special shout out to the following staff: Bogdan, Elis, Hus, Jean, Jordan, Adam and the lovely Alessia in the breakfast restaurant.

Room Tip: The hotel is big so ask for a room near the lifts. We were in room 332 which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Mead, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip recently. The first suprise was when I turned the shower on in the room expecting to relax after a long flight from the USA. There was no hot water. Turns out the check-in staff knew about it but either hid it or didn't bother to tell the guests at check-in. A call to the front desk and the friendly staff offered to give me keys to another room just to shower, but no I could not get to stay in that room. A short while later I was told there was no hot water in that room as well. Morover, they did not bother to find another hotel near-by to accommodate me as well. Hot water was restored about 6 hours later and the staff assured me the problem was fixed, but the next morning, the same story unfolded. The manager stopped by to apologize and they took a few pounds off the bill (to my company's benefit) but nothing else. The concierge had an attitude and one of the elevators was not functioning as well. All in all a lousy experience. I would avoid this place and it is definitely not worth the $200+ price tag.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am so sorry that we were not able to provide you with hot water for your stay, please let me assure you this was an isolated case. Unfortunately one of our pipes burst and although it was fixed immediately, I understand the inconvenience caused during your stay was not acceptable.

Once again, I am truly sorry and hope that you will allow us to serve you better in the future.

Yours sincerely


Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Even though this hotel is in the centre of London the driveway is full of beautiful flowers which makes for a very welcoming effect. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble for any of them. We arranged trips through the hotel and everything went very smoothly
The.hotel is located approxamately 50 yards from New Scotland Yard which made for a very safe feeling. It is only a five minute walk to Buckingham Palace and the Mall, approxamately 10 minutes walk to the Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey. There is a tube station two minutes walk from the Hotel also. The bedroom was spotlessly clean but the bathroom had only a small shelf for toiletries but otherwise it was absolutely fine. The entrance lobby is all white which makes a very definite statement as you walk into the hotel. I would definitely stay there again I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: A room overlookng the entrance would be preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent several nights in St.Ermin's and found it to be very well located for sightseeing. The hotel is lovely and we were very pleased with our stay here. Our room was well appointed. The staff were extremely helpful - even found us a last minute dinner reservation in a lovely restaurant in Chelsea on a Saturday night. It took many phone calls but they succeeded in the end! Cabs pull right into a private "drive" in front of the hotel and the doorman was always ready to hold a door and carry a bag. It was a pleasant way to return to our hotel at the end of a busy day in London. This was our first visit to London and we were very unsure of the best location to select a hotel. This one was perfect. We prefer smaller boutique hotels and this was also a concern. However, St. Ermin's was perfect and we would return for our next visit to London. We also took advantage of an excellent price by booking on-line when the hotel was offering a special rate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

St Ermin's was our base for a four night break in London.This was our first time at this particular hotel. It is very conveniently situated for the tube and within easy walking distance of Westminster, St James' park and The Mall. The staff, at reception and in the dining areas, are very courteous and extremely helpful. The king size bed in our room was very comfortable, and the room was serviced to a high standard each day.
The first two mornings of our stay we were taken to the main dining area, which, although very busy, was efficiently organised and had a lively, warm atmosphere.There was the usual choice of fresh fruit and yogurts, as well as cold meats and cheese, a selection of croissants and danish pastries and bread to make toast along with a selection of preserves. However, the following two mornings we were taken to a large, windowless function room which was draughty, soul-less and very quiet. The central table had the continental breakfast selection but we were disappointed that there was not such a wide variety of fruit, no fruit yogurt, only natural, and no bread to make toast.
We had afternoon tea in the library one afternoon and were more than happy with the selection on offer. The service, again, was excellent.
I would recommend this hotel for a mini break; it is relaxing and friendly in a central location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

From check in to check out (five nights) we could not find fault with this hotel. For me that's a first! I commend the hotel manger as this hotel is welcoming, comfortable, clean and attentive. The staff are exceptional! We made the mistake of having our first meal in their in-house restaurant The Caxton Grill. It was so good that we didn't make the effort to dine anywhere else. Would we stay at St Ermin's again - YES!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection

Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park  , Westminster / Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#32 Romantic Hotel in London
#41 Luxury Hotel in London
#48 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.