We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place & frustrating wifi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection to your Saves list
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England (Westminster)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #60 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average place & frustrating wifi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Rooms are nicely decorated and they have a good continental breakfast but...

£7 per day per device for Internet is VERY frustrating & inconvenient!
All the other hotels in the UK I stayed in included wifi. Especially for a hotel in Westminster where many people come for business/ govt. work you'd expect this.

I will think again when in London next as this is important for business travelers. Even when I bought wifi I can only use it on my laptop & not iPad or iPhone! If I bought it for all 3 it would have been £21 per day.
I veted my frustration to staff however they seemed disinterested.
Not acceptable in this day and age.

The shower was also difficult as it is located in the bath and the ceiling is very low.
This made sure I couldn't actually stand under the shower head and I'm only 5' 11" so for some people it must be even worse..

Apart from that my stay was good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am sad to read that you were unhappy with being charged for WiFi, but we, like many other hotels, feel it is an extra service that we provide rather than an inclusive facility. Regarding the shower, as the property is so unique, we do have different height ceilings on different floors so if you do stay again, please let our team know of your preferences and we shall do everything we can to accommodate you.
I am happy to read that you had a good stay and hope to see you again soon,
Best regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,499
    902
    155
    56
    23
See reviews for
1,075
1,373
121
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bishiops Stortford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Beautiful hotel in a great location. Staff very professional and couldnt have been more accommodating. It was my birthday, and even had cake and a card delivered to my room, lovely touch!!! We had dinner in the hotel on Saturday night again very good, the staff even made me a special dessert.!! Our rooms were comfortable and stylish, even had two bathrooms as we were sharing with friends perfect for us. I was a training Stewardess for KLM for 13 years, have stayed in hundreds of five star hotels all over the world and I would highly recommend St. Ermin's to anyone who would like to stay in Central London. Many thanks to all the staff who helped to make our visit truly special.
Michele

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed one night. The concierge service was great as they managed to instantly get us tickets for both a show and an exhibition which we had been unable to get as they were supposedly sold out. All the staff were friendly and pleasant. The room was very comfortable but view of backs of offices. We were offered a £20 upgrade when we arrived which we took, having booked the hotel with a deal. Crazy directly overhead shower which necessitates either wearing the one provided plastic shower cap or washing your hair if you want to stand upright. The hotel is in a good location just round the corner from the tube and a short walk from Westminster and the river. St James park nearby. Agree with other reviewers that wifi should be free. If Macdonalds can do it...

Room Tip: if view important ask to overlook courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Easy check-in and a very comfortable stay. Room service was prompt and helpful. The staff were absolutely outstanding. We felt welcome and they were very helpful. Reception and door staff get a particular mention.

Areas for improvement - Would suggest they change the vanilla mini-cab style air freshener in the hall areas which really smells rather strong and revolting. Also the lighting inside the room could be improved as it is currently not really bright enough to be conducive to reading. The layout in the room means that the telly can only be watched from one chair comfortably; this could be improved with a few minor corrections. The audio on the BBC channels kept disappearing so we had to keep turning the telly on and off again. Lastly, free 24-hour in-room wifi should be standard in all rooms at a hotel of this standard; instead its over-priced.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Located in a beautiful, tasteful decorated Victorian building (splendid reception) in between the houses of parliament and Buckingham, around the corner of St.-James metro station. Small sound proved well equipped rooms. Pleasant restaurant and bar area. BF offering Ok-ich but poor compared to MGallery standards. Fitness room (tiny) out of proportion with size of hotel (big). Fair price/ quality. Very friendly staff that could be more efficient. Wifi NOT free of charge. Complementary 15min internet access in business corner.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Had a very nice 7-night stay at St Ermin's recently, but would not go all the way to excellent. Still, highly recommended by London standards.

The good: nice, quiet and very central neighbourhood (unless you prefer the hustle and bustle of Leicester Square). Tube right around the corner. Pleasant, friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful building, room at high standard, clean. Had a superior queen plus - nice size for one person, cozy with two. Being alone, it was very nice to sit and work in the room. If you were two, you'd want to spend most of your time in the bed. Decent shower.

To be improved: The continental breakfast, although I suppose at a fair standard for a British hotel, is not quite on par with any 3-star European hotel. Wi-fi additional and somewhat expensive (I got a business package with wi-fi included, but the nominal cost for a week was £60 which is rather outrageous these days). Elevators tiny and noisy. Some noise from hallways in room. Stained bathrobe, soap dispenser in bathroom not working, sink clogging up (but quickly fixed when pointed out). Restaurant in hotel not highly recommended. The bar is OK but not cozy. The lobby is, well, noticeable.

Room Tip: Courtyard 6th floor - nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Good central location, ideal for where we needed to be. However, for the price we paid, our room was very small, and had no outlook whatsoever.
The setting, decor, and staff were all excellent!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection

Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in London
#46 Romantic Hotel in London
#54 Luxury Hotel in London
#57 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.