We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, lovely, lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby Cafe

Ruby Cafe
8-9 Hoxton Square, London N1 6NU, England (Shoreditch)
020 3487 0277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #251 of 17,041 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, European, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Shoreditch
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, lovely, lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Ruby, nestled within Hoxton Square, is a small Italian restaurant that’s easy to miss. My partner and I were able to get a table outside as a walk up on a busy Friday night. The waitress made the whole experience a real pleasure, they epitomised good service and gave off such warmth it felt like we were regulars. The food was delicious and the bruschetta, with its fresh tomatoes and warm doughy bread, was a highlight. They forgot to put any avocado in my chicken and avocado salad but the staff quickly rectified the mistake. The place has such a nice atmosphere with good food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Homely and friendly and good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hoxton Square is hip and if you are late on a Saturday all the restaurants are crowded. Not Ruby's (amazing), so we enjoyed a 3 course meal there. Simple, good and yummy food, and the staff is extremely nice, helpful and they love their own food. It's a pity a glass of wine is rather expensive, but it is good wine! We love Ruby's!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“The Italian Job”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

You know those times when you search around in London for a place to eat but you don't really know what you want. You're kind of bored with the same old same old and you don't just want an Indian meal since you had it twice that week already... and its only Tuesday

So you've ended up in Hoxton Square in ShoreDitch because you've been told its "fun" and "hip" and "has great little cafes"... Hmmm....
And you spy a little cafe at the end of a row of restaurants that "seems OK" but then again, ALL the cafes in Hoxton "seem OK".

It's Rubys Cafe - you have a quick look inside what seems a tiny little space while mumbling to each other "well what do you think?" "Yeh OK if you want, I'm just tired of looking" and then sit down with a hint of apprehension and a whiff of doubt that maybe its just going to be another medicore Italian mashup.

But then something wonderful happens. You see the blackboard with tonight's menu handwritten upon it. Wow... Looks great! You look around and see that around the cozy tables are pretty contented people with plates of delish looking food on the tables or cheap reds being quaffed at a steady rate. Just like you saw in Sestri Levante last summer...
The waiting staff are friendly and funny and you can see the chef out the back, bouncing between gas hobs and the staff and flat out busy.
You realise that hey... this place is comfortable. The food is great. The staff are actually.... nice!. The prices are excellent....

Its not just another Italian cliche with pre-frozen pasta and stale bread but a memorable, cheap night with a cool little friendly crowd.

Ruby's is awesome. But please... shhhhh... Just don't tell everyone OK?
Why am I even writing this? I want it to be MY Italian secret!
Buon Appetito...:)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Saviour of our hunger . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I were desperate for some mid afternoon food (hadn't eaten all day and had done a lot of climbing). I was boasting about some of the places in Shoreditch. Unfortunately when we marched our way through, everything was either shut, or not serving food.

Then we found Ruby's. A tiny little undemanding cafe tucked in the middle of Hoxton Square. Friendly, welcoming, warm and quick service. And the food . . . oh yeeeeeeh. Massive portions for what you're paying for and brilliantly presented and wonderfully delicious

I had the full Ruby english, my wife had the hangover cure. We also had a massive plate of olives prior and a couple of beers and a milkshake.

All was well received and was the saviour of our hunger that day. Thanks Ruby, we will DEFINATELY come again.

Luke and Katie

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Lovely little restaurant. This place has it all, great atmosphere, great food and excellent customer service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Ruby Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.