We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saviour of our hunger . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby Cafe

Ruby Cafe
8-9 Hoxton Square, London N1 6NU, England
020 3487 0277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #629 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Cuisines: European, Coffee Shop, Continental
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Saviour of our hunger . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I were desperate for some mid afternoon food (hadn't eaten all day and had done a lot of climbing). I was boasting about some of the places in Shoreditch. Unfortunately when we marched our way through, everything was either shut, or not serving food.

Then we found Ruby's. A tiny little undemanding cafe tucked in the middle of Hoxton Square. Friendly, welcoming, warm and quick service. And the food . . . oh yeeeeeeh. Massive portions for what you're paying for and brilliantly presented and wonderfully delicious

I had the full Ruby english, my wife had the hangover cure. We also had a massive plate of olives prior and a couple of beers and a milkshake.

All was well received and was the saviour of our hunger that day. Thanks Ruby, we will DEFINATELY come again.

Luke and Katie

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    15
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Lovely little restaurant. This place has it all, great atmosphere, great food and excellent customer service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic, good value, local Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We live about 2 minutes away and, since discovering Ruby, we've been numerous times. The food is unfussy and universally fantastic quality, with a few different specials every night in addition to the standard menu. It's unbelievably good value - mains for £7-10, a glass of decent red wine for £4 - yet still feels like a proper restaurant rather than a cafe or snack bar. Understandably busy on Fridays and Saturdays but nice and relaxing during the week. It also does a decent brunch at the weekend - much better than the overpriced mass-produced junk that people queue up for at the Breakfast Club across the square. Top marks.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming place, lovely sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stumbled upon this little cafe by accident a while back whilst looking for a place to have a quiet coffee and sandwich - places like The Diner were not ideal!

So pleased we found Ruby. It looks quite unassuming and we would have been happy to sit with a standard coffee and sandwich so we were pleasantly surprised when we got sandwiches in really good quality ciabatta with no skimping on the filling.

Will definitely be back soon :-)

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Cafe also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Ruby Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.