We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Turkey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gokyuzu Restaurant

Gokyuzu Restaurant
26-27 Grand Parade | Green Lanes, London N4 1LG, England
020 8211 8406
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #143 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than Turkey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Due to my wife being Turkish, I've had the luxury of visiting Turkey several times a year for the last decade. We've eaten some amazing meals at some dazzling places, from Istanbul down to Antalya. But Gokyuzu hands down is the best she, or I, have had anywhere.

I've eaten here a lot, so in no particular order, here are my personal favs:

- Lahmacun: If you don't know what this is, you must try it. It's traditional Turkish pizza. Razor thin, and meant to be eaten w/salad burrito-style. Freshly made
- Cop Sis: Small, marinated cubes of lamb. Melts in your mouth.
- Adana: Ground lamb, marinated
- Bulgar: Like rice, but way better. Cracked wheat.

Can't say enough about the staff and the food. Well worth the hike, and we come from Richmond!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    103
    19
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I visit this restaurant very often and it's always packed, definitely the most popular restaurant on Green Lanes. The food is the best Turkish I have ever had and the service is always excellent and great value for money. You receive complementary bread, cacik and salad which is very nice. Staff are very helpful, quick and welcoming. I can't fault it at all! Definitely worth going to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Go hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Was recommended to me by a friend, so gave it a try this afternoon. Welcomed with hot Turkish bread and tzaki, bread is the best Turkish bread I have had in a restaurant. There salad is amazing too, well seasoned and fresh n crunchy and plenty of! I Would go here for th bread and salad alone! We had between 3 of us the mezzo platter for £31.50, exceptional value for money, we couldn't eat it all, Would have served 4 adults! Lovely, buzzy place, busy, and lots of Turkish families, always a good sign that the food is good. Well done! B back soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Try the platter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Have been here quite a few times and it's great value in here. Really, really nice Turkish food and the meat platter is an absolute bargain. Several big guys couldn't even finish the platter for three.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, great food, excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Heard about this restaurant many times and has always been busy when we've intended to go.
Was told we had to wait 5 minutes for a table, but got one a lot quicker.

Receive free complementary bread and tzatziki while we're waiting, which is always nice.

Staff were very helpful. Ordered a lahmacun and a full platter which pretty much has all the meats along with rice and salad etc. Ordered their cherry juice but went through it very quickly and kept ordering more. Don't know if it comes from a carton or is made in house, but very nice nonetheless.

They brought it quick, and the food was really nice. Didn't blow me away, and not the best I had, but still good. The platter was big enough for 4 people and the lahmacun was in the top 5 I've tasted, so overall this place was a winner.

Came to just over £40, so not bad for a decent meal at just over £10 each.

Very similar to Devram opposite, although this place seems a lot busier. Hard to separate the 2, but I think this just edges Devram out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gokyuzu Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gokyuzu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gokyuzu Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.