We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Khamsa is Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khamsa

Khamsa
140 Acre Lane, London SW2 5UT, England
+44 20 7733 3150
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Khamsa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #300 of 17,533 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Khamsa is Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a gem of a restaurant located in the Brixton neighborhood, in London. I am somewhat familiar with North African cuisine having visited Tunisia several times. Khamsa's is Algerian and it was the culinary highlight of our trip. There were six of us so we had the opportunity to sample a variety of dishes. The chicken special, made with cinnamon and a variety of spices, was excellent, as were all of the couscous selections. The chef/owner and his wife were very welcoming and the decor is quite attractive. It's "off the beaten path,"but the reasonable prices will compensate for the fairly long taxi ride from Central London or Westminster. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Algerian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Went to this restaraunt as it had good reviews, and wanted to experience a regional cuisine...
The food was beautiful, lovely flavours, succulent meat dishes and amazing sweetmeats. Went with my 20ish nephew and he could hardly manage his main course. Good value, pleasant ambience and lovely owners. A wee gem to have experienced, would highly recommend, flavourings different than moroccon cuisine. Worth making the trip. Ring to reserve

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a wonderful place with delicious beautifully presented and freshly made food, lovely authentic decor and tableware and welcoming and warm-hearted owners. I can't think of many places in London that can compare with it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Homemade authentic quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the sort of place for which I'm hesitating to write a review for as I don't want other people to know about the secret! It's great, local, fresh ingredients, authentic, intimate, friendly owners, unique... We've been back twice in two weeks and the chicken tagine tonight was delicious. It's byo so you can bring decent wine, and I love the fact that they refuse to serve coca cola and other sift drinks. Don't skip the deserts, the pastries are a delight.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Algerian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

On our second visit to this cozy neighborhood Algerian restaurant we almost felt like family. The friendly and inviting owner/cook Djamel and his wife Sabrina who waits on tables and also helps out in the kitchen do everything to make one feel comfortable. The small storefront room is decorated with Algerian artifacts while the downstairs room evokes the feeling of being in a Berber tent. Needless to say, the food, which is based on tajines and couscous, is genuinely authentic and without compromise. No shortcuts or substitutions here. Everything is made in house including the delicious desserts. The food is similar to Moroccan but distintive. Djamel is working on a cookbook which should fill a gap in this mostly unknown cuisine of the Magreb. You will find no soft drinks here and, although they offer neither wine nor beer, guests may bring and consume their own without incurring a corkage fee. The name of the restaurant means the number five which is a portent of good luck in that culture and here's hoping that this genuine ethnic restaurant has plenty of it. It's a bit out of the way and not near any tourist attractions but for independent and adventurous travellers, it's worth the trip.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khamsa also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Khamsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khamsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.