We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jamies at Westfield” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamie's Italian

Jamie's Italian
147 The Street, London E20 1EN, England
0203 535 8063
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jamie's Italian is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10,574 of 17,998 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Serving temptingly fresh and flavoursome creations from world-famous chef Jamie Oliver, Jamie's Italian evokes the vibrancy and passion embedded in traditional Italian cooking and culture. A homely neighbourhood vibe is inspired by the rustic and relaxed ambience of the 'Italian table', with delicious flavours from the menu including truffled turkey Milanese, or a colourful seaside risotto.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Jamies at Westfield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

High standards of food and service ,relaxed atmosphere , definitely can feel the jamie vibe,lovely place to eat with a loved one.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    41
    50
    37
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Terrible Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Having not tried Jamie's before we figured it was about time. We stumbled upon the restaurant. Great! We thought.

It was terrible. All the food was cold, the pasta over cooked, the portions small and the service slow. The restaurant was super noisy because of the open kitchen.

The manager was very helpful and tried to do whatever she could to help but honestly, we would never return.

Absolutely awful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I'm not a fan of chain restaurants, so chose this as it was close by.
On first entering we were advised of a waiting time of 20 mins for a table so took up the offer of drinks in the bar.
The bartender was under a bit of stress and got our drinks mixed up but understanding he was very busy we didn't want to make a fuss and carried on waiting for our table. During our wait we made some observations- The waitress covering the tables nearest the bar was miserable and aggressive, literally pushing people out of the way to get to her tables and being visibly annoyed at customers. Despite this, the hostess we dealt with was fine and seated us at the promised time.

We were sitting upstairs near the stairs and our waiter was a young slim Asian guy. He was friendly and explained things well and also came across as very approachable. We ordered a starter of breads that came quickly and was delicious, the perfect size for two to share.

For our main we both chose the rabbit pasta which arrived in a reasonable amount of time. The portion size was good and the food itself was delicious, so much so I will be searching out the recipe. We were both impressed with the quality of the dishes and it's reasonable pricing.

Due to a mix up with our order our server was very apologetic and saw that we had a large discount on our meal without us having to fight for it. We were both really pleased with him and his excellent customer service skills.

Unfortunately for me I don't live in the vicinity of a jamie's Italian branch however I won't hesitate to eat at one again due to the good service and delightful food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Rude waitress, awful food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My partner and I were meeting up with a friend who we hadn't seen in a while, and with Stratford being a midway point we opted to eat in Jamie's Italian. I've been to one before in the docklands and I remembered it was a good dining experience so went in with high hopes.

I work in hospitality as a host and have done for a while, and have come to know a level of service that I expect from dining establishments. The host explained that the table would be available in 30 mins but was a little awkward and tried to make us stay in their bar - which wasn't really an appetising prospect as restaurant bars aren't normally very good.

On returning the host said our table still wasn't ready. But said no more - leaving us to decide that we would go to the bar and hope she would come to get us. It's a bit awkward when you're not directed in a restaurant as every establishment operates it's own personal procedures. However, my previous thought that the restaurant bar would be awful we're wrong - with a selection of interesting well priced cocktails.

After about 10 mins of sipping our cocktails we were sat next to a window which was quite nice. However, this was unfortunately where anything remotely nice happened for the rest of our meal.

Our waitress had an absolutely awful attitude, when my boyfriend enquired if the burger was from frozen she replied 'it's Jamie Oliver's... Jamie Oliver's! Everything is fresh' but then then burger can only come well done? Fresh meat is safe to cook to whatever the customer requires... Anyway we ordered a Fish and a Meat Plank for starter between the three of us and I ordered the gluten free pasta vongole, my partner ordered the burger and our friend ordered the black angel pasta.

The planks were underwhelming and required bread which my friends had to order. They said the bread was stale and I felt it and it was very dry! So obviously even though it was 'Jamie Oliver's' the bread obviously isn't fresh!

The mains where the biggest insult to my taste buds! My pasta was rather bland and then the clams! Oh my.. They weren't washed and were the sandiest things in the world! They crunched, every single one of them! My friends black pasta didn't have any sauce, and even though it was a seafood dish she likes Parmesan cheese on it.. So she requested some but instead of the waitress saying 'yes of course' she replied with her attitude saying 'for a seafood dish? In Italy that is not done' but did finally bring some...
My boyfriends burger wasn't just well done, it was burnt! The meat was so dry it was ridiculous and he said once again that the bread was stale so the combination of the two made it hard to swallow. He told the waitress and she said 'it is well done' that's not an answer! Learn some bloody manners! Anyway he asked if he could change it for something else and got the salmon which was fine.

Overall I would strongly suggest that you don't go here, there's nothing worth paying for other than the cocktails.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poor service with ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten in Jamie's Italian at various locations around the UK and have generally enjoyed the experience. The service and quality of the food in this branch was unfortunately poor. I will not be returning to this location again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamie's Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.