We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and unpretentious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Champagne+Fromage - Covent Garden

Champagne+Fromage - Covent Garden
22 Wellington street, London WC2E 7DD, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #739 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Price range: $12 - $19
Cuisines: Delicatessen, French, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Authentic and unpretentious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I have been here a few times and every time I leave with a desire to jump on the first flight to France.

The place has a laid-back and very authentic French atmosphere, and feels somewhere between an upmarket deli and rustic cafe when you walk in. The deli counter is beautiful and I could easily spend a fortune there on food alone!

The menu is a cheese-lover's dream and staff are extremely knowledgeable and quite happy to make recommendations or even rustle up a bespoke cheese board tailored to your preferences.

Champagne is never going to come cheap so if you're planning on drinking by the bottle, bear in mind that the cheapest is around the £60 mark. They do, however, sell champagne by the glass alongside some lovely and fairly reasonably priced (all things considered) champagne cocktails, so it's not impossible to come here without spending a small fortune.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    65
    15
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy cheese and champagne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I went here with a couple of friends today for a pre- ballet lunch. The staff were really friendly and were happy to make recommendations for us. We tried lots of the cheeses- all very good- and had a really lovely bottle of champagne. I'd definitely go back!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Birthday weekend and pre booked here for lunch- didn't disappoint. Plenty of food on the platters, champagne isn't cheap by the bottle (cheapest was around £58!) which was a shame as with an evening meal booked was too much- however a couple of glasses were good!

Not a cheap lunch option but a tasty one!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Felt like I was in France!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

oh I loved it here. My friends took me for Saturday lunch and it was wonderful. The place feels quite authentically French - and the hit of 'eau de Fromage' when you walk in adds to that ;-).
The selection of Champagnes is awesome and the staff were so lovely and helpful.
I agree with another review on here that they aren't super speedy but I personally felt that was part of the charm and made it all a lovely relaxed experience. They even provided Gluten Free bread.
We had a bottle of Champers, a couple of the tartine's and a cheese board. It was more than enough between 3 of us for a light lunch.
I am now planning on taking my Mum here as part of her special birthday celebrations next year. I know this is going to become a firm favourite for whenever we are in London.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Try the afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

A fantastic concept for a restaurant! We had the afternoon tea of a cheese selection, breads, macaroons, rose biscuits, champagne and tea. All the food was high quality. Service was a little slow and disorganised - we had to wait 30 minutes for our food to arrive and ask several times for more water and tea. However the staff were very knowledgeable about the cheese. Make sure you book as the small restaurant can quickly become full.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champagne+Fromage - Covent Garden also viewed

 

Been to Champagne+Fromage - Covent Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champagne+Fromage - Covent Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.