We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Street Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added High Street Apartments to your Saves list
High Street Apartments
5 Prince Of Wales Terrace, London W8 5PG, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #316 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
New Milton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My 3 friends and I stayed here for one night to celebrate my 21st birthday this month and was really impressed with this apartment as it was everything we needed for an overnight stay. Just a five minute walk from the High Street Kensington tube station it was a perfect location to go around London during the day and central enough to get a taxi back in the early hours without costing a fortune! The room was quite small and very basic however was clean and modern and all that we needed for one night, especially considering it was only £32 each and this was the cheapest place I found to stay in central London. If your a family and/or wanting to stay for any longer than two nights I would recommend you pay a bit more to stay somewhere a bit luxurious however this place was really not that bad at all even after staying in the basement room which we didn't really want but were hardly in there so couldn't and didn't complain!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The apartments are well located adjacent to all the restaurants, pubs and shops of Kensington High St. It was great to be able self cater and there is a great supermarket (Whole Foods) approx 5 minutes walk away. The apartment itself was functional albeit a bit tired, although it didn't effect our stay. The apartments don't have a reception as such but the do have staff on site who are very helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floors although be aware there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Honestly not that bad. Yes in need of a coat of paint granted!!. But clean (ish). We had the bottom apartment which was fine for what we paid. Staff were lovely. So yes go! a amazing lovely building but some TLC needed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The photos that appear on the websites and the actual state and size of the apartment is far apart. The condition of the apartment we were in was horrible. The walls are in need of paint. Everything that was ever broken in the apartment is fixed in the cheapiest way possible and it shows.

We reported a lot of problems on the day that we arrived which problems were mostly resolved but only 2-3 days later. Handymans came unappointed to rectifiy the maintenance issues reported during our stay.

The apartment was on the third floor and there are no elevators. Being pregnant with a 2 year old toddler this was a challenge.

The wifi was charged for extra and paid for sepertaly - 5 pound per day. We had access problems daily and had to phone the building manager at least 5 times to restore the connection. When we requested a refund for the wifi charge at the end of our stay - the refund was not allowed.

If I had to choose again, I would rather choose an apartment in a better state although the location is not that good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Street Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Street Apartments

Address: 5 Prince Of Wales Terrace, London W8 5PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your High Street Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Street Apartments London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Street Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.