We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager needs to stand back and think about service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pain Quotidien

Le Pain Quotidien
81-85 Notting Hill Gate, London W11 3JS, England (Notting Hill)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,679 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Notting Hill
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Manager needs to stand back and think about service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We only went in for coffee and cake, four of us. Not a demanding order, but requried explanatiosn to make sure it might turn up as ordered. The drinks arrived first, hot chocolate failed the first hurdle by not being hot - and cakes turned up nearly 10 minutes later. Coffee AND cake rather suggests simulatenous or near contemporaneous delivery. That said, the cakes were good but not good value, a tad expensive. Overall not really worth the money.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    32
    16
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Great, a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great service, lovely food, a slightly cramped location in places. The costs can creep up at LPQ as they have a substantial service charge.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is a lovely place next to the tube station Notting Hill Gate. They open the front doors when it is warm outside. The atmosphere is amazing with classical music in the background. So nice to relax whilst outside the traffic is going its usual way.

Mostly fair trade and organic products. The waiter is coming to your table to take your order. Food is served on nice plates and beverages in high quality cans and cups. Fresh and tasty.
For tea they should give an extra plate for the tea bag.

You pay more but that is ok - you get the quality for it.

My feeling about the service personnel is mixed. It is not unfriendly, but not really honest towards guest.
Additionally, they could at least ask if the food was ok and not just:"Ready?"

They also charge this ridiculous service charge even for small amounts. If I like the place I give tips. But what can one do about it?

Overall nice place with food and drinks of high quality, just the service
had a weird attitude - that's why not excellent in rating.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The perfect weekend breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Saturday morning on vacation in London. On a whim I took the tube to Notting Hill to wander around and do some sightseeing. Getting hungry, but with no idea what was in the neighborhood, I wandered into Le Pain Quotidien at random. because it was a just block or so from the tube station. What a stroke of luck that turned out to be!

As I later learned, Le Pain Quotidien is a chain that focuses on fresh, local, and organic foods. I don't know about the other branches, but the Notting Hill branch was definitely a winner for both food and venue.

We sat upstairs at one of the long communal farm tables with a view out over the street, which was teeming with people. The food was simple but very well-executed. Great coffee and cappuccino, sweet and flaky croissants, perfect eggs, and toast from freshly baked bread. The people were friendly and the service was great. I could eat here every morning.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pain Quotidien also viewed

 

Been to Le Pain Quotidien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pain Quotidien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.