We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing/casual atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Bodega

La Bodega
78 Tavistock Road, London W11 1AN, England (Notting Hill)
+44 20 7727 5660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6,705 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Notting Hill
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing/casual atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I live in the neighbourhood and often go to this restaurant.
They have very nice tapas ( I love the croquetas de bacalao/ pollo al ajillo/ patatas bravas/albondigas...), the service is very good, they have an intimate atmosphere, good sangria/wine and affordable prices.
I would recommend to whoever wants a relaxing night out in a pleasant place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding chipirones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great little Spanish restaurant with good value food. We asked if they could do "chipirones a la planch con ajo" which they did for us and they were so good we ordered another. The squid was utterly delicious and with very friendly staff. A great find in Notting Hill. Excellent value food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Really nice food, really friendly owner, friendly staff EXCEPT...some mornings I go there for coffee and there is the RUDEST waitress I have ever come across anywhere - consistantly ignores any attempts to catch her eye (I'm often the the only customer), even when she DOES eventually ask what I want (after much frantic waving), the coffee often never arrives. And NEVER smiles. You would have thought trying to order a coffee in a cafe was the greatest inconvenience to her. A pity as the rest of the (younger) staff are great and the food is the best Spanish cuisine I've had in London.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Friendly place to eat and drink, good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Our small group of friends stopped off here for some tapas and a couple of bottles of wine. We thoroughly enjoyed the buzz of the place, and the food, and the wine, and the service.

The tapas are very reasonably proced at £3.50 each, we had 2 per person which was enough, except that we were tempted to have some bread and cheese with the extra bottle of wine. Service was very friendly and efficient.

You can sit at the bar, at tables inside or out to eat, but the atmosphere inside this smallish restaurant was very lively. Apart from tapas, there is also a good range of spanish meals. Maybe next time.

Ace place.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Good Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Boisterous establishment with good Spanish food. Service a bit haphazard but friendly. OK if you are not in a rush. Seemed a popular venue.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bodega also viewed

 

Been to La Bodega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bodega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.