We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Tapas Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boqueria

Boqueria
192 Acre Lane, London SW2 5UL, England
02072744146
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Boqueria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #463 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: BOQUERIA seeks to provide the consumer with the genuine Tapas experience – Amazing Spanish Food, Wine and Sherries in a fabulous contemporary setting. We are sure you will enjoy Boqueria. We look forward to seeing you soon.SALUD!!!
London
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good Tapas Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very nice tapas meal. Better than most but not overwhelming. Nice selection of plates, service was ok. No mojitoes which was odd for a tapas restaurant. All in all was very nice not too expensive, would recommend a visit but probably only go once!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    51
    34
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A taste of Spain in Brixton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great welcome on arrival and it continues with a busy atmosphere with good service.
We have eaten good tapas in Spain, London and now in Boqueria.
If you just want good tapas with the usual dishes its here, but if you want to try
some new and different dishes it is well worth the risk!
Wine choice is good and also a good choice of daily specials.
As in other tapas restaurants there is a seated bar on entry where you can eat plus also a main restaurant area
Would make sense to book if going on the usual busy nights.
I look forward to a return visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good local Spanish. Service lets it down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

So we had a really good Sunday lunch here - the dining room through the back is a little dark - but as we had junior in tow, we couldnt stay on the high stools at the bar - the two of us on a Friday night would have a cracking time, so better get the babysitter sorted.

Food was overall pretty good - the pan con tomate with jamon, was a good suggestion from the lone waiter, and was the highlight of the meal. Padron peppers are a personal favourite, and good - and the boquerones some of the best I've had for a long time. Chorizo good, but not amazing, lamb medallions a bit dry, but a great, glass of rueda did the trick.

Felt like we were calling the waiter over a lot - and it wasnt that busy. We had empty glasses for a while, he probably could have sold us a couple more plates and glasses if he had tried. Wouldnt like to be here when busy - only about 5/6 tables in use. But am glad its within walking distance from home - we will be back

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lunchtime treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant is only open for lunch on fridays and was very sparsely occupied when a work colleague and I popped in this week. It was supposed to open at 12.30 but we were told on the phone that they wouldn't be ready before 1pm. In fact when we got there just before the appointed time they were closed up, not a great start.

Service was a little slow at first but when the food arrived we realised we were in for a treat. Soft and fresh tortilla was swiftly followed by garlicy roast veg swilling in nutty olive oil. The beef stew was pleasant but monkfish a bit of a chewy disappointment in ketchup like sauce. Lovely bread but four slivers felt a bit stingy.

Overall a really nice lunch but lacking the wow factor of for example, el parador in camden, mind you, you'd pay a fair bit more there.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A little piece of Spain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

It starts with the big smile and friendly welcome when you walk in... The tapas are delicious (the spinach is one of my favourites, though I can never get enough of the almonds either, or the chorizo), the staff is super helpful and the bill doesn't knock your socks off.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boqueria also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Boqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.