We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10B Chestnut Plaza | Westfield-Stratford City, London E20 1GL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #33 of 1,075 hotels in London
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here in Dec 2012 and the experience was incomparable. This has been the best hotel we have stayed in. Service was implacable. The staff never failed to make our day. Buffet breakfast has the homely feel and variety was good too. A plus point would be the views we got from our room and the breakfast room. Being next to Westfield Stratford was itself a major advantage. There's a plethora of things to do in Westfield Stratford and food options were excellent (there were very good choices for halal food).The rail links were excellent to go into central London (approximately 20 minutes journey). Considering the price range, the distance from central London was not even a setback.

Overall, we truly enjoyed our stay in Staybridge Stratford and can't wait to be back here when we are visiting London again.

Room Tip: Ask for odd-numbered rooms as they face the Olympic Stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    380
    100
    25
    3
    0
See reviews for
97
185
35
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I would like to move in permanently... Friendly and welcoming staff. Good size room with nice layout and decor. Very clean, with wonderfully comfortable bed and pillows. Housekeeping staff have done a spotless job. I couldn't find anything to critisize. Nice breakfast with a view as a bonus. Plenty of shops around and easy travel to central London. Not over the top - JUST RIGHT.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you have the opportunity to stay here - DO! Without a doubt, the best place I've stayed in London.
Beautiful reception area with lounge and bar. Self-service kitchen, just walk up and take a snack.
The rooms are spacious, stylish, decorated with style, and well designed. Good sized kitchenette, with dishwash, microwave, and well stocked with utensils etc.
Large comfy king bed, nice sized bathroom with wet-room style shower.
The staff are exceptionally friendly - taking the time to talk in detail with me. It felt like staying with a friend.
Set in the Westfield shopping centre in Stratford - a brand new development of stylish shops. A food court is nearby offering street foods from around the world, and a whole host of big name restaurants too.
About 5 mins stroll from Stratford tube, for the Central line, Jubilee line, DLR, and overground. Central London takes about 20 minutes.
Superb value too. I'd very happily stay here every time I visit London, it's an amazing experience without a doubt. I actually wished I wasn't travelling alone, so others could share the experience too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed for a week and every evening coming back from work really did feel like coming home, all the staff make you feel welcome, always ready to chat and make you feel relaxed, more like friends rather than hotel staff. I am going to stay on a long term basis and will even bring my family down at the weekend to enjoy what I enjoy in the week.
The Buffet breakfast has just what you need, hot food, fruit, cereal, fruit juice, yogurts great. The thing I like about staying at the Staybridge is that you can be self sufficient, you don't need to go to breakfast or go out to dinner you can eat in just like being at home, put the dishes in the dishwasher and of you go enjoy shops on the door step out for a drink and even a little gambling opposite. overall i found the Staybridge perfect for what I need from a weeks stay, even made new friends not something that happens when away on business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Booked a weekend stay using their special Weekender price, which allows you to cancel your booking up until 4pm on Thursday, which I think is pretty good and would recommend.

Anywho, back to the hotel itself. Didn't have too much trouble finding the place, although the signs in the Westfield Carpark could have been a little better, but I guess that's not the hotel's fault. The receptionist on the phone was really helpful.

Arriving at the building situated out on The Street at Westfield, you are greeted by friendly staff and have to take an elevator to the top floor to reception. The whole hotel was spotless; faultless in fact? The room we had was facing the city, with fantastic views over London. The skyline at night is absolutely beautiful. The room was fairly big, clean and furnished pretty well. We booked a normal King Size room, so was equipped with a mini kitchenette area, which was cute. The shower/wet room was pretty generous, and the water pressure really good, which was a plus, I enjoyed a really nice shower in the morning. Also comes with your usual washing/shower products, such as shampoo and conditioner, but I brought my own anyway. There's a hair dryer in the room too, which was handy. The free Wi-Fi wasn't great, it was quite slow at times and you couldn't really stream anything properly without it breaking up at times. You can upgrade to the option premium internet, however with the price we paid for the room and the feel of the hotel, you'd expect that sort of internet access to be included. The hotel has a 'business class' feel to it, so I suspect it appeals to a lot of business travelers. Again, just furthering the need for higher speed internet access. Apple TV in the room too, but again you need to upgrade to the higher internet, so that was a little disappointing.

Breakfast in the morning was to a good standard, however, we were disappointed with the lack of bacon. Although we thought there could have been more variety in the way of hot food, there is an extensive range of cereals, breads, croissants, fruit etc that you can help yourself to. Oh, also really liked the 'home from a home' feel to the restaurant area - it's basically a kitchen you can help yourself too: you can make your own coffee, toast, etc - so that felt pretty homely. So, yeah, only criticism is that they could have offered a wider variety of hot foods - overheard another guest asking about beans?

Be sure to check out the balcony in the dining area - some fantastic views, and luckily we enjoyed some sunshine so was really lovely to enjoy a coffee out there in the morning.

Would probably stay again, it did the job and it did it well. I would say it lived up to my expectations and was a good price for what it was. The staff are really friendly, the breakfast is good and included in your room price, noise levels are low and we had a really comfortable room. I'd recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the city. Bring your own shower wash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

When I last visited London, I stayed in the Holiday Inn Express next door to the Staybridge Suites, which was just fantastic so when there was no vacancies this time we decided we would be on a winner in the Staybridge Suites. Upon arrival the lobby looks fresh and clean and the receptionists were very pleasant and welcoming. First impressions of our suite was that it was still fresh and new. Very pleased until entering the bathroom only to find a patch of dried on crusty urine under the toilet seat! yuk!! I called the receptionist who said " sorry" (and not much else) and sent a couple of girls to our room to clean. As I looked I noticed one of the girls wiped a dry cloth over the urine stain, then immediately wiped over the sink and the mirror with the same part of the cloth, which didn't even have any water or cleaning product on it. The second girl got her toilet brush and brushed and swilled all around the inside of the toilet then proceeded to scrub the floor and the toilet flusher with the same brush without even rinsing or cleaning it! this was enough to put me off staying there ever again! absolutely disgusting hygiene levels and makes me wonder what they do when you are not there if that's what you see when you are. Not acceptable by any means!!!!!!! breakfast was no where near the level of the Holiday inn next door and there was a lot of people always waiting for refill and top ups. No where near enough choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayGM, General Manager at Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear 'kirstygirl2000'

Thank you for your review. This is the type of review I always find difficult to understand why the writer has taken time to write the review and share it globally, but did not bring the (highly distressing) concerns to management, and indeed chose to stay in the room ?!

The Executive Housekeeper and her team have taken this review extremely seriously and I request that you please contact us directly with your details, what room you stayed in, and what dates you stayed, so that a full investigation can be made.

You mention the Holiday Inn and its excellent standards of cleanliness. I feel it is relevant to highlight that the two hotels share the same housekeeping team and Manager (we are in one building and owned by the same company).

Both hotels pride themselves on excellent standards of cleanliness (as reflected by most of the reviews on this site)

I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Wayne Androliakos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was fairly skeptical when I saw the sign "Welcome Home", as I stepped into their reception the first time. It didn't take too long to identify with it, though! Hotel is in a fantastic location both in terms of the immediate environment (new and huge mall, lots of restaurants with variety of cuisines, cinema theatre, casino et al) as well as connectivity (5 mins. walk to the Stratford station, which is a junction of so many lines that you can reach most parts of London with ease). One thing to keep in mind though - the building is in the middle of several blocks of restaurants and the mall - so the taxi goes as far as the Westfield Chestnut Plaza Restaurants board - with Busaba Eathai on one side and The Cow on the other... you would need to walk it (less than a minute) to the hotel itself from this point.

Rooms are fairly spacious and clean and come with all necessary amenities for a comfortable long stay (kitchenette with hob, dishwasher, fridge, toaster, microwave, kettle and basic crockery and cutlery). Views from the room could be towards the mall or looking out towards the city - the latter is absolutely incredible, especially at night with the twinkling skyline, the green laser beam of the GMT line, the trains doing their busy runs and so on (ask for a city-view when you book). In-room amenities are standard. They provide Apple TV (at extra charges) but the basic TV channels were more than enough. Free wireless and wired internet connections within the room, but if you need to stream videos, you will have to upgrade to the faster and paid internet. Wardrobe plus drawer space was ok but could be better. Basic toiletries provided - I liked the low-waste approach where they don't provide the little vanity kits, instead have big bottles of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel - just like at home. Carry your own lotions, though.

The 12th (top) floor hosts their reception area, gym (comfortable for 3-4 people to work out at the same time), laundry room, pantry, breakfast area and the "den". I loved the den! It's a cosy room at the end of the floor, with a big TV, a little "library" (just a handful of books but enough), board games and multiple points where you can plug in your laptop. They host a movie once a week in the den too, complete with popcorn to go. Socials are ok with the wine / beer / sodas and cheeses, olives and salads, chips, breads and pâté. But easily, the winner is their complimentary breakfast - with a spread of hot and cold, veg and non-veg items, from fruits to cereals to eggs to sausages to yogurt to croissants etc., there are enough options to choose from and it's all yummy too, though one may tire of it after 2 long months :). Another convenient thing was a 24 hours tea/coffee availability, though one needed to go to the 12th floor for this. But it was nice to be able to get my cuppa literally anytime, complete with honey to go! And all this at no extra charge made this one of the best value-for-money places by far!

Also, the hotel folks are really nice, friendly and very helpful - when I needed to get printouts and scans in the middle of the night and their own scanner was not functioning suitably, they went down to their other hotel (Holiday Inn), got it done without my having to run around one bit! Without a doubt, will be happy to stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with City View (not Mall View); also ask for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City

Address: 10B Chestnut Plaza | Westfield-Stratford City, London E20 1GL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in London
#27 Family Hotel in London
#28 Luxury Hotel in London
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose a relaxing home-from-home at Staybridge Suites London Stratford hotel, located in the Westfield Stratford City Shopping Centre and just a 5 minute walk from the 2012 Olympic Village.From the minute you step inside the bright, welcoming Lobby of Staybridge Suites London Stratford, you'll feel at home. Unwind by the contemporary fireplace in the Lounge or head to your smart Studio or 1-bedroom Suite. You'll find complimentary wireless Internet throughout.Staybridge Suites London Stratford is in the heart of Europe's largest shopping centre and is one of the onsite hotels for the 2012 Olympic Village. With only a 200 metre walk from Stratford Tube, Railway and DLR Stations, you are within minutes from London City, Canary Wharf, the O2 Arena and the ExCel Exhibition and Conference Centre.Most of Stratford's most exciting bars and restaurants are literally on your doorstep, but if you fancy a night in, the fully equipped kitchen in your Suite makes it easy to cook your own dinner. You'll find all the groceries you need at our 24-hour Pantry. Complimentary breakfast is served in our Hub Kitchen, while guests can network or mingle over complimentary drinks and snacks at our evening reception, held Tue-Thu. Guests can make use of our complimentary laundry room.After a long day, you can energize in the Fitness Centre or meet in the Den meeting room. Ask our team members about exploring the city of London, a few tube stops from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.