We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10B Chestnut Plaza | Westfield-Stratford City, London E20 1GL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #46 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We fancied a short shopping break at Westfield but didn't want to miss out on the excellent food and wine available at the numerous bars and restaurants at this great London mall. We decided we would book a hotel stay for 1 night, and chose the Staybridge Suites. Result! From the moment we checked in, we were greeted like royalty and made to feel like we were at home in our new surroundings.

Everything was explained to us, and we were also told that we were invited to the Manager's Reception at 6.30pm that evening (every night Mon-Thurs) where we could chat to staff and fellow guests over complimentary food and wine ( & beer ).

The rooms/suites were superb, and the bed was extremely comfortable! If you are staying for a longer period of time, this place is perfect! The rooms have a full Kitchen and as there is a Marks & Spencer and a Waitrose in Westfield, you won't be short of things to cook. However, Westfield is blessed with lots of great eateries and top notch restaurants too!

The Managers Reception was delightful and the staff were very chatty and attentive. Thank you guys!

Overall, this hotel is superb and I couldn't rate it high enough! Its a 5 from me! :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over City of London and the Olympic Park! Great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    130
    29
    5
    0
See reviews for
127
244
39
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

after a terrible start next door at the holiday inn,i was saved by Nicholas from the staybridge suites. What a true gentleman and very very good customer service skills. Both he and the other young lad sorry i cant remember his name but i know he was from york :). i was put in suite 1204 and had a beautiful view over the olympic park and london in the distance. A very very comfortable bed and a lovely kitchen,lounge area. If you are in the area this is definately the place to stay. Thanks again guys for making my new years eve something special!!

Room Tip: floor 12 is a must!! oh and go for your breakfast early as it does get quite busy,but kust get your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel rooms are superb with everything you might need. Had a bedroom and lounge with kitchen. The kitchen is fully equipped with microwave, fridge and even a dishwasher.

The room was a little smaller than some suites I've been in but the space is well used. I use a wheelchair and managed no problem. In fact it was better than a lot of hotels specially adapted rooms which is a bit ironic. Would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A great hotel that definitely feels more like home than hotel. However, with some slight disappointments.

Airport transfer:
Stansted: Take Terravision at the airport, (booth 12), do book prior to departure to avoid getting caught in the long queues at the station. Book a later timing online, but no worries, you will be able to take the earlier ones if you arrive earlier. Cost of booking online is $6 pounds.

Heathrow: It is really difficult getting from the hotel to Heathrow airport. Booked with National express but was greatly disappointed. Ultimately took a London cab to the airport, that cost us a total of $100 pounds.

Rooms:
Beautiful room with a full set of kitchen facilities including microwave, dishwasher and everything. Great Apple TV, and also wifi connection.

Location:
Staying at Stratford means that you will be able to get to pretty much everywhere just by taking the underground which is right next to the apartment. However, as it is based right next to the shopping mall, the nearest road is at the bus stop which is at least a 10 min walk to the hotel. May be a little of a challenge with luggages.

Of course, the mall right next to the hotel is one of the biggest in London with Primark, Marks and Spencer and pretty much everything else. Shops open daily at 9am to 6pm from Mon - Sat. This means you can pretty much shop every day when you wake up!

Disappointments:
However, maybe it was the holiday seasons that the fact that they are shorthanded. The breakfast was a little sloppy with poor selection.

Also, the dishes were not properly cleaned and lastly, the housekeeping that was arranged did not happen as well.

All in all, a good stay with a great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel was near perfect. Very nice staff, clean rooms, very little noise. Close to the shopping centre and perfect for shopping. You also have a great variety of restaurants on your doorstep. The only letdown was the breakfast for me. I have celiac disease and I'm used to having to ask for gluten free bread. Most hotels cater for this, I have to wait a bit longer, but that's ok. However, be aware that Staybrigde suites does not offer gluten free breakfast. The solution for me was that I had to buy my own bread and toast it in the rooms. So, if anyone working at the hotel reads this: Buy a gluten free frozen toast bread. When someone asks for gluten free bread, take a few slices, put them on a clean bakingtray and warm them for a few minutes in the oven. And voila, you can now offer your guests a gluten free alternative!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My stay was over the Christmas/boxing day period with my boys. Check in was warm and welcoming, I loved Chloe?? (the dark haired girl with the Northern accent) And Rafael was equally attentive and warm and tried very hard to accommodate me and my requests. Rooms were very nice and not as small as I thought it would be (i had a 1bed suite) with everything you could need

Breakfast was good with lots of choice, and loved the concept of helping your self to cartons of juice as if you have a large party you could simply take a carton to your table for all to share, only downside was it ends at 9.30, I think 10am would be a better option, but you can take the food up to your room should you wish.

My major gripe with hotels is noise, I can say that I did not hear a peep not even from other guests during my stay, however I was placed on the Olympic side.

So why the 4 and not 5 stars? My stay was not without its glitches, albeit minor however I addressed this upon checkout and they seemed to genuinely take my concerns/constructive criticism on board.

I would recommend this hotel to all visiting London if you don't mind being a little out of the center and not looking for the 5* experience. You get such a good deal for what you pay and it really does feel homely

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Planning to travel to London for Christmas and New Year's with our two "Tweens" (ages 14 and 11), my husband and I were concerned about booking a 'regular' city hotel room for such a long period of time (many of the hotels we looked for did not even have rooms to sleep four people), and we really did not want to spend $500/600 dollars/night for two rooms. My husband found the Staybridge Suites on line. It was newly built for the Olympics (summer 2012). Not only is everything pristine, the showers great, fully appointed kitchen, rooms spacious and a full and tasty breakfast included every day (and with as pricey as everything is in London, you will certainly appreciate that treat!), we were able to get two adjoining rooms for less than it would have cost us for one closer into the city!

The staff is so helpful and friendly too. Most especially, if you go there look for Timothy ...he goes over and above, and gave us wonderful advice on many matters (transportation, things to do)! On Christmas, when everything is closed, he invited us to watch movies , popped popcorn , made nachos and served wine and beer to celebrate! (Chloe, another staffer, was also kind and helpful). My kids were sad to bid farewell to Timothy when he left for his days off before we left!

The one negative of the Staybridge is that it is relatively far compared to other hotels. It was about a 20-40 minute tube (subway) ride once you got to the station (the central line station is a short 5 minute walk from the hotel). It is attached to a huge mall that has tons of stores and food options though. For perspective, some of the tour companies pick up at various hotels, but this one is far outside that range.

All in all though, we felt the many fabulous things about this hotel (Timothy and the great service, the beautiful and spacious rooms, and the free breakfast) greatly outweighed the negative of the distance which we got used to. Highly recommend for families with older children-we would go back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City

Address: 10B Chestnut Plaza | Westfield-Stratford City, London E20 1GL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in London
#41 Luxury Hotel in London
#42 Family Hotel in London
#75 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose a relaxing home-from-home at Staybridge Suites London Stratford hotel, located in the Westfield Stratford City Shopping Centre and just a 5 minute walk from the 2012 Olympic Village.From the minute you step inside the bright, welcoming Lobby of Staybridge Suites London Stratford, you'll feel at home. Unwind by the contemporary fireplace in the Lounge or head to your smart Studio or 1-bedroom Suite. You'll find complimentary wireless Internet throughout.Staybridge Suites London Stratford is in the heart of Europe's largest shopping centre and is one of the onsite hotels for the 2012 Olympic Village. With only a 200 metre walk from Stratford Tube, Railway and DLR Stations, you are within minutes from London City, Canary Wharf, the O2 Arena and the ExCel Exhibition and Conference Centre.Most of Stratford's most exciting bars and restaurants are literally on your doorstep, but if you fancy a night in, the fully equipped kitchen in your Suite makes it easy to cook your own dinner. You'll find all the groceries you need at our 24-hour Pantry. Complimentary breakfast is served in our Hub Kitchen, while guests can network or mingle over complimentary drinks and snacks at our evening reception, held Tue-Thu. Guests can make use of our complimentary laundry room.After a long day, you can energize in the Fitness Centre or meet in the Den meeting room. Ask our team members about exploring the city of London, a few tube stops from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.