We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want perfection this is it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10B Chestnut Plaza | Westfield-Stratford City, London E20 1GL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #33 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“If you want perfection this is it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

after a terrible start next door at the holiday inn,i was saved by Nicholas from the staybridge suites. What a true gentleman and very very good customer service skills. Both he and the other young lad sorry i cant remember his name but i know he was from york :). i was put in suite 1204 and had a beautiful view over the olympic park and london in the distance. A very very comfortable bed and a lovely kitchen,lounge area. If you are in the area this is definately the place to stay. Thanks again guys for making my new years eve something special!!

Room Tip: floor 12 is a must!! oh and go for your breakfast early as it does get quite busy,but kust get your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    106
    27
    4
    0
See reviews for
106
206
38
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very nice hotel rooms are superb with everything you might need. Had a bedroom and lounge with kitchen. The kitchen is fully equipped with microwave, fridge and even a dishwasher.

The room was a little smaller than some suites I've been in but the space is well used. I use a wheelchair and managed no problem. In fact it was better than a lot of hotels specially adapted rooms which is a bit ironic. Would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A great hotel that definitely feels more like home than hotel. However, with some slight disappointments.

Airport transfer:
Stansted: Take Terravision at the airport, (booth 12), do book prior to departure to avoid getting caught in the long queues at the station. Book a later timing online, but no worries, you will be able to take the earlier ones if you arrive earlier. Cost of booking online is $6 pounds.

Heathrow: It is really difficult getting from the hotel to Heathrow airport. Booked with National express but was greatly disappointed. Ultimately took a London cab to the airport, that cost us a total of $100 pounds.

Rooms:
Beautiful room with a full set of kitchen facilities including microwave, dishwasher and everything. Great Apple TV, and also wifi connection.

Location:
Staying at Stratford means that you will be able to get to pretty much everywhere just by taking the underground which is right next to the apartment. However, as it is based right next to the shopping mall, the nearest road is at the bus stop which is at least a 10 min walk to the hotel. May be a little of a challenge with luggages.

Of course, the mall right next to the hotel is one of the biggest in London with Primark, Marks and Spencer and pretty much everything else. Shops open daily at 9am to 6pm from Mon - Sat. This means you can pretty much shop every day when you wake up!

Disappointments:
However, maybe it was the holiday seasons that the fact that they are shorthanded. The breakfast was a little sloppy with poor selection.

Also, the dishes were not properly cleaned and lastly, the housekeeping that was arranged did not happen as well.

All in all, a good stay with a great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel was near perfect. Very nice staff, clean rooms, very little noise. Close to the shopping centre and perfect for shopping. You also have a great variety of restaurants on your doorstep. The only letdown was the breakfast for me. I have celiac disease and I'm used to having to ask for gluten free bread. Most hotels cater for this, I have to wait a bit longer, but that's ok. However, be aware that Staybrigde suites does not offer gluten free breakfast. The solution for me was that I had to buy my own bread and toast it in the rooms. So, if anyone working at the hotel reads this: Buy a gluten free frozen toast bread. When someone asks for gluten free bread, take a few slices, put them on a clean bakingtray and warm them for a few minutes in the oven. And voila, you can now offer your guests a gluten free alternative!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My stay was over the Christmas/boxing day period with my boys. Check in was warm and welcoming, I loved Chloe?? (the dark haired girl with the Northern accent) And Rafael was equally attentive and warm and tried very hard to accommodate me and my requests. Rooms were very nice and not as small as I thought it would be (i had a 1bed suite) with everything you could need

Breakfast was good with lots of choice, and loved the concept of helping your self to cartons of juice as if you have a large party you could simply take a carton to your table for all to share, only downside was it ends at 9.30, I think 10am would be a better option, but you can take the food up to your room should you wish.

My major gripe with hotels is noise, I can say that I did not hear a peep not even from other guests during my stay, however I was placed on the Olympic side.

So why the 4 and not 5 stars? My stay was not without its glitches, albeit minor however I addressed this upon checkout and they seemed to genuinely take my concerns/constructive criticism on board.

I would recommend this hotel to all visiting London if you don't mind being a little out of the center and not looking for the 5* experience. You get such a good deal for what you pay and it really does feel homely

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Planning to travel to London for Christmas and New Year's with our two "Tweens" (ages 14 and 11), my husband and I were concerned about booking a 'regular' city hotel room for such a long period of time (many of the hotels we looked for did not even have rooms to sleep four people), and we really did not want to spend $500/600 dollars/night for two rooms. My husband found the Staybridge Suites on line. It was newly built for the Olympics (summer 2012). Not only is everything pristine, the showers great, fully appointed kitchen, rooms spacious and a full and tasty breakfast included every day (and with as pricey as everything is in London, you will certainly appreciate that treat!), we were able to get two adjoining rooms for less than it would have cost us for one closer into the city!

The staff is so helpful and friendly too. Most especially, if you go there look for Timothy ...he goes over and above, and gave us wonderful advice on many matters (transportation, things to do)! On Christmas, when everything is closed, he invited us to watch movies , popped popcorn , made nachos and served wine and beer to celebrate! (Chloe, another staffer, was also kind and helpful). My kids were sad to bid farewell to Timothy when he left for his days off before we left!

The one negative of the Staybridge is that it is relatively far compared to other hotels. It was about a 20-40 minute tube (subway) ride once you got to the station (the central line station is a short 5 minute walk from the hotel). It is attached to a huge mall that has tons of stores and food options though. For perspective, some of the tour companies pick up at various hotels, but this one is far outside that range.

All in all though, we felt the many fabulous things about this hotel (Timothy and the great service, the beautiful and spacious rooms, and the free breakfast) greatly outweighed the negative of the distance which we got used to. Highly recommend for families with older children-we would go back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife, son and I stayed here for 10 days around Christmas, and our experience was outstanding. The hotel provides excellent value for money, and we stayed in a nice two-room suite with views over the Olympic park and toward the Docklands and City (see accompanying photo). Although technically located in East London, the hotel is extremely accessible to many parts of London via a short ride on the Tube, Overground, DLR, Bus and/or Javelin, plus it is part of the Westfield Stratford City complex, supposedly the largest retail centre in Europe, which provides an endless choice of shops and restaurants during one's stay.

What really sets this place apart from countless other places we've stayed is the staff, who went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable, comfortable and worry-free as possible. They never complained about any request and never tried to point out somehow that they were going out of their way or taking extra steps. They just did everything possible for us as though it was the most natural thing in the world for them. Special mention goes to Timothy, Sofie and Chloe at the front desk, and Debbie in the breakfast lounge.

The one negative of the hotel is that it is not very convenient to arrive at and depart from with luggage. It doesn't have a driveway like most hotels, and so when you first arrive it's necessary to get dropped off in the Westfield car park (underneath the Casino) or on the road next to the "Chestnut Plaza" restaurant area and then go find someone at the hotel to help transport your luggage to the hotel. Indeed, we departed the hotel on Boxing Day, and there was such a huge cue of cars coming into Westfield for the sales that it wasn't even possible for a mini cab to drive to the Chestnut Plaza area. And so Timothy (again without the slightest complaint) moved our luggage through the "Street" area of Westfield and over a footbridge to the Stratford Tube and Bus station in pouring rain so that we could meet our mini cab there. All told, these difficulties with luggage end up being a very minor inconvenience compared to all of the positives of the hotel.

Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms have the southerly view over the Olympic park and towards the Docklands and City...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City

Address: 10B Chestnut Plaza | Westfield-Stratford City, London E20 1GL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in London
#29 Luxury Hotel in London
#42 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose a relaxing home-from-home at Staybridge Suites London Stratford hotel, located in the Westfield Stratford City Shopping Centre and just a 5 minute walk from the 2012 Olympic Village.From the minute you step inside the bright, welcoming Lobby of Staybridge Suites London Stratford, you'll feel at home. Unwind by the contemporary fireplace in the Lounge or head to your smart Studio or 1-bedroom Suite. You'll find complimentary wireless Internet throughout.Staybridge Suites London Stratford is in the heart of Europe's largest shopping centre and is one of the onsite hotels for the 2012 Olympic Village. With only a 200 metre walk from Stratford Tube, Railway and DLR Stations, you are within minutes from London City, Canary Wharf, the O2 Arena and the ExCel Exhibition and Conference Centre.Most of Stratford's most exciting bars and restaurants are literally on your doorstep, but if you fancy a night in, the fully equipped kitchen in your Suite makes it easy to cook your own dinner. You'll find all the groceries you need at our 24-hour Pantry. Complimentary breakfast is served in our Hub Kitchen, while guests can network or mingle over complimentary drinks and snacks at our evening reception, held Tue-Thu. Guests can make use of our complimentary laundry room.After a long day, you can energize in the Fitness Centre or meet in the Den meeting room. Ask our team members about exploring the city of London, a few tube stops from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites London-Stratford City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.