We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westland Hotel to your Saves list
Westland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   154 Bayswater Road | Bayswater, Westminster, London W2 4HP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #617 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Brownsvalley, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Westland hotel is clean, comfortable, affordable, a great value in expensive London. We found the room to be large, quiet and comfortable. The hotel staff was very helpful with directions, especially with riding the transit system. The breakfast was very good....I don't understand why others would complain. After traveling through Ireland, Scotland and England for a month, we found the Westland to be a good hotel in a great location. Since we had several hours before leaving for the airport our bags were kept in a secure area until we were ready to leave. Very helpful courteous staff. I would stay at the Westland again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    41
    26
    16
    10
See reviews for
32
43
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

London Hotel prices are outrageous. Is it Greed or what? but they will be lucky to have a tourist industry after this year. Most other cities in the world put London to shame.Westland Hotel, Bayswater Road was the best we could do price wise at £150 inc Breakfast.Makes business meetings very costly.. Breakfast was very good and cooked freshly. Staff were helpful except nowhere secure to leave ones bags which was a nuisance and surely could be rectified? It is faded glory and though clean has very worn feel. We would go back again if Holiday Inn , Hilton and the like continue to Steal our money.

Room Tip: Ask for one not on the front to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011 via mobile

In today's world, having wifi is pretty critical for the business traveler, as well as for regular folks who want or need to keep in touch. If you stay at this hotel, plan on paying ridiculous prices, OR try to jam everything into their "free" 10 minuets "per 24 hour period" OR go next door and steal wifi from the Ramada. To me, this is crazy. Just stay at the Ramada.

In addition, there were no vents in the bathroom, the shower curtain hems were lovely shade of gold (from mold), the beds we're too hard and the breakfast was miserably boring. Also, our room was on the front so it was very, very noisy at night with traffic on Bayswater.

On the plus side, the lotion was great for our purposes, near the Tube, our room was comfortable for 2 of us, our room had a small balcony which was cute and the staff was willing to accommodate our request to arrive one day early.

I won't go back tho... The whole deal with the wifi and the stupid rule on 10 minutes every "24 hours" was too stupid for me. Next time I'll just go to the Ramada, where they happily give you wifi.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We had high hopes for a lovely stay at the Westland as it was recommended by Rick Steves. The email exchange to book a room was very friendly as well. There was not a lot of rooms available and the last email exchange had us booked in as a double for the first night, a single (we would flip a coin to see who was on the floor) and then finally a double room for the last two nights in London. I asked that we be put on a waiting list for a double room the night we had to move to a single bed and we were informed that we were at the top of the list. Yeah we thought. When we arrived at the hotel the reception was very friendly and efficient. We were informed that they had good news - we would not have to change rooms after all. We were thankful for that. What a disappointment though when we saw our room. It was very spacious with two double beds and a single but was very shabby. I could handle shabby though at 156 sterling a night (or so we thought) it seemed that the room should be better appointed. What I could not put up with was what looked like mold in the bathroom vent (see picture). I wiped down a grease mark on the wall in the bathroom and the towell was black with soot. We informed the reception of the cleanliness issue and they said they would alert housekeeping. They did clean around the vent while we were out but that was it. We decided that night that there must be healthier and less shabby accommodation to be had. We found the Best Western Phoenix around the corner on a much quieter street for only 130 sterling a night. We gave the Westland notice and put up with our second night there. What a surprise at check out to learn that they were charging us for a three bedroom room at the rate of 169 sterling minus the Rick Steeves 10% discount. In my mind it is only good service to advise customers when upgrading a room at check in that they will be paying more than what was last quoted or the hotel should give a complimentary upgrade. I think we would have been able to swallow the additional cost if the room had been remotely decent. As it was we paid the higher bill and advised the two owners who were there at check out that the room needed serious attention and they should check it out personally. The response was "we have given a note to housekeeping" I would have expected more from a family run business. Our stay at the Phoenix was delightful. A clean, well decorated and quiet room. If you have to venture into the Westland you had better double confirm the rate and see the room before committing. I would hope that there are well kept rooms in this hotel... I have included pictures of the wrinkles in the carpet, the threadbare bedcover, peeling paint and mildew/mold?. I will say that the breakfast was good and the gals in the breakfast room were delightful - genuinely friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We suffered 2 days without hot showers, with hotel staff making excuses about the hotel being full. Wi-Fi only available through expensive plans, we had to sit on the balcony and scam the free Wi-Fi from the hotel next door. They moved us to another room and we finally had hot water. No AC, so it was quite muggy a couple nights. Breakfast was uninspired, the sausage was especially bad, although the drip coffee was very good. This hotel whas recommended by Rick Steve's, but he should reconsider.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Stayed here in June for 1 night on a business trip. The room was dirty, as was my colleagues, and the bathroom was dreadful. The toliet seat was broken and dirt had gotten into the crack, it was gross. The bedding, thankfully, appeared clean. Breakfast was good, and all cooked to order. I wouldn't stay here again, as there are better hotels out there for the same price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Westland Hotel recently on a family vacation. We were very disappointed with the Westland Hotel. The beds in the rooms were very, very hard and uncomfortable. We probably would have been more comfortable sleeping on the floor. The comforters were very old and had stains on them. We did not have hot water in the morning for the first three days of our visit ( we showered at 8:00 am and was told that it tends to run out due to the amount of people showering in the morning- but it was barely lukewarm in the evening as well). Although after complaining (again) to the manager, we had hot water for our showers for the rest of our stay. The only positive comments- the hotel is close ( 5 minute walk) to the underground "Tube" and a few minutes walk to Hyde Park - that's it. I would definitely NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westland Hotel

Address: 154 Bayswater Road | Bayswater, Westminster, London W2 4HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #617 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opposite Kensington Gardens, the Westland Hotel is a traditional premium 3 star hotel only 4 minutes walk from Queensway and Notting Hill Underground Stations. The Westland Hotel offers a complimentary and well stocked drinks bar from 6pm to 8pm each evening for residents. There is also limited on-site parking (chargeable) and a 24 hour Front Desk. The spacious rooms are all en-suite and feature satellite TV, a work desk and free Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westland Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.