We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London stopover!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot to your Saves list
Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Kings Cross Road, London WC1X 9DT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #612 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“London stopover!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I've stayed at the Royal Scott several times before mainly because it offers good value, is handy for the City and is relatively close to Kings Cross station. On this occasion my fiancé was accompanying me on a business trip. Our room was clean and tidy at first glance with furnishings in the latest Travelodge house style. Closer inspection suggested the bathroom would have benefitted from a deep clean. The corridors seem to get gloomier and dirtier each time I visit. Nevertheless, at the price it still represents good value for staying over close to Central London.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the former penthouse rooms on the 6th floor at the front if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    165
    134
    55
    38
See reviews for
94
152
28
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A short walk from King's Cross station. Room 411 has a comfortable bed but the remainder of the room seemed quite tired. Improvement to decor and maintenance required, but as a base for an overnight stay it was adequate. No frills.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton And Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I haven't stayed in many hotels but my experience of this one was great. The room was comfortable, staff were friendly and the food was great. Also the all-you-can-eat breakfast was great value for money. :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Had heard mixed reviews about the Royal Scot, but thanks to other reviewers we'd heard asking for a room with Air Con can help maximise the chances of getting a nice room. We were allocated one of the Millennium Rooms which was a bit difficult to find but we were rewarded with a room not facing the road (although noise didn't seem excessive during our stay anyway) and of course the aforementioned air conditioning which was a great help.

The room was a little old fashioned and rough around the edges (one set of drawers had a drawer missing) but generally a clean, standard room. More than happy considering the price and the bathroom was clean, likewise with the bed.

The usual accompaniments: Kettle, Coffee & Tea facilities, TV, bedside cabinets and lights. The hotel's (chargeable after 30 mins) wifi didn't get picked up at all in our room (#2004) so if this is a concern for you then be warned about the lack of reception in this part of the hotel.

The staff were very helpful & cleaning staff very courteous. The breakfast buffet was OK for what we paid, we were able to get breakfast locally after missing the breakfast hours after our first night.

The hotel is a short walk from Kings Cross St Pancras, as well as slightly longer (10-15mins) to London Euston so perfect for train travellers like ourselves. Quite happy considering the prices in London elsewhere were prohibitively expensive for our needs, would happily book again.

Room Tip: To avoid rooms on the road ask for a room with air conditioning, claim a health issue i.e. hayfever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

After reading lots of negative reviews We were was well and truley surprised, the rooms were spotless lots of tea and coffee available more at reception if need, the staff were great, our only ' moan ' was the shower wernt that powerfull, but did the job and there wernt many toiletries ie no soap, also our Room was very warm, us ourselves would return and recommend this travel lodge

Room Tip: Unless you like a warm room don't go south facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here with family, taking up three family rooms in all. ALL of us had issues with the rooms, example, nowhere for a child to sleep in our room, no bed. They said at reception could he sleep in a room on his own( he's only 12) so NO! Was given another room number but it wasn't ready so came back 3.40 and still wasn't ready. Given ANOTHER room and went up to unpack and guess what? NO BED FOR A CHILD! So were given yet another room and eventually got sorted. They had charged £10 for early check in, which they refunded after all the mix up. The other two rooms taken by family had exactly the same problem, and they arrived at 8.30 pm so were not best pleased.

The rooms are old and in need of a good clean. We did get clean towels the next day but the room hadn't been cleaned/vacuumed etc.

The breakfast was adequate,what you expect from a Travel Lodge.

Free wifi for 30 minutes.
On the plus side, the reception staff were really helpful and did their best to sort it out.

On checking out, you are charged £10 for storing the baggage, which we paid. However, after finding that not everyone pays this, and after a lengthy discussion with reception we got this refunded too.

Won't be using this hotel again.

Tip: if you talk to reception you DONT all pay for early check in and for leaving the bags.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I was initially put into an Accessible Room on the Ground Floor. I only noticed this when I went for a shower and I was not even told that I was going to be placed into such a room. It was late and so I did not complain as I had checked in the hotel at 12am. That was not the only issue. The air con in the room was noisy so I switched it off. Upon going back to sleep I heard dripping noise. I notice that this was the aircon. The noise would not stop and I could not sleep. There is no phone in the room so I had to go to the reception to tell them of this issue. They put me in another room. This was much better and I got some rest. In the morning however, I discovered there were no towels in the room. Upon telling the member of staff when checking out, there was no concern and I was simply told that "they cleaners must have missed it of their list". Still if there was a phone to reception, like any other hotel, this would have been useful as I could have called someone. I checked out and very disappointed about the stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment R83 B. Our facilities are required to be checked on a regular basis to ensure that they are quiet and functional so it is regrettable to learn you were disturbed by the noise of the air conditioning unit. Our housekeeping team are also expected to ensure all of our rooms are set up correctly with the correct amount of linen and towels so we are truly sorry to learn this was not the case. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel management team so that they can investigate the noise disturbances and remind our house keeping of the importance of attention to detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Address: 100 Kings Cross Road, London WC1X 9DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #612 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot 2*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Hotel overlooking Percy Circus, 1/4 mile from King's Cross Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot Hotel London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge
Travel Lodge London
Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.