We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpaid 54 Boutique Hotel, Kensington, UK” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 54 Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 54 Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
54 Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Queens Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5JW, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #256 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overpaid 54 Boutique Hotel, Kensington, UK”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Booked a single room, #12, with 54 Boutique from the Internet for 7 days. It is no surprise that the room sizes in Europe are very different compared to the USA, however, this hotel has a 4 star rating and it was a huge surprise to find the room was with limited outlets for personal use of electrical appliances. The bathroom was without an outlet (shaving apparatus only, yes-I am a female), and the only outlets serving the room were on the side of the bed, nightstand and small desk area without a mirror. It was very inconvenient for hair appliances, blowing drying, etc. The bathroom had a small area over the toilet for personal items and an overhead radiator for heat that hung the bath towel. The room was very warm, the carpet somewhat worn and spotty. The bed is a single, small and takes up most of the space in the room. There is no seating area. TV watching is from the bed. Clothing area were cubicles (like those for a Kindergarten classroom), small and the side with hangers for a few items like sweater and coat. Coffee, tea and water available. Location is good. Restaurants and tube close by.

This was supposedly a 4 star hotel. The cost of the hotel was 983 pounds and converts to $1,598.00 US dollars!!
I suggest that traveling to the UK you book with an USA travel agent and insure the cost of the stay in US dollars. The amenities of this hotel do not qualify for a 4 star hotel. The hotel offered me free breakfast for the remainder of my trip (2 days) for my dissatisfaction, but I was only able to take advantage of the offer for 1 day as I was leaving the following day at a time before breakfast started. They did remove a day's amount of 9.00 pounds previously paid for. Room #12 is a not a room to come back to after a long day of touring and relax. Simply put, it is a very basic small room with inconvenient outlets, and logistically the room lacks some important details.

Room Tip: Book in US dollars only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    196
    50
    24
    19
See reviews for
50
203
50
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were lucky enough to get a good-size room on the top floor, which did mean climbing up a lot of stairs, but it was worth it, and Queen's Gate is a very useful centre if you want to go to the Albert Hall, Knightsbridge, Chelsea, and, of course, the museums right next door. Breakfast was good value, too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Travelled to London in March ths year after lots of movement through Instanbul and Europe. London as usual was frantic and lively - so this hotel was like a tranquil resting spot - From Chek in by a kind and humorous Paolo, to the other staff who were attentive and helpful without being intrusive, things were great here. Its location close to the Tube stations, V&A next door and also close to Hyde park and Kensington makes it an ideal location for a traveller, business person etc. It is quiet and rooms are spotless - some vary in size but you might score one at the size of a Corproate Board Room - so unusual for London in this location. Will definitely stay here again - Pity if the place gets too popular as it is a gem that I am reluctantly sharing ;)

Room Tip: Downstairs - even in the basement there are some massive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We loved it here! If you like a quiet, retreat-like experience rather that a bustling cookie cutter hotel, 54 Boutique is for you and us. The room was chic and moderate sized and the bed was comfy and well appointed. The bath was nicely done and beautifully clean - not large by American standards, but fine. It was the quiet terrace deck that charmed us. We would bring back pastries and have tea there every afternoon. Breakfast was served in the front room and had a nice selection of cereals, fruits, breads, meats and cheeses with all the trimmings.
You couldn't ask for more and for a better location.

Room Tip: We had #6 with the nice deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

It is easy to walk to many museums, shops and restaurants from this hotel situated in Kensington.
There are a variety of rooms spread over 4 floors. We, and 3 other couples, stayed for several days. We all paid the same price for our rooms. One was a damp room at ground level, one had a bed that was too short to accommodate average sized people, another was very small on the 4th floor ( the elevator only goes to the second floor). Ours (#19 )was the most spacious and had nice view of the V & A Museum.
The hotel needs to have the carpets cleaned/changed and would benefit from a coat of paint.
The continental breakfasts were very good, with nice variety of fruit, cereal, yogurt etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A fantastic Boutique hotel, very good value and within walking distance to the Albert Hall so no need for Taxis. Decent size room and en suite with everything you need and on a quiet road. Clean and tidy and very helpful staff. I requested a gluten/dairy free breakfast and they provided cereals, rolls and soya milk at no extra cost. Also opposite the National History Museum and close to Kensington Park so plenty to do in the area, with about a 5-10 walk to the nearest tube. An excellent stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights while we were in London on vacation. It was myself, my wife, and our 16 month old. The hotel was great with our son and we were able to keep our stroller downstairs. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Very close to the Tube, local restaurants, and Kensington Park and easy to get to the tourist sites in London. About 40 min Tube ride from Heathrow and very convenient.

We will stay here and when we come back.

Room Tip: The junior suites are great and have a good amount of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 54 Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 Boutique Hotel

Address: 54 Queens Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#178 Romantic Hotel in London
#189 Luxury Hotel in London
#223 Business Hotel in London
#332 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 54 Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 Boutique Hotel is a traditional townhouse with its own special qualities. Our guests find a quiet sanctuary from the hustle & bustle of London where they can relax in comfort. The 26 rooms and suites are decorated in contemporary style with modern sandstone and black granite bathrooms with gleaming chrome power showers. All rooms have air-conditioning, a modern ensuite bathroom, Free Wi-Fi internet access and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 54 Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
54 Boutique London
Hotel 54 Boutique
54 Boutique Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 54 Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.