We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A not so hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of London House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added London House Hotel to your Saves list
London House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4DJ, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #305 of 1,065 Hotels in London
vienna
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“A not so hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Lovely little hotel ! Perfect location, just around the corner to Notting Hill (max 5 min to Bayswater tube st). Large and nice public areas, pleasant reception with competent and polite staff. I had a single room, so it was tiny, of course, but well positioned. It was perfectly sufficient for one night stay. Bathroom was too tiny though (you need to be UK-size 8).
Everything's spotlessly clean !
I'd definitely recommand and would love to return to the London House Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    775
    159
    40
    26
See reviews for
269
501
139
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maspalomas, Spain
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have stayed at this property for 8 night at the end of March. My room (417 - single on the 4th floor) was very clean and decorated in good taste. The bathroom was small, but not smaller than many other properties in central London. The hotel is centrally located in Bayswater, very close to Bayswater and Queensways Underground Stations. Breakfast was also very good, with a good array of choices. The team at the Front Desk was superb, and so were the guys doing the night shift (I arrived very late the first night, and I found them to be very friendly and relaxed, but always maintaining a professional attitude). I would certainly book this property in the future, and I would recommend it to any friends/business associates travelling to London in the future.

Room Tip: Room 417 is a decent sized room (larger than the average single room, from what I was able to see).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHHManager, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am pleased to read we have managed to make you feel at home. Our goal is to provide professional buy yet friendly service and to offer our guests good experience.
I am looking forward to seeing you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodø, Nordland, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a fine, clean hotel in a quiet part of Bayswater. We will recommend it for other travellers. The staff was very helpful and the room was small but nice. We had a room at 1 floor with a gardenwiev. There are also close to shoppingmall and underground.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Located in Bayswater, London House Hotel is the decent end of what a modern budget hotel should be - 'boutique'-styled modern, slightly camp, decor apparently courtesy of a hairdresser who blew the budget at Next interiors.

What do you need to know. It's clean, bright and quiet. The beds are very, very comfortable. The service is friendly and efficient. The neighbourhood is secure. It's very close to Baywater restaurants as well Notting Hill, Hyde Park, a tube/bus/long walk from Oxford Street and Soho. Spot on in almost every respect and near to £120 for a twin room. Not bad.

One piece of advice: don't book the breakfast. The hotel has a clean and tidy subterranean breakfast room - the continental breakfast is awful and there is no choice of full english or anything else.

Book a room, skip the breakfast and make The London House Hotel the place to lay your budget head.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHHManager, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you fro writing your review on London House Hotel.
I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you have found our hotel to offer good value for money.
I am sorry to read you did not appreciated our continental breakfast and i am sorry we cannot offer at the moment full British breakfast . We try to offer good variety and good value continental breakfast and we feel that the breakfast price its very competitive.
We hope to see you here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucerias
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This wonderful little hotel is located in the Bayswater area of London. A short five minute walk to the tube with lots of restaraunt choices in the area. The rooms were clean and small, showing signs of wear especially in the bathroom. We were on the second floor front over looking a park area/ garden and found the room to be perfect for our three night stay. It was quiet and we were quite comfortable keeping the windows open in the evening.

The reception area is very modern and the staff was excellent. We didn't use the breakfast room on the lower level. (extra charge) but we did look at it and it appeared to give you a wide variety of quick food. We found it much easier to grab a fruit and pastry at one of the local stores.

All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is in a nice area with lots of restaurants, a few pubs, some grocery stores, and a really close walk to the Bayswater tube station. I would absolutely stay here again, great service, nice neighborhood, I lived in London, and this is a great area, but also affordable in a nice area. The hotel was clean, has room for more than two (which many hotels only have hotels for two) and is a good price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHHManager, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review! I appreciate your comments and I am happy to read that you liked our hotel, service and the area where our hotel is located. I can agree with you that not many hotels offer bigger rooms than double/ twin and that our prices are really affordable for the location and standard that we offer - thank you for pointing this! I really hope to see you at London House Hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is the second time in a year and a half I have visited this hotel. This time I stayed in family room on the ground floor (previous stay was in a twin on a higher floor). I chose to return here as it is hard to find hotels at a good price that have three beds in the room (without someone having to sleep on a sofa bed). I was in room G4 and it has a double and two single beds. There was plenty of space in the room to store cases, a wardrobe with fridge and safe in it and a small dressing table. (no drawer storage available but this wasn't an issue for us).

The room and hotel public areas were spotlessly clean. The bathroom could have benefited from a little facelift as there were some damange to tiles and the sink but this looked like it had been caused by a previous guest as opposed to normal wear and tear. The bathroom was still very clean and plenty of towels provided along with shampoo/conditioner and showergel.

The breakfast is £6 per night and is a continental offering (no hot cooked breakfast). There is a selection of cereals, yogurts, meats, cheese, boiled eggs, pastries, toast and tea/coffee/juice and you can take as much or as little as you like.

The hotel is in a good location near two tube stations, a short walk to Kensington Gardens, Portobello Road, Notting Hill, etc. The square it is in is a pretty location and is clean. The hotel only has single glazing windows so expect to hear a bit of noise during the night, but I expect to hear noise in every hotel I go to and this wouldn't put me off returning again.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful and are on duty 24 hours a day so help is always there if needed.

I would recommend this hotel to couples, families, friends and solo travellers as I think it is a good offering for the price charged.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHHManager, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I am glad and really pleased to read your review! I loved to read your comments. We feel like we do our best to improve our service every time we read the review like yours - thank you. We all look forward to welcoming you at London House Hotel again soon. Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to London House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London House Hotel

Address: 81 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#244 Family Hotel in London
#261 Business Hotel in London
#310 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — London House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming , newly renovated Hotel in Central London situated in a quiet and charming street The London House Hotel overlooks a leafy Victorian park in the exclusive Bayswater area and offers the excellent combination of both comfort and affordability in a prime location in central London. All room are newly renovated with contemporary décor. All rooms have air condition, TV, safe, mini fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your London House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Hotel
London House Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.