We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, very recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of London House Hotel

Save Saved
You added London House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
London House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4DJ, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #285 of 1,073 hotels in London
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, very recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel for 7 nights, for me the hotel is in a great location, not far from the central attractions with great public transportation around to get you everywhere and close to my family.
The bedroom looks exactly like the pictures, we got a room on the third floor facing the park even though we didn't pay for it, the bed is very comfortable, the room is heated and the mini fridge was very useful.
We didn't try the breakfast because there are a lot of places to eat around, there is also a great Indian restaurant around the corner on the main street and a lot of pubs.
I would definitely go there again!
take a look at the pictures.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    332
    678
    142
    32
    23
See reviews for
241
428
123
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

I had a twin on the 3rd floor when I came to visit my family from Feb 28-March 4th, 2011. The accommodations were certainly budget hotel. However, it was clean and the front desk staff were very friendly. Additionally, the rooms have a fridge and an electric kettle, so I stocked the fridge with items from the Marks & Spencers in the Whiteley's shopping center across the way and saved on my food bill (there's also a Tesco Metro and Sainsbury's). Location wise it's perfect as well. There are 2 tube stations within walking distance and anywhere you want in London is easily accessible in 30 minutes or less.

My only complaints are the sink in my bathroom was leaky and I do think the walls could stand a fresh coat of paint. However, at £184 for 4 nights, I can't complain too much.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

I stayed for three days in a twin room and the experience was really positive. The location is very good, close to three Tube lines (District, Central and Circle) and there are several places to eat nearby, like pubs, and fast food places. The staff is really nice, always very polite and the check in was quick (I had booked the room online).

My room was in the ground floor, it was not spacious, but it was clean and the beds were very good. There was Wi-fi in the room, charged (1 pound for 1 hour or 5 pounds for 24 hours), and it was not really good, really slow most of the time. The bathroom was also small, but the shower was really good. I think it is a very good option if you are visiting London and don't want to spend too much with accomodation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Located after a few quiet turns in a decent neighborhood, the LHH is a value-for-money establishment. It is basically a no-frills place and you will find travelers here without specific plans or fixed itineraries.

They have the kind of amenities that you would associate with a backpacking hotel such as internet in the lobby, game room and vending machines that disperse coffee. The breakfast served here is decent and priced reasonably well.

I stayed in the dorms but got a glimpse of the rooms (Fully occupied at the time) and can say that it gets better as your budget improves. Even for a dorm, the room was clean and well maintained.

LHH is located in a neighborhood with plenty of shops and food outlets. Being near a mall helps in drawing some of the better crowd. It has some of the most awesome street food right around the corner, so if that's the kind you like it will make you happy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

The hotel is located 5 minuts walking from Bayswater underground station, so very convinient. Location great, you can find everything you need close there: restaurants, typical english pubs, grocery store, clothes store, souvenirs, money exchange, etc. Staff at the hotel was extremely helpfull and nice. A girl called Sabrina help us a lot, speaks English, Spanish and French. The only two problems were:
-They charge you a fee if you pay with credit card, even when i couldn't find on booking.com any information about that.
-When they called for us a cab going to railway station, front desk told us it was GBP 17, then, they told us it was GBP 18, but taxi driver charged us GBP 20.

Anyway, i'd stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHHM, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Thank you for writing your review about London House Hotel.
We are always pleased to learn that our guest are happy with their stay and with the service we offer. We aim to offer the best customer service possible to all our guests.
Regarding the credit card surcharge issue - it is written on each and every website or agent that we charge extra fee for credit card payment. On booking.com its is written under "important information" - The hotel will add a small additional cost to any payments made with a credit card (except UK debit cards). However we will ask booking.com to add it also in another section so it will not be missed.
Regarding the cab charges - we usually work with 2 company that give us the service and charge according to the price least. We investigated what went wrong in this case and it looks like the receptionist gave you the price for 2 guest only but you were actually 4. In any case i apologise for the wrong information we gave you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

The hotel was great also the location. The room was very clean and cute! We had a great time there and for sure on our next visit to London we are going to stay again at this hotel. The only poor thing was the breakfast...very very poor with not even the basics .

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHHM, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is great to know you enjoyed your stay and that you like the room and the services.
you have commented that the breakfast is very poor and doesn't have the basic, but we offer standard continental breakfast which actually includes more than the basic continental breakfast: 4 type breakfast cereals, toasted bread, honey, jam, Nuttela, mini croissants, hard boiled eggs, cheese, ham, yogurts, fruit salad, juices, coffee , tea, etc...
If you were serve less than this than i must apologise. In any case we are constantly making efforts to improve our services and we are also working on improving the breakfast even further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

London House hotel is a nice hotel with very reasonably priced rooms for central London.

We stayed for 4 nights and had a triple room which had one double and 1 single bed - the room was clean and the beds very comfortable.

The rooms are small but not for London and we had enough space for the 3 of us and there was a small bar fridge also.

Only complaints we had was the bathroom was very hot so you couldn't spend much time in there (which when there is 3 of you getting dressed etc can cause a problem) and the tea cups were put back dirty each day not cleaned but other than that we had a great stay.

Great location and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHHM, Manager at London House Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Thank you for writing your review about London house hotel.
We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed you stay at London house Hotel.
i was surprised to read your comment regarding the tea cups as when the housekeeping team clean the room on daily basis they usually wash the cups. I am sorry if your cups has not been clean and i can assure you we will check this matter and make sure that all housekeeping team are aware of this issue.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to London House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London House Hotel

Address: 81 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#210 Business Hotel in London
#249 Family Hotel in London
#304 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — London House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming , newly renovated Hotel in Central London situated in a quiet and charming street The London House Hotel overlooks a leafy Victorian park in the exclusive Bayswater area and offers the excellent combination of both comfort and affordability in a prime location in central London. All room are newly renovated with contemporary décor. All rooms have air condition, TV, safe, mini fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your London House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Hotel
London House Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.