We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel? More like Hostel!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court to your Saves list
Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23-33 Lillie Road, London SW6 1UG, England (Hammersmith / Fulham)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #961 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Hotel? More like Hostel!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My partner booked here as we needed a last min stay after booking to see a show for my birthday, he got it a deal down to £60 from £100 for the one night! To me this price was even steep let alone the original price! (We stayed last year in a Hilton in Birmingham for £35).
We got to the hotel which is only less than two mins walk from West Brompton station, outside looks shabby, the flags hanging outside look as though they'd been out to sea a few times. The Lobby was nice enough however did smell like toilets?? We booked in and went up to our room, it's like a ship corridor, maybe that explains what with the flags? The room was cramped and very basic looking, old fashioned. The tea and coffee supplies were dirty covered in tea stains, clearly weren't taken after the last people's stay. My partner asked to change rooms and they had us a second room, ever so slightly bigger. The wall paper was hanging off in areas, curtains weren't hung properly on the rail and there was chocolate smeared over the bedside light?
The tv worked but the aerial wasn't good picture or sound.
The bathroom was dirty looking, mildew on the tiles, rust and stains in the sink n bath. If they were cleaned on a daily basis there would be no mould? There was only one pillow each, not very plump, we called down to reception who said there were no extra pillows available, there was only an old blanket in the bottom of the wardrobe.
Breakfast was a "cooked full English" down in the basement, the dining room looked clean n nice enough, was given orange juice and tea or coffee, slice and a half each of toast with jam and marmalade. The cooked breakfast was one sausage, one bacon, beans and one fried egg. Not quite what we call a full English but it went down ok. We did request an extra sausage each and they did which was nice enough of them.

When my partner booked he believed it was a 3star however a few websites state it's a 2. This would make more sense. It's very very basic and could really do with a refurb. Certainly wouldn't go back, rooms seemed a lot nicer at travelodges and holiday inns we've stayed at previously, more room and a lot cleaner and smarter. Think they could really make this hotel a nice little stay if they tried, it's an ideal location but very tired and is more looking like a hostel than a hotel, not worth the price unfortunately.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    61
    115
    103
    230
See reviews for
72
119
50
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manteca, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It is a budget property and the location to the bus, train & tube stops is very convenient. The issue I had was with the bed linens. The bed only had 1 flat sheet over the mattress and it was not fitted, so parts of the mattress were showing. No mattress pad. The extra blanket that was stored in the bottom of the closet looked old and suspiciously unclean. Glad I didn't need it because I was afraid to touch it actually. I would not have used it. I did see one dried up dead bug. The bathroom with shower was clean and worked properly. I did hear another guest complaining to the front desk that the shower in his room was not working. The desk clerk in the evening was friendly and helpful. I would try a different Hotel next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed here as is located less than 2 minutes' walk from West Brompton tube station and the area has lots of pubs and restaurants which are close. Also it is opposite Earls Court so great if you are working there.
The room I had was basic, very small and had three beds cramped into it. The curtains were hanging off the track a little and there was no TV remote (I did request one from reception and this was provided straight away). But it was clean, the shower worked well (always a plus for me!) and quiet even though on a main road.

The breakfast was a pleasant surprise, full English offered and everything served at table as opposed to a buffet. Staff pleasant and helpful, made a lone traveller feel at home.

Summary: cheap (£65 per night B & B), clean, no frills whatsoever but did what it said on the tin. You can stay in London and not pay and arm and a leg!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

After reading the reviews I was a little concerned what to expect. A grou of us had booked to see a concert at Earls Court and the location of the hotel is just perfect for this, it is just a stones throw away.
The rooms are a little dated and to say the least, compact, but this was fine for a one night stay. I would have been a little disappointed had I had to stay longer.

The room was clean and tidy, the only critisizm is that the heating was on full and there was no way of turning the radiators dow so was uncomfortabally hot during the nigt.

I wiold be happy to stay again if I nneded to go to Earls Court purly for the location and value for money (£187.50) for four persons, this is a very good price for any London hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Simply Terrible, I am 43 years old, traveled a lot around Europe, visit london often and I must say that this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The room was in terrible condition all round, worn, small, dirty and no furniture whatsoever just stained beds. Breakfast was no better, very disappointed, I would not stay here if it was Free!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We booked this hotel before reading the reviews and was wondering what to expect on arrival , however it was not as bad as some suggest. we arrived by tube to West Brompton stn on the District line, 15 mins from city centre and walked just 2 mins to the hotel. The hotel is a little dated and due a refurb but the rooms are clean and just about big enough for a short sight seeing stay, it can be a little noisy if the room is near the road but didn't keep us awake. The restaurant is in the basement and again the room looks dated but the breakfast is good and the staff are helpful . We spent 3 nights here while we explored the London sights and enjoyed it, for the price you pay at this hotel don't expect the Hilton, be realistic its a budget 2 star hotel, but for the time you actually spend in the hotel, it's comfortable enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of hotel away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nice enough hotel. Very clean and close to underground for transport around London. The only things that let it down are breakfast is served to your table and wi-fi is £5 a day. Opposite bus depot which meant lots of noise through the night. But for what you pay in comparison to other London hotels it is ok for one night.

Room Tip: Ask not to be on main road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court

Address: 23-33 Lillie Road, London SW6 1UG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #961 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for cheap hotels in Kensington then Hotel Lily is THE place for you. Comfortable and only a minute’s walk from the West Brompton Tube Station, Hotel Lily aims to please with its cheap rooms and warm, attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lily London - Kensington/Earl's Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.