We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A club, not a hotel. And one of the best in London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home House

Home House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Home House
Save
You added Home House to your Saves list
20 Portman Square, London W1H 6LN, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #264 of 1,066 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A club, not a hotel. And one of the best in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Home House is quirky. It is for the "media" set and like Soho House, the Groucho, and the Hospital Club, it is special in its own way. The bars are great, the drinks are good (and strong), and you can combine the "old" clubhouse with the ultra modern one next door. The sleeping rooms are a sight to behold. Four poster beds, bathrubs with feet (!), you also get two decanters of gin and whisky.

People visiting Home House need to understand that this is a members club that makes its rooms available. It is not a traditional hotel. You visit Home House to visit a quirk club for people active in media, television, film and the creative arts. It is a special and different place.

Room Tip: The old rooms are amazing. They take you back to an earlier time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
11
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

On 12th June 2012, my husband and I tied the knot in Home House. I arrived at 12pm to have my hair done in our wedding suite (Newcastle suite). The staff were really helpful the whole time, even with the confusion of pre-wedding jitters. The food we ordered with room service arrived in a timely manner, and all of my bridesmaids were well looked after.

After the ceremony (in the Eating room, seating 90 people), we had a drinks reception in the Front Parlour. Our guests really enjoyed their surroundings, and the staff were not snooty at all. The main staircase made for a fantastic place to take photos, with the glass ceiling letting in light from above.

The Newcastle Suite was a huge suite, allowing plenty of space for 4 bridesmaids, myself, the hair stylist, videographer & photographer to hang around without stepping on each other's toes for over 2 hours. The bed was queen sized, and very comfortable. The view from the room was great, over Portman Square.

& in general, their creme brulee is the best in the city. Not stodgy, and in a shallow base with a light crispy top.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I had a lovely stay at home house. My room was charming and was a nice size. The bathroom on the other hand was unbelieveable!!!! The bathroom was huge with a large marble zodiac in the center and the water came out of a marble lion head. I felt like I had stepped back into roman times! The gym is nice as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I was invited during the Jubilee week-end as a guest and was hoping for a nice day so we could enjoy the barbecue and eat al fresco .....
Unfortunately as you probably know Mother Nature was not kind and it was a cool and breezy day; still we decided to brave the elements and eat outside. The wonderful staff turned on the heaters which was a good move.
Anyway I didn't give top marks for the food by itself - I am not sure any barbecue deserves that, but, as barbecues go there was a good choice of sausages, meats and fish on the grill. The salad and other accompaniments were perfectly adequate and also a decent wine selection was also available. Just the whole atmosphere was superb and full marks to all the staff who were as friendly and attentive as can be - this is the main reason for my high marks.
The house itself does have a relaxed clubby feel to it but by no means is it pompous or snobbish in any way at all.
Now I just have to see how I can become a member!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

The hotel has loads of charm, a very good location and great bars and restaurants within its premises. The lounge area is perfect for entertainment or just a quick dinner working with your laptop. Home House has the look and feel of a English club which have been updated to the requirements of the 21st century with great care to the small details that truly make a hotel stand out from the rest. The rooms are large by London standards and really feel homely. The only complaint is that staff and service doesn’t really live up towhat I would expect at that price but if you are not on a budget (its hard to claim maximum value for money) and not have very high demands on service (i.e the type of person that gives the hotel a bad review for having to wait 3 min to check in) you should defiantly try Home House even though that you after the initial passion has left may you notice that everything isn’t as perfect as you thought, still it is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building with a charming view of Portsman Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I had the pleasure of being invited to Home House last Friday by a friend and what a place it is!! An architectural masterpiece! We arrived around 7pm for some casual drinks at the Bison Bar and the atmosphere was already on top, great crowd with an ecclectic vibe made for a very interesting night to say the least! The cocktails were delicious, especially Portman's Delight, i highly recommend that one. The service was attentive, polite and very firendly- everything you would expect from a Private Members' Club. I certainly will make sure to visit the House again very soon, in my mind it is simply sublime!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

we visited the Home House for lunch as guests and I must say I was overwhelmed with the service and the quality of the food! Also the building is really magnificent and it offers various venues and menus for every occasion. I had the asparagus for starter, the lamb and pudding for main. I was amazed with the huge wine and champagne list! If u get the chance you just have to go, between shopping of course :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Home House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home House

Address: 20 Portman Square, London W1H 6LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in London
#215 Business Hotel in London
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Home House Hotel London
Home Hotel London
Home House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.