We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glendale Hyde Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Glendale Hyde Park Hotel to your Saves list
Glendale Hyde Park Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Devonshire Terrace, London W2 3DN, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #906 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Gosport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean and Central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Rooms are small, but very clean, and the beds are comfortable. Breakfast is good, but the dining room could do with being a bit bigger. Staff are fantastic, and couldn't do enough to help. All in all a good hotel for the price, and fantastic central location for getting around London.

Room Tip: We stayed at the front of the hotel, and the street is quite noisy with deliveries in the early hour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    32
    34
    34
    63
See reviews for
19
60
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

I stayed at the Glendale November for a city break with my mother and was seeking basic accommodation as I wouldn't be spending a lot of time in the hotel. The hotel was clean and the receptionist was friendly and helpful. The rooms were a little small however the overall stay was delightful with our towels being changed regularly etc. During our stay we visited winter wonderland at Hyde park which I fully recommend, ice kingdom is a must, the Dorchester hotel for afternoon tea which as lovely and did some Christmas shopping St oxford circus and of course Harrods!
Defiantly recommend London and the hotel for a short city break :)

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

If you want to keep fit book a room at the top, very basic but clean hotel near to Paddington. Breakfast room only has 3 tables so you need to make sure you get down when it starts or have a coat to sit outside. All the staff seem very friendly & room/ bathrooms are basic but clean.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

I booked a double room & stayed here during October half term - it must be the smallest double room ever to be found! I can't believe it wasn't even a real bed - it was a camp bed and thank goodness I stayed there alone - if I'd taken my other half I doubt we'd have even fitted in the bed together! Couldn't swing a cat in the room and the bathroom was the same. It was possibly the most uncomfortable night I have ever spent in a London hotel, shocking at the price they charge. Okay so it is in zone 1, close to Paddington station, which is a plus for anyone travelling from the SW of England like me, however I'd rather spend a bit more for some comfort. The breakfast was similarly not good - a few bits of bread, a toaster, some processed cheese and ham slices and some very over boiled eggs. Can't say I recommend this place, and to top it all the staff weren't ever so friendly. It was all a bit Fawlty Towers for my liking. If it was half the price I'd recommend it for backpackers but I paid £70 a night which is in my opinion seriously over priced - even for its central location.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

My teenage son & I just needed a bed for the night & this was perfect. The location was ideal; just five minuets walk from Paddington train & underground stations. Loads of local shops, restaurants, cafes, pubs etc.
We booked separate rooms and were given a choice of upstairs or downstairs. I asked which was quietest & chose upstairs. Knowing there was no lift.
Four flights of VERY narrow, shallow & twisting stairs. We only had a small back-pack which my son carried, so we were fine, but these stairs would have been a nightmare with a suitcase.
The room was small & clean but well equipped; TV, kettle etc., safe, fan, mirror, single beds made into one double, short hanging space & drawers.
The shower room was small but clean with towels, soap & body wash supplied. The shower was decent.
Our landing (the top floor) had 4 rooms. Apart from some youngsters coming in late, being generally loud & letting doors slam,(once) it was very quiet, especially being in the middle of London on a Halloween Friday night!
Breakfast was included. Continental buffet style. The room was small but they had an outside courtyard setup (the weather was great but imagine it would be a nightmare if raining or cold) It was packed & food kept running out with only one member of staff seeing to everyone's needs.

All in all, the place was clean, the staff friendly & helpful and the location was perfect.

Room Tip: No. 23 & 24 top of hotel. Small narrow stairs, no lift. Small rooms perfect for 1 but nowhere to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Small hotel with small and moderately clean rooms. Breakfast is ok. Our room was next to the luggage storage which meant lots of noise when guests were checking in or out. Staff was friendly. The hourly rate (2 pounds as far as i remember) for wifi is ridiculous in 2014 especially with room rates like in this hotel. Very well located though.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glendale Hyde Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Hyde Park Hotel

Address: 8 Devonshire Terrace, London W2 3DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #906 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glendale Hyde Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Glendale Hyde Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Hyde Park London
Hotel Glendale Hyde Park
Glendale Hyde Park Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glendale Hyde Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.