We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location for sightseeing. Friendly Managemenet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glendale Hyde Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Glendale Hyde Park Hotel to your Saves list
Glendale Hyde Park Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Devonshire Terrace, London W2 3DN, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #904 of 1,055 Hotels in London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good location for sightseeing. Friendly Managemenet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is situated in very good location if you visit London for sightseeing. Public transport and most visited tourist places are very good accessible from the hotel. Rooms are really small but well equipped. Hotel offers everything you need for short stay as a tourist. Breakfast were tasty. Hotel Manager was very helpful when dealing with our difficulties to arrange our trip. They made very good impression since beginning.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    27
    31
    30
    60
See reviews for
15
53
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First thing: it is not an hotel but a passable bad and breakfast.
If you searching for a real room and a real service, look another way.
The room was small, very small and dirty.
The best thing...was the big surprise at our arrive there.
My debit card, was not considered a debit card (no matter if everywhere else it is so, es. Ryanair) and so we had to pay the 3% more on the total price!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel:
The hotel is cheap and in need of some TLC - you feel this when you walk into the 'reception area' but it isn't entirely unpleasant. The staff are helpful enough, although we didn't need much from them.

Room:
We stayed in room 24 on the top floor, which meant many many flights of stairs. Not a place for someone who struggles with stairs or someone of larger dimensions (as some doors are quite narrow!). They've crammed many rooms into this place, so it was very small but had everything you would expect; a kettle, TV (reception give you the remote at check-in), safe, hairdryer, fridge. Bed was comfy enough but quite rickety. The room was clean overall but the en-suite shower tiles could've done with a good scrub as the grout was not clean.

Breakfast:
Consisted of cornflakes, bread (toaster was available) and jam, yoghurt, ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs, juice and watery tea and coffee. If I stayed again I would probably skip it to be honest as it wasn't great but at the most it's something to start the day. The breakfast room is tiny so it spills out into a covered yard at the back, which was okay in August but I wouldn't want to be there in winter!

We paid £45 B & b for the night and thought it was okay for the money as the bedding etc was clean and the location is pretty good. That's all we wanted really.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I just wanted a room for the night. I took the small single at £45 a night. For Central London it was sufficient.

The receptionist requested i left my key if you went out and getting back into the hotel only happened if there was someone on reception to let you back in.

The room was right at the top of the building so 4 flights of stairs with no lift.

Criticism of the room was that it was right next to a load banging door when other guests were getting it their rooms - no soft closing!

Also the curtains did not reach to the bottom of the window and the window did not close properly so there was traffic noise and early wake up due to light.

small single bed and small room but at least it was clean and tidy and had an ensuite. The tv didn't have a remote control but as the room was so small it didn't matter. At £45 a night I should not expect more.


Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel is fine. It's wat you get for the price you pay. It's an appropriate hotel for citytrips. You can stroll trough the city all day and just sleep there at night. Also they have a breakfast, not excellent, but a good starter of a busy day. Ofcourse there are bad sides of the hotel: the rooms are small, and you probably have to sit outside with breakfast. Put on a jacket and stop crying. Enjoy the money you can now use for a great lunch. The people were nice and helpfull and london is great (:

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

After reading reviews wasn't expecting much but pleasantly surprised bit dated when you walk in but on going to our room number 8 found a clean and refreshing room what more could you want for £67.50 in London ensuite new as we'll but cramped shower fantastic. People on front desk very accommodating also a luggage room great idea would use again if going to lords to watch cricket.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Will have a deal . worked in london , lovely family business . Basic but clean , tidy , small fridge , balcony , £90 a night , little nisa shop on the corner , next to paddington and victoria park .
Comfy but basic , didnt try breakfast , Many laundrettes and small pubs around .
Can be a bit noisy outside at night but world cup was on .
Parking wardens are the lowest , they pretend to give you 20 mins be careful .

Good parking £84 whole week bell rd , Rain and co . to of edgware rd ....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glendale Hyde Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Hyde Park Hotel

Address: 8 Devonshire Terrace, London W2 3DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #904 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glendale Hyde Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glendale Hyde Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Hyde Park London
Hotel Glendale Hyde Park
Glendale Hyde Park Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glendale Hyde Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.