We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is - a cheap budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glendale Hyde Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Glendale Hyde Park Hotel to your Saves list
Glendale Hyde Park Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Devonshire Terrace, London W2 3DN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #880 of 1,052 Hotels in London
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It is what it is - a cheap budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Hotel:
The hotel is cheap and in need of some TLC - you feel this when you walk into the 'reception area' but it isn't entirely unpleasant. The staff are helpful enough, although we didn't need much from them.

Room:
We stayed in room 24 on the top floor, which meant many many flights of stairs. Not a place for someone who struggles with stairs or someone of larger dimensions (as some doors are quite narrow!). They've crammed many rooms into this place, so it was very small but had everything you would expect; a kettle, TV (reception give you the remote at check-in), safe, hairdryer, fridge. Bed was comfy enough but quite rickety. The room was clean overall but the en-suite shower tiles could've done with a good scrub as the grout was not clean.

Breakfast:
Consisted of cornflakes, bread (toaster was available) and jam, yoghurt, ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs, juice and watery tea and coffee. If I stayed again I would probably skip it to be honest as it wasn't great but at the most it's something to start the day. The breakfast room is tiny so it spills out into a covered yard at the back, which was okay in August but I wouldn't want to be there in winter!

We paid £45 B & b for the night and thought it was okay for the money as the bedding etc was clean and the location is pretty good. That's all we wanted really.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    35
    46
    38
    69
See reviews for
23
69
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I just wanted a room for the night. I took the small single at £45 a night. For Central London it was sufficient.

The receptionist requested i left my key if you went out and getting back into the hotel only happened if there was someone on reception to let you back in.

The room was right at the top of the building so 4 flights of stairs with no lift.

Criticism of the room was that it was right next to a load banging door when other guests were getting it their rooms - no soft closing!

Also the curtains did not reach to the bottom of the window and the window did not close properly so there was traffic noise and early wake up due to light.

small single bed and small room but at least it was clean and tidy and had an ensuite. The tv didn't have a remote control but as the room was so small it didn't matter. At £45 a night I should not expect more.


Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel is fine. It's wat you get for the price you pay. It's an appropriate hotel for citytrips. You can stroll trough the city all day and just sleep there at night. Also they have a breakfast, not excellent, but a good starter of a busy day. Ofcourse there are bad sides of the hotel: the rooms are small, and you probably have to sit outside with breakfast. Put on a jacket and stop crying. Enjoy the money you can now use for a great lunch. The people were nice and helpfull and london is great (:

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

After reading reviews wasn't expecting much but pleasantly surprised bit dated when you walk in but on going to our room number 8 found a clean and refreshing room what more could you want for £67.50 in London ensuite new as we'll but cramped shower fantastic. People on front desk very accommodating also a luggage room great idea would use again if going to lords to watch cricket.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Will have a deal . worked in london , lovely family business . Basic but clean , tidy , small fridge , balcony , £90 a night , little nisa shop on the corner , next to paddington and victoria park .
Comfy but basic , didnt try breakfast , Many laundrettes and small pubs around .
Can be a bit noisy outside at night but world cup was on .
Parking wardens are the lowest , they pretend to give you 20 mins be careful .

Good parking £84 whole week bell rd , Rain and co . to of edgware rd ....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

But I was quite happy with our room, yes small but adequate. Very quiet and clean. Nice light breakfast to start the day. We were able to leave our luggage there while out and about on our last day. Very handy to Paddington station. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Glendale Hyde Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Hyde Park Hotel

Address: 8 Devonshire Terrace, London W2 3DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #880 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glendale Hyde Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Budget Places, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Glendale Hyde Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Hyde Park London
Hotel Glendale Hyde Park
Glendale Hyde Park Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glendale Hyde Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.