We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glendale Hyde Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Glendale Hyde Park Hotel to your Saves list
Glendale Hyde Park Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Devonshire Terrace, London W2 3DN, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #913 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Yukon, Oklahoma
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Adequate Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great location. Close to Paddington Station and Hyde Park. Nice lady at front desk. No lift and lots of stairs! Very small but clean room. Linens were clean but quite worn. Breakfast included in a very small breakfast area with only 3 small tables.
Doesn't have free wifi which should be standard everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    32
    34
    34
    63
See reviews for
19
60
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a truly awful hotel.

I had to stay here for two nights recently and couldn't wait to get out.

My room was unclean with stains on the curtains and on the bed and paint was flaking on the window frames. The double room could only just fit in the double bed. The temperature at night (centrally regulated) was so hot that I had to sleep with the window wide open which meant I had to listen to passing traffic.

It's not even particularly cheap.

The worst hotel experience of my life. Avoid!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Another Tube strike threatened - last time I had a four hour commute home. I needed a cheap room near to where I work in London.

£45 a night - I was really not looking forward to it but ,,,,,guess what? It was not bad at all! Tiny little single room with an en-suite, tea making facilities, fridge, TV, all shoe horned in. Nice touch was the little fan as the room was right at the top and could have been stuffy on a really hot day. Best point was, it was all spotlessly clean.

True, the breakfast was not great but I was happy enough to grab a couple of pieces of toast and a boiled egg. It was a bit noisy from 11 to midnight with door banging as people returned to their rooms. There was some street noise as my room faced the street, it is central London!!

I would definitely go for this place again if I just wanted somewhere to lay my head overnight.

Room Tip: SO long as you are fit and strong (no lift) ask for a room on a high floor. There is not much sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Main reason to visit this hotel is the location. Nice area, good walking distance to Paddington Train station.
The Hotel itself is average.
Positive: Quiet. Good location. Provides breakfast.
Negative: The smell at the reception as soon as you arrive. Key access for just one people, leaving it at the reception like in the old days. Overall willing to chat and interact from the staff.
Stairs: No elevator available.
Would I go back? Maybe, depending on the budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend while visiting London, the location is great quite central and near a tube station and the building itself is in a lovely area. The rooms are absolutely tiny but clean and fit for purpose (and price considering it's London) the only real downfall is the breakfast room which is a bit of a joke with just three tables, found it slightly uncomfortable eating when I queue of other parties and crammed in the doorway waiting for a seat looking at you awkwardly as if to hurry up. All in all fine for you pay for just very small rooms and poor breakfast facilities.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

I am too stunned to even begin. A mouse ran across my bed under the wardrobe. Manager refused to believe me unless I could provide a picture. I run back upstairs with my iPhone and try to take a picture but as mice don't tend to make a habit of hanging around for a photo shoot it proved difficult. The manager proceeded to scream and explain that unless I could provide proof I was to stay in that room. I point blank refused. The room had 3 mouse traps on the floor, managers response 'that is not for mice it is for the cockroaches' oh .. Well that's reassuring! She finally gave in and gave me another room after accusing me of lying to essentially get 'an on suite room'. I have attached pictures of this 'nightmare in paddington'. Avoid like the plague... Unless you feel like catching it. I emailed the manager my training manual on customer service free of charge. I only hope she reads it and uses it!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

My partner asked for a ground floor room as I am disabled, there were 16 steps up to get into and out of the room. The room booked was a double! We got a small room with 2 single metal framed beds pushed together, the only way that they stayed together was the bottom sheet that we tucked in. Another sheet was left on the bed for us to put on ourselves, when we shook it out it had quite a large stain on it that looked like blood... Yuk. The bathroom was teeny tiny, we couldn't sit on the loo without our knees touching the sink, had to be a contortionist to use it, again not much use to someone who has a disability. The actual shower was lovely, it worked well and was nice and hot. The shower tray looked dirty around the plug area, nothing a bit of cillit bang wouldn't clean up, and the silicon around the base of the tray could do with refreshing. There were urine stains on the top of the toilet roll holder. Also, no plug in the very small sink.
To get to the breakfast room we had to go down from the room to the basement, more stairs, even as a continental breakfast the offerings were quite dire.
When we checked out, the man that checked us in was leaving before us and promptly shut the door in my face without a word, nice.
Needless to say we won't ever be staying there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glendale Hyde Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Hyde Park Hotel

Address: 8 Devonshire Terrace, London W2 3DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #913 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glendale Hyde Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Glendale Hyde Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Hyde Park London
Hotel Glendale Hyde Park
Glendale Hyde Park Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glendale Hyde Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.