We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glendale Hyde Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Glendale Hyde Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glendale Hyde Park Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Devonshire Terrace, London W2 3DN, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #887 of 1,073 hotels in London
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Clean, comfortable budget hotel just round the corner from Paddington Station. Absolutely nothing wrong with it assuming you expect the normal issues with hotels of this quality in this price bracket (basic facilities, paper thin walls, etc). Good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    26
    26
    29
    55
See reviews for
14
45
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011 via mobile

Stayed a night there after attending a work function. Great location, and I guess it was ok for what I needed anyway but it's certainly not a place you would take the wife or the mistress along to stay at.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011 via mobile

Brilliant location, room was cramped for two but your in London all you do is sleep in it! Good value for what we paid it did the job and was clean. If you want 5* then pay for it!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsh,CO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Just spent a week in this hotel. It is small, but very adequate. Small ensuite bathroom with wonderful modern shower. Small refrigerator in the room, plus coffee maker & cups, etc. My granddaughter and I just spent a week in this small, but comfy hotel. If you are spoiled, you won't like it, but if you just want a convenient place to sleep that is close to several tube stations and Paddington Nat'l Rail (Heathrow Express/Connect), this is the place for you. A small breakfast room in the basement with several toasters and lots of bread, butter, jams & marmalade, hard boiled eggs, cheese, corn flakes & milk, plus coffee & tea. No elevator, so you have to hike up the stairs, but that's good for you!! It was fun and clean and quiet.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #15 - 2nd floor. Good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Okay location, but that's about it.
You couldn't actually sit on the toilet as the sink was in the way. Signs of Damp/wet walls.
Tried to blaim problems with their payment system on my credit card, although it worked just fine. Generally unfriendly attitude from employees. Sheet on double bed were two single sheets sown together.
No correlation between price and value, you can find much better for that price in London.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We were unlucky enough to be one of the many people who booked through 1800hotels.ie days before they filed for bankrupcy protection. Unsure if our booking was in tact we began to panic. After being first told by our hotel that the reservation was confirmed, we found out the day before we travelled that our reservation had been cancelled. We searched for another hotel, confident that at such short notice we should get a good deal on another hotel, We came across the Glendale Hyde Park Hotel's site. It looked small but well maintained and ideally located. The site boasted of it's "first class accommodation" and "warm and friendly welcome to all guests". We were to be very disappointed. Upon our arrival, we were barely greeted by a man who seemed more concerned by the television program he was engrossed in. After 5-6 minutes of searching for our reservation, he eventually found it and informed us that although the room was ready, we were 45 minutes before their agreed checkin time so we would have to come back. When we came back, we were brought to a room in the basement floor of the hotel. the room consisted of a bed and a bathroom. No window and a door linking it to the next room (we would later discover that this door allowed us to hear every breath of the guests next door). Breakfast (included in the rate we paid) consisted of toast, filter coffee, orange juice or cold hard-boiled eggs. The breakfast room was similar to hostels I have stayed in over the years. I might add at this stage that we certainly did not pay hostel prices!! Upon leaving, the man at the desk (not the same as on our arrival) looked up at us and said goodbye (again, engrossed in whatever was on the tv). While we were grateful to get a hotel with a reasonable rate at such short notice, this hotel is nothing short of false advertising and failed promises. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Spare yourself, please. No matter how cheap the rooms are it's not worth it. My room was covered in stains of varying ominous shades of bodily fluid on the bed head, curtins, and covers. None of the bathrooms had a toilet brush in them and it was clear that they hadn't been touched for months. I presume from looking at the website and previous reviews that it was once run very well but that it no longer the case I'm afraid. I slept on the floor of my friend's bedroom with a chair against the door. Need I say more.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glendale Hyde Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Hyde Park Hotel

Address: 8 Devonshire Terrace, London W2 3DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Hotel Style:
Ranked #887 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glendale Hyde Park Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Glendale Hyde Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Hyde Park London
Hotel Glendale Hyde Park
Glendale Hyde Park Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glendale Hyde Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.