We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown camping - it works!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzroy Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fitzroy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzroy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   41 Fitzroy Street, London W1T 6DZ, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #395 of 522 London B&B and Inns
Stockholm, sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Downtown camping - it works!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Don't expect anything but the simplest of standards. But if you are prepared for camping-like conditions this hotel is perfect for the all-day shopper due to its perfect location - you can easily sneek away from Oxford street, leave your heavy bags and be back in the shops in less than 20 minutes. The internet connection was super and who wants to watch TV anyway? The shower worked and the staff was very friendly.
Minor warning, though: the hotel took the liberty of replacing our two smaller rooms with one larger. This suited us perfect (also saving us the cost of the second room), but it may not go well with you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    27
    20
    73
See reviews for
32
26
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Not the easiest hotel to find. Looks like any other of the victorian houses in the area. Once we found the hotel we were not greeted by a grand entrance but a closed front door, afte ringing the door bell twice the door was opened and we were ushered in. We were then taken through a very tired looking hall and down some stairs to the basement. On staying in a few hotels around the country I'm quite sure any damage to carpet needs to be repaired / replaced, not so in this so called hotel the carpet is torn and very faded on a curved stairway... Then we were asked into this small 'office' in the basement, asked when we booked and how we were going to pay. Not the best of welcomes.
The room carried on this poor service and quality. Ground floor room excellent we thought... Dirty carpet very 40's / 50's decor and not touched since, the toilet was clean but light fitting hanging down from this addition to the room, not good, after a long trip I tried the shower, I think thats what it was, after two minites I had to get out as the water was not draining away and about to flood through the make shift shower, TV didn't work, no proper tuning, the aerial was bigger than the TV!! Good point the sheets were clean... Location was excellent for our trip to the West End. On arrival I was so dissapointed that we spent the first half hour in the room and left. We spent the night here, to be fair the bed was comfortable, don't know how clean as I was scared to look. Breakfast.... Full English breakfast as you've never seen before, 2 slices of toast in the middle of a plate with 1 rasher of bacon at one side 1 egg the other a spoon full of baked beans and 1 sausage... uuuummm Weatherspoons for breakfast then... If you are on a very tight budget for a hotel in london I suggest a cardboard box in a doorway before this place...£88 for one night .... spend a little more and have a little quality..... avoid this place like the plague..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

I paid £80.00 pounds for a double room, Bed was more like a big single, room very small the chair in the room had to be moved to get in to the bathroom. loo pan was really
stained. location was the best thing. Parking was on the road at £9.60 for two hours.
I will never stay at this so called hotel again I would sleep in the car first.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

It was a very nice experience for me and my family.The hotel is very clean ,have very good breakfastand the location is in the heart of the city.When we arrive in the hotel i was a little bit scare because i read so many bad comments but i have an absolutli big surprise the hotel is very clean and very friendly staff the owner is very helpful and cainde person.Good location

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Myself and 4 other people stayed at this hotel for one night we booked two rooms however when we turned up this was not the case all 5 of us where put into the same room which we later found out was because another couple had complained about the dirtyness of their room and they were given our second room! the lady that showed us the room gave us the key and then dissapeared. the room was filthy, a wondow was cracked all the way through it and the other window was broken, the nets were black at the bottom from dust and dirt, none of us could use the shower as we would probably of come out dirtier than when we went in also it was being held up by a pole! there were nails randomly stiking out of the wall, there was half a roll of toilet roll between 5 people! the carpet was coming up, there was no duvet covers on the duvets they were wrapped in sheets! we had 5 people 4 cups and 3 tea bags, holes in the wall, lightswitch was off the wall! THEN to make things worse we went down to breakfast in the morning hoping that it would be better than the room but was very dissapointed to find that the waitress was smoking in the kitchen and the english breakfast was stone cold, the sausage was undercooked and the beans had hair in them and when we complained to the manager they couldnt care less!! and they charge 100 pound for a room!! this was by far the worst hotel i have ever seen in my entire life and we were not the only group that thought so!! a complete waste of anyone money!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Stayed here with 4 friends on a weekend away in london... firstly we couldnt find the hotel, it is not clearly signposted and looks like ab average house from the outside. once we located the place, we rang the doorbell severla times before someone answered. not the best of welcomes either. me and my three friends were not taken to a check in desk but asked to go downstairs and into a back office where a waman was waiting to check us in.. we had booked a quad room with a bathroom but she wanted to put us in a triple and a single to which we refused.

The room was big granted and the beds were comfy but that was about it.. it was boiling hot with heating on full blast and no way to turn it down, we had a tv with no signal and the room was quite shoddy in appearence(not at all like the pictures)

breakfast was horrible, we ordered from the table and even though guests came in after us we were made to wait while they received their breakfast first. when it did come the lady apologised and said it was busy... there are 5 tables in the dining room... the breakfast itself was cheap tasting, my friend had the continental and her toast wasnt even toasted more like warm bread.

Location is ok, warren street underground is close with a short trip to the centre..

Ok on a small budget but i wouldnt stay there again

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

then this isn't the worst place. The room itself could definitely have done with a coat of paint. There was no alarm clock or lamp. The windows look out onto a dingy courtyard. There was no cover on the light in the bathroom and a hole in the ceiling was letting in cold air. There was a small television in the room, but it didn't get any channels. On the plus side, the bed linen was crisp and clean, and the room in general was clean enough; I didn't feel disgusted or anything. The common sitting area was really nice and as the last reviewer notes, the wifi internet and free to use computer were a huge plus. The staff I interacted with, especially the many who first let me in and showed me the room was really friendly. The location is ideal. I'm not sure if I'd go there again but as long as your expectations aren't too high, then you won't have the experience shouldn't be too traumatic.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitzroy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy Hotel

Address: 41 Fitzroy Street, London W1T 6DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #395 of 522 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzroy Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fitzroy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzroy Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzroy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.