We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks better in pictures than in reality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairway Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairway Hotel to your Saves list
Fairway Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EJ, England (Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Looks better in pictures than in reality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week of October 2012. The staff are nice and helpful and they allowed us to leave our luggage at the lobby because our room wasn't ready and when we checked out. Other than that the hotel is what I would very politely call a "dump". The room was very small and it had a strange smell right outside which wasn't very pleasant. The bathroom was even smaller. There was no view - the windows looked out into other roofs and an alley. It's okay if you just use it to sleep. It wasn't a room I looked forward to after a long day sightseeing. The breakfast wasn't great either. The only good thing is it is just outside King's Cross station and the price is cheap. You get what you pay for. I won't be going back to this hotel and I wouldn't recommend it either.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    179
    72
    30
    15
See reviews for
78
108
41
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Have been there for a two-week business trip based on referral from the host institution. The first thing i liked that was there prompt communication when encountered some problem with online reservation and i got the booking just after writing one email. Best thing of the hotel is, it is right on Euston Road, within fifty yards of Camden exit of King's Cross station and nice staff at tiny reception. It is a family run business, a nice Italian gentleman always responded to all my needs.
Rooms are too small, in fact, as i was travelling with a large suitcase and faced a trying time to put my suitcase in place. Otherwise the small room was clean except a few problem in washroom, such as adjustment of hot and cold water was a headache and on most of the days i either ended with a chilled shower or a negotiate with boiling water.
Breakfast was good but that was typical English breakfast, means same menu for 13 days.
However, this is not a complain, as i wanted to stay in a decent place close to British Library and i got it. Compared to size of the room and service price-tag is little steep, about GBP 60 - 70 everyday, but you can save a lot from travelling as it is next to King's Cross and if you are working around Euston then you can simply walk to the office. Isn't it great, if you are a lazy person like me.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Camden City Council office as the road is too noisy, especially in weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Didn't expect first class but did expect better from my visit to The Fairway.
Arrived at this hotel to see notice on door advising me that I have to register at a hotel across the road. There the receptionist was pleasant and handed a key to both the fron door and our bedroom at the Fairway.
Inside that hotel we walked up very narrow staircases with old carpets and dreadful worn/discoloured plastic faced panels on the side walls. The room lock is a standard rim lock with no deadlock facility when you leave the room.
Inside the room the beds were clean and most of the room was. There was a tv with a non working remote control, (the TV built in controls didn't work well either), and Tea/Coffee making facilities.
Bathroom was as clean as the old design and materials allowed but the shower was broken, (and impossible to control without scalding or freezing water in the same shower), toilet seat old and broken fastenings, the wash basin tap constantly dripped.
The hotel does has WiFi and a good breakfast, (for the price), was served by very pleasant staff but wood table was sticky and needed a good clean.
Over all, Fairway is very conveniently situated if you want good access to/from Kings Cross or St Pancras on a cheap budget but there are many better hotels with equally good access.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clwyd
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

As an overnight stop for catching the euro star...there is no better venue set in in quiet(ish) street across the road from St Panc's station. Clean rooms and good staff with a helpful attitude at a fair(ish) price.

Coffee and tea on hand and good tv. No life outside the room though. This is what you have bought!

Not however a place for a romantic weekend stay or a stop over of several days. A quality bed and breakfast with a young clientele and rushed manner. Safe and secure it knows its role well.

Room Tip: Check the room before you accept it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I lodged in fairway hotel in london in the last week of October 2012, and even though the hotel is quite very well located in the London city central area and the price of the room I ot was quite good, the room is far too small to enjoy any form of comfort.

It is almost embarrassing, because it looks like living in a match box, and certainly has no space for visitors, if you have the courage to invite anyone there. Furthermore, the breskfadt timing is officially too inadequate for international travellers and clients like me. Breakfast was served from 6.30 am to 9.30am daily and even where breakfast ends t 10 am, it is a challenge or holiday maker like me.

Finally, the lack of assistance to haul your heavy luggage from the reception to the 2nd floor in a very small space and staircase is very difficult. You also have to accross the road to the reception to get your room paid for and keys collected. My summary of the hotel is that I has no personal touch to it, you know clearly that you are in a commercial facility and on your own too. The price and the location are the advantages, but the room size and services are quite poor.

Regards

Mgbarasa

Room Tip: Find a bigger room than I got, any room bigger than mine and is en suite should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Me and my wife visited London from Germany on a 3 day short holiday . We were very pleased with all that this B&B offered. The double room was small with an ensuite also small . Having said that it was imaculately clean and modern. There was tea& coffee provided for in the room .We found the staff very helpfull and polite.Breakfast ( full English for me & continental for my German wife ) was fresh and tasty .Best of all was the location . Being only a one minute walk to Euston road & Kings Cross station we found that we could catch a bus to go to all of the main attractions in London. We thought that being that close to the main road would cause a problem with noise at bed time . Actually it was very quiet , we could hear nothing of the traffic .If I was to realy nit pick I would say the bed was tad hard , but my wife slept soundly so I suppose we are all different in that respect. I would definately recomend this B&B and would stay there again should we ever feel the need to visit London .

Room Tip: If you are suffering from any sort of disability try to get a room on the ground floor as there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Really impressive value for money. Kind and attentive staff. Brilliant breakfast served by a particularly nice lady. Perfect base to explore London. Would definitely stay again. And would recommend to those wanting to stay in London whilst on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Address: 15 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fairway Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and comfortable family run B&B hotel. Excellent location in front of Kings Cross, St Pancras international stations. Direct links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Luton airports. Rooms en suite or economy include English breakfast, tea/coffee making, free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.