We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quad room is tiny! Same with bathroom. Noise from sidewalk even till wee hours of morning. But so near kings cross station!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairway Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fairway Hotel to your Saves list
Fairway Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EJ, England (Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 535 London B&B and Inns
singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quad room is tiny! Same with bathroom. Noise from sidewalk even till wee hours of morning. But so near kings cross station!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Quad room is tiny! Same with bathroom. Noise from sidewalk even till wee hours of morning.and there are no lifts in the hotel. Big problem if u have big luggage and u are short! But it is so near kings cross station! Less than 5 mins walk and just across the main Euston road. They provided a good hearty breakfast and the staff are all very pleasant and accomodating.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    179
    72
    30
    15
See reviews for
78
107
41
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Fantastic for overnight stay and early eurostar. Takes less than 5 minutes from Kings Cross. Would definately stay again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have read some reviews saying that it was value for money. The problem is, it wasn't value for money AT ALL for us. We paid 210£ for 2 nights.
The room was like a shoebox. They had this one chair that was disgusting. See the pic i sent. Seriously, change that chair, can't be so expensive!
The light on the room was blickering all the time. Soo annoying. The reception is on the other side of the road so it wasnt worth it to go get someone when on my PJ's.
The bathroom was soo tiny and it smelled soo bad!
However, on the positive, the sheets and towels were clean, the floors were clean. The chair ruined it. For real, change it.
The breakfast: It was a full british breakfast which i am sure its appreciated by many.The problem with breakfast was the breakfast room itself. It was tiny and was sooo warm and smelling of fried food that made it unbearable to sit there and eat. We didnt eat in the second day. the smell was awful and it was too warm.

I have stayed for MUCH CHEAPER in other hotels central, with much higher standard than this. But this is what you are left with when you book last minute. Next time i will pay more or stay a little bit further away from the city.

I have to add, the STAFF on reception was nice and helpful. Specially Wilson (i hope i remember his name correctly) was incredibly helpful and always had a smile on his face. Such places need good staff to compensate for their flaws.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

As someone who regularly stays in budget hotels around the King's Cross and Bloomsbury area I can say with experience that this is a very good place to stay. In general I prefer to avoid the hotels that offer breakfast as I end up paying for something I know I won't eat - hence why I tend to stay at the Wardonia down the end of Argyle St. The breakfasts in these hotels tend to be very cheap and not so cheerful, plus there is little flexibility with time, and you are forced to watch other people forlornly poking some [--] sausage around on a plate. People, please take my advice: Book yourself into somewhere where you do not have to pay for breakfast, and then head out to find somewhere amazing for some brunch in the Covent Garden and Soho areas of London. There is so much incredible food in London, it is madness to fill your stomach with the dreadful cheap hotel breakfasts.

With regards to the room, it is difficult to judge as I put in what was clearly a double-room en-suite, rather than what I booked, which was a single-room with a shared bathroom. Having seen the travelers photos I can tell that the single rooms are very small, which is typical and expected for this area at this price. So I was very happy with my room, that seemed spacious and well equipped, plus it had a kettle and cups which useful. The other bonus was that, despite being on the ground floor, the room was remarkably quiet, with none of the through-wall shouting, and stair stomping vibrations that you get at some places.

This is a well placed hotel, that is both clean and quiet. It was better than most of the budget hotels I have stayed in around the King's Cross area (the Euro hotel in particular), and I would say that it was generally better than the Wardonia. I don't like that I had to pay for a breakfast I never had, but that is the way things go in this part of London. I would certainly stay here again, but I'm not sure if the single room would be too cramped.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I have to agree entirely with the previous review, only stay there because it's close to Saint Pancras/Kings Cross. Wouldn't stay more than one night, actually wouldn't stay there again unless I couldn't find anything else. The room was way too small, the bathroom door didn't open fully because the bed was in the way. Didn't get to sample breakfast, train left too early.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

But the room was horrible. Very small (to be expected in London). A wierd step up to the bathroom where the toilet leaked from the bowl into the shower. So you had to step in it because that was where you had to stand for the sink too. The bathroom was really really bad. But the employees were all very cheerful and the free breakfast was good. I would never stay more than one night here...and only because it's so close to the Eurostar.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth Uk
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This excelent hotel, with its sister hotel ( Central Hotel) on the other side of the road, is opposite King Cross, St Pancras station making it an ideal place to stay prior to going to France via the Eurostar train.
The Hotel is a little old fashioned, but clean and tidy and plenty of signs of on going improvements and re-furbishment. It is obvious that the owners try hard to keep this old building up to scratch.
The rooms are adequate in size and ours had a really nice on suite shower room.
The beds were comfortable. There was tea and coffee making facilities and a flat screen TV in the room - and the remote worked too.
Great breakfast
Great value for money.
I would recomend this hotel to anyone looking for a trip to London and somewhere to stay without feeling ripped off.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Address: 15 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fairway Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and comfortable family run B&B hotel. Excellent location in front of Kings Cross, St Pancras international stations. Direct links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Luton airports. Rooms en suite or economy include English breakfast, tea/coffee making, free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.