We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Central Hotel to your Saves list
Central Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16-18 Argyle Street, Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EG, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Malta
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel twice and i never found anything to complain about. The location is simply great, just opposite Kingscross/St. Pancras station which is very central. Its location makes it also very easy to travel to and from airport. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and room was very clean. The rooms are small, as in any other budget hotel in london, but are comfortable enough. Shops, pharmacy, restaurants and pubs are all within short walking distance. It is great value for money and will definitely consider it for my next trip to London.

Room Tip: I would suggest an ensuite room and also to ask for a ground floor room if available as there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    134
    87
    42
    32
See reviews for
67
108
43
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Booked a double room in advance of our planned weekend in London with a Saturday overnight stop. We chose this area because we were travelling to and from Euston and going out in the evening to North Islington so the location is ideal as just across the road from St. Pancras and Kings Cross and only a 20 minutes walk to Oxford Street.
The reception area was under going refurbishment and the "double" room and bed was very small as was the shower room. However it was reasonably comfortable and quiet and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Full English Breakfast was basic but edible (good coffee). Would not recommend a stay for more than 2 nights but ok for an overnight sleep over.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with bf this year wasn't really happy with place staff nice but place was tiny and room had no bathroom which was big turn off ,was like a hostel which didn't feel very comfortable with,boyfriend didn't like it either , real dirty looking

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Central Hotel, 16-18 Argyle Street, Kings Cross London: that is the address you want to forget if you are going to London even for a short weekend! It is just across St Pancrass international, a steady income of people assured, so why such a miserable place desguised as a "family run" budget hotel?
I was stuck in it, having forgotten how difficult it would be to get along with lugagge- even tough so small- trying to find something else in a sunny London week end..So there I was, astounded not only with the poor conditions of the hotel on its whole,impossibility of having breakfast due to lack os space in the so called cafeteria room - good that Costa was across the road- and impression of non existence of the client by the male crew gathered in this smaller than a pea lobby.Trip advisor should try to avoid stamping a seal of quality for this kind of scam. A I think I am speaking on behalf of some desperate people I met in there.
Now, coming by train, the location is absolutely superb, you are 3 minutes walk distance from the station.But is it worth 207 pounds for a 3 night stay ? With no breakfast?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The rooms are a bit small, and the bathrooms are tiny, but the welcome was great and the breakfast service was friendly and efficient, with full English breakfast and a small choice of cereals and cold meats and cheese. Toast and orange juice were delivered without being requested. As other reviewers have said, the location is good as its only a minute from king's Cross St Prancras, so an ideal place to stay if you have a late train or need an early getaway. Despite the location, and the work going on in a neighbouring property, we didn't suffer from any noise, and the trees outside helped ensure privacy in the rooms. Stayed during the Olympics when prices were no doubt inflated, so this affects the value for money rating.

Room Tip: No lift and narrow stairs, so request a lower level room if you don't like stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I chose this hotel because it's just a 5 minute walk to Kings Cross railway station. On arrival after my 13hr flight to Heathrow landing at 5.00 am, I was disappointed to find that the hotel stuck rigidly to its 2pm check in time. I stowed my bags in the very modest office area and returned at 2.00pm.

My double room was big enough for the bed and thats about all and conditions were very basic. Despite that, the staff were very friendly and helpful and I actually began to enjoy the conditions returning there 3 times over 3 weeks after journeys elsewhere in Britain.

Unlike the more expensive hotels, the free WIFI was very fast and no nonsense. They give you the password and you're in without limitation. Breakfast was basic full English and palatable though not brilliant. The stairs are a bit of a hassle and there are no porters to help with the luggage.

Would I return? Sure would. It's cheap, comfortable, clean, friendly and the location is brilliant

Room Tip: No room choice is given
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had actually booked the Fairway Hotel across the road but on arrival we were allocated a room in Central. We had a room on the 4th floor which with no lift was quite a trek! However, the room was clean and just what we needed. Room had tv, storage and tea/coffee making facilities. The free breakfast was decent although the breakfast room was small and therefore we queued for a table and came out smelling of fried food. Nevertheless the breakfast we got was hot and a good start to the day.
Excellent location, across the road to Kings Cross which is great for the Eurostar (one of the reasons we chose it).
Service given at reception was polite and very helpful. In our room there was no hairdryer, so I mentioned this to reception and I got one straight away.
Good value for money and very handy location!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Address: 16-18 Argyle Street, Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central hotel is a family run bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of central London offering superb value for money accommodation. The hotel is situated barely a minutes walk from Kings Cross Tube Station, St Pancras international and offers easy access to all of London's tourist sights, shopping districts and theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.