We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Central Hotel to your Saves list
Central Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16-18 Argyle Street, Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EG, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Launceston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

excellent place. freindly, cheap, tidy. will definately be back. thanx!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    134
    87
    42
    32
See reviews for
67
108
43
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed here on two separate dates for a extended trip to the UK. Picked this place as we had an early morning train to Edinburgh. Minutes from Kings Cross and St Pancras (tubes and trains) which is quite nice when you have just been on an international flight and have luggage in tow. Check in was easy but getting to the fourth floor room was difficult as there is no lift and the stairs are narrow and crooked and there are many door you have to go thru. Breakfast was good we never had to wait but the room is small and I can see where there could be a problem. In one of the rooms we stayed in you could hear and feel the trains below you but it wasn't enough to bother me and I consider myself a light sleeper. The rooms are small and sparce. This isn't the RITZ but you can't beat it for price and location and free wi-fi and nice people are added bonuses

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

My room was small, though plenty of room for one person, and up four flights of quite narrow and slightly uneven stairs - fine for the fit, but could be difficult if you have mobility problems or a lot of luggage. Decor was fresh, fittings were of high quality and the room had a modern TV. Location was excellent, 2 mins from Kings Cross and St Pancras, but if you're a light sleeper like me you pay the price for this, as street-noise and the rumbling of the tube underneath can be heard through the night. Breakfast was slightly disappointing, sausages were extremely cheap and bacon was luke-warm, seemed to have been cooked on-mass and warmed up. However, on the whole for a Central London hotel you're not going to get a better deal. The cleanliness was exceptional, and the shower, though shared (which is what I paid for, en-suite was available), was extremely powerful, better than mine at home! If you're on a budget I would highly recommend the Central Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

the room was so tiny, the beds the smallest i've ever seen. The ensuite bathroom is located where it meant to be the closet, that means that you don't have any space to leave your clothes. The only advantage is the location and the breakfast, for which i had to wait in a queu since the breakfast room had only 4 tables! I'd suggest to go find another hotel

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

The Hotel is less than a stone's throw away from King's Cross/St Pancras stations so if you are just visiting London you have access to the major Underground lines. If you are travelling around the UK (or even to mainland Europe) there are also many trains.

The room was always clean and with WiFi access available (ie: not just in the main lobby). The breakfast was also quite good. I have stayed in quite a few hotels in my time and can safely say that this is the best one in its range.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

Our room was small and clean. The same person was at the front desk all 5 nights we stayed there and he was extremely helpful. He helped our son get to Stonehenge on New Years Eve on one of the last buses. He moved a mattress into the room for us when our daughter came to stay with us on the last night. When the kitchen staff was pressed for breakfast he pitched in and helped them. Our breakfasts arrived promptly. The beans were always cold but we just guessed that is the way some people like their beans? Our son was particularly pleased that when he asked for scrambled eggs at breakfast he got a huge mound of about 6 eggs. No need for lunch that day. Our room was in the basement and it was a bit like sleeping on the tube platform as the trains rolled by underneath. Actually this was to be expected as we were so close to the tube entrance.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Down, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Myself and a friend booked a bit of a last minute weekend in London in the run up to Christmas so ended up staying here as it was one of the few places which wasn't fully booked so we weren't expecting alot! The hotel was pretty basic and it was a bit of a maze to get to our room, but it was clean and as we didn't spend much time in the hotel we didn't need any luxury. It was a handy location as it's right beside the tube station on the picadilly line which runs directly to Heathrow and stops at covent garden, leciester sq and hyde park so ideal for doing all the touristy things. The staff were really friendly & helpful. Overall it is a basic hotel but its fine for a night or two and if you're travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Address: 16-18 Argyle Street, Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central hotel is a family run bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of central London offering superb value for money accommodation. The hotel is situated barely a minutes walk from Kings Cross Tube Station, St Pancras international and offers easy access to all of London's tourist sights, shopping districts and theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.