We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling !!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Camelot House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Camelot House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camelot House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   18 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UL, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #452 of 522 London B&B and Inns
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Appalling !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This is not hotel accommodation and it is surprising that some form of authority has not closed it down. In no way shape of form can this be described as a hotel, it is more like emergency bed and breakfast accommodation for homeless families. I was transferred to this 'hotel' at a moment's notice by a reputable hotel chain after a computer booking error on their part and will be looking for a refund. I would not kennel my dogs in that place. Didn't bother with the food, breathing the air in there was bad enough. Be Warned!!

Room Tip: Don't !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    11
    7
    44
See reviews for
10
13
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I wouldn't let a homeless man stay in that -2 star hotel. Used condoms outside the hotel / our room window, strange charactors with hood ups running the place, filth ridden.

The bedside cabinet was like a decorators radio (& the place hadn't been decorated for 30 years !), the shower had mould all over it, the toilet had scum everywhere.

I put my shoes on to get from my bed, across the disgusting floor to the bathroom.

I have no idea what that was in the fridge.

No chance on earth will I stay there ever again, foul. Hygiene panic ! I can only describe this place as a drug den brothel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I had nowhere else to go and was really ill so I stayed.
I never expected to sleeep in these conditions. There was a hole in the bathroom chewewd by rats to get in . The place was filthy. In the hall there was a rat trap and there was a smell of decying something. I'd say a dead rat somewhere.
I slept a little with the light left on and went in the morning without even venturing a shower.

This is really, really really bad.
Do not go there

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

i would never book this hotel again and we never even stopped there. they forced us to cancel our booking made for aug 2012 because they were having work done on the hotel at this time. what a pack of lies! which hotel in its right mind would do this when the olympics were being held. only problem we have is, there is no where else to stay at this late stage that we can afford. i beleive that had a better offer from a block booking, and dumped ever one that had booked. SO NEVER NEVER BOOK THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: none at all please do not use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Positive: Location near Paddington station, relatively clean rooms. Negative: All the rest. Rooms in need of refurbishment, breakfast in the cellar of neighbouring hotel, personnel neither attentive nor nice. I'm definetely not coming back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hernando
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

It has been about 3 years since we stayed at this disguesting dive.The memory of the managements lack of concern for customer requirements(a clean place to rest and wash up) seems to be unchanged as per the current visitor comments.I keep hoping that one day some british tourism rep. will visit this dump and realize that this type of place gives London a black eye . On the positive side, the lady that cleaned the rooms and helped in the kitchen was great.

Room Tip: Just take a look at the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Room was like a prison cell. Mouldy shower head, dusty floor and noisy water system made it the stay from hell. Quite a walk from tube station - not a safe area at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camelot House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot House Hotel

Address: 18 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #452 of 522 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Camelot House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Hotel London
Camelot House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelot House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.