We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel or hellhole?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Camelot House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Camelot House Hotel to your Saves list
Camelot House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   18 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #468 of 550 London B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel or hellhole?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Room was like a prison cell. Mouldy shower head, dusty floor and noisy water system made it the stay from hell. Quite a walk from tube station - not a safe area at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjgal75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

this hotel is so handy, the bus leaves you off on the corner of the street just 1mins walk from the hotel. buses take you to oxford street in a few mins. there are also buses to liverpool st station and victoria station, paddington station is 5mins walk away, or you can hop on a bus to take you there. The tube station is also just a few mins away. lovely vibrant area full of people, shops and supermarkets. The hotel itself was great value for money. the room was spotless as well as the shower and toilet which was a bit small but was still OK. our room had a double bed, table and chairs, flat screen television, small fridge, kettle and cups, tea and coffee and some hanging space, we just used our cases to substitute for drawers. the staff were very friendly and helpful and fresh cooked breakfast was great. I thought it great value for money being in the heart of london at £75.00. per night for both of us. will go there again

Room Tip: our room was at the back, the rooms facing onto sussex gdns may not be as quiet because of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamsunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saintfield
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This is the worst hotel I have ever been in! The rooms are in a terrible state of repair and they were not clean. An electrical extension cable trailed across the room to power the fridge which I was too reluctant to even open. The 'en suite' bathroom was simply two stud walls in the corner of the room. Bathroom ventilation was simply the fact the bathroom walls didn't go all the way to the ceiling, so it just vented into the room.

The room was so small the bed was against 3 walls.

My colleague's room was in a similar state.

NOT recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ-Saintfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

paphos
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

What a horrible filthy, cramped place. It shouldnt be given a licence to trade.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mazpaphos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

we took our grandson and grandgirl to see London for one week.Hotels on London are not cheap and if you like to be near centrum like Hyde park they are never it.
I red evaluations of Camelot and they did not look promising, but Camelot and its four beds room was better then we thougt, Of course rooms were old, but it only 2.3 stars hotel. It si saying , the forest answers like you do. We were nice and glad and after a while we got a smiling hotel with good service. Breakfest room was tiny, but serving good and food ok.

Room Tip: take backside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EERO42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahoo, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I'm from the United States and I stayed there with a group of about 20 other people during a trip we took to the UK. We were supposed to have a different hotel, but it didn't work out because the football game between Barcelona and Manchester was going on that weekend and most good hotels were already booked. Anyway, stay away. Far, far away. The rooms are tiny. Half the plugins don't work. The toilets don't flush correctly. The showers a horrible (our bathroom was in what looked like it should have been a small closet). Half of the TV's only get a few channels. They never gave us enough towels. And there's a tent outside, where men gather to smoke hookahs every night. Several friends of mine got touched inappropriately by older men. It's terrible. And on top of all of that, my friend and I had items missing from our rooms... I will say though, there us one redeeming quality. The breakfasts. They're cooked fresh by an amazingly sweet woman. My friends and I looked forward to going down to breakfast there every morning. It's very delicious. But I would still advise you not to stay there. It's not even worth the cheap price it costs.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaitlynrae13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston ma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

5 floors no elevator put me on the 5th floor. Room inadequate. Bed had no headboard room dirty no water for shower and hair dryer to filthy to touch. I would have cleaned it to use but what was the point no water for shower so could not wash hair. Not enough plugs had to unplug tv to use the kettle. Did not even stay for the free breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanBostonMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Tune Hotel - Paddington
#304 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,427 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#339 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,740 reviews
Caring Hotel
#473 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Darlington Hyde Park
#203 of 1,058 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,783 reviews
Orchard Hotel
#759 of 1,058 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Dolphin Hotel
#681 of 1,058 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot House Hotel

Address: 18 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #468 of 550 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Camelot House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Hotel London
Camelot House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing