We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly hotel in the heart of Camden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camden Lock Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Camden Lock Hotel to your Saves list
Camden Lock Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Chalk Farm Road, London NW1 8AR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #550 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly hotel in the heart of Camden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Camden Lock Hotel and were pleasantly surprised. Our room was clean and comfortable. Nice en-suite, with lots of clean towels and toiletries. We took breakfast at the adjoining coffee bar which offers discounts for residents and served us a tasty full English breakfast. Free wifi in the room and really central to all the joys of Camden - Hawley Arms, Roundhouse, Markets and Locks. We'll definitely be going back!

Room Tip: If you want a good night's sleep, ask for a room further from the pub next door. They have live...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    172
    108
    35
    29
See reviews for
38
164
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Easy to find from tube, friendly staff and simple accommodation. Compared to other budget hotels in London this was better than the places around Paddington (for example). Room was small but clean. Good breakfast. Free wifi. Sure, it didn't have the best noise insulation but hey - it's next to a pub. I'll go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zadar
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

When I booked this hotel, I knew that I booked relatively cheap hotel in London. But we didn't get what I expected. The location is not bad, the metro station is nearby and it takes only 10 minutes to get to Oxford Street or Covent Garden. The reception staff is very friendly, when we arrived I asked for the quiter room, the lady found it for us. There is no lift, so we had to carry our bags upstairs. The room, we got, was for 2 persons but the room is very small. There is no mini-bar or hair-dryer, or any closet, just a few hangers. I had to ask at the reception to let me the hair-dryer. The room and the bathroom are clean. The breakfast is served in the nearby caffe bar. You can choose between English and continental breakfast. We chose continental and it's not so bad. But I was really disappointed because the first morning we got fresh pastry, but next two days - the pastry from the day before. The hotel has WI-FI. Nearby there are a few shops where you can buy some water or juices, as you don't have it in the room.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms, but if you want to sleep at all, ask the room with a court-yard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel didn't look to bad in the photos on their website and there appeared to be no bad reviews.

On arriving I knew it would be bad news because the place was very grubby and they asked us to pay BEFORE we leave.

We hadn't even got to our room and there was litter left on window sills, the cleaners had thrown all of the dirty sheets into the hall way (which we had to step over) and there was a general pungent odour.

The room its self was dirty, there was blood on the duvet, the bathroom mirror was broken and there were foot prints and bogeys on the wall.

When we left to visit the round-house the lady on reception asked us to leave our key: which we refused to do, only to be told "Well we have a master key anyway so we can still get in your room if we need to".... I still have no idea why she felt the need to tell us that but I made sure I left no valuables in the room!

Our room was on the 3rd floor and I was quite shocked to see they were using the fire escape stair-well as a storage area for cleaning supplies and fresh linen so in the event of a fire you would find it extremely difficult to get down the stairs!

And to top it all off the bed was knackered and now I've got a back ache.

I'd have been better of setting the £100 the room cost on fi

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked this hotel as we where going to a gig in The Jazz Cafe and it was within walking distance, however it wasn't the best.
The pros-location, it is at the edge of Camden Town, close to subway stations and adjecent to The Roundhouse, Camden Market and Camden Town. The breakfast which is served in the cafe attached to the hotel was also excellent and a great full English breakfast was included in our room price. The linen, towels and bathroom clean.
The cons-The rooms was tired and shabby with various dubious stains on the carpets, the plumbing is so noisy, from 5am all you heard was toilets flushing and showers running "loudly".
Overall if you are looking for a cheap room to bed down for the night, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed on a Friday night as I was meeting friends to see a gig at The Roundhouse. For this purpose the hotel is perfect, however it's not the place for a romantic weekend. The building is a little tied although the room was fine. It was a little small but hay, that's London for you. It was very clean. One of the windows didn't close perfectly so noise was a bit of an issue especially the bin men at 6am. As it happened I had to be up early. The staff were good, receptionist excellent and very helpful. I din't try the food as I was off early. Perfect as a crash pad but very basic and not really suitable for a break. It wasn't cheap too but again for the location it couldn't be better. It was so close I din't even take my coat with me!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I was visiting Camden again, for a gig and to visit friends from the area and of course to take in the exciting, colourful market. And once again I was not dissapointed. I have probably been going to this area for 15yrs or so and it never seizes to amaze.

We chose The Camden Lock Hotel (again!). It was perfect for our needs, hospitable staff, clean rooms, showers, comfy bed and 10min walk to everything that is good about Camden.

Now the cost of the rooms here are fairly affordable, which is the allure, so don't expect 5* service or accommodation. But for what you pay it's ideal. See you again soon Camden.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Corner House Hotel
#686 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Camden
York & Albany
York & Albany
#596 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Primrose Hill Apartments
#691 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Premier Inn London Hampstead
#182 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Lock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Lock Hotel

Address: 89 Chalk Farm Road, London NW1 8AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #550 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Camden Lock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Camden Lock Hotel, a small hotel situated in Camden next to the world famous Camden Lock just north of Regents Park. The Camden Lock Hotel situated in one of the trendiest places in London opposite the legendary Roundhouse theatre at London’s Camden Town is a real value-for-money, quality accommodation. There aren’t many places where you can spend one night out and have the luxury of such a wide range of different music venue choices. Camden Town provides not only a diversity of alternative shops and restaurants, but its pubs, clubs and bars, new and old such as Koko Club, Jazz Café, The Electric Ballroom, the Forum etc. which make Camden such a must area to visit and enjoy!The Camden Lock Hotel is situated just 5 minutes away from Kentish Town West Overground station.The Overground runs every 10 minutes for a 27 minute journey directly into Stratford, the heart of The Olympic Village.Please note: the hotel does not have a lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Camden Lock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Camden Lock
Camden Lock London
Camden Lock Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camden Lock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.