We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby but excellent breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Camden Lock Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Camden Lock Hotel to your Saves list
Camden Lock Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Chalk Farm Road, London NW1 8AR, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #551 of 1,062 Hotels in London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Shabby but excellent breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked this hotel as we where going to a gig in The Jazz Cafe and it was within walking distance, however it wasn't the best.
The pros-location, it is at the edge of Camden Town, close to subway stations and adjecent to The Roundhouse, Camden Market and Camden Town. The breakfast which is served in the cafe attached to the hotel was also excellent and a great full English breakfast was included in our room price. The linen, towels and bathroom clean.
The cons-The rooms was tired and shabby with various dubious stains on the carpets, the plumbing is so noisy, from 5am all you heard was toilets flushing and showers running "loudly".
Overall if you are looking for a cheap room to bed down for the night, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    128
    87
    28
    25
See reviews for
28
127
38
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saltford
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed on a Friday night as I was meeting friends to see a gig at The Roundhouse. For this purpose the hotel is perfect, however it's not the place for a romantic weekend. The building is a little tied although the room was fine. It was a little small but hay, that's London for you. It was very clean. One of the windows didn't close perfectly so noise was a bit of an issue especially the bin men at 6am. As it happened I had to be up early. The staff were good, receptionist excellent and very helpful. I din't try the food as I was off early. Perfect as a crash pad but very basic and not really suitable for a break. It wasn't cheap too but again for the location it couldn't be better. It was so close I din't even take my coat with me!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I was visiting Camden again, for a gig and to visit friends from the area and of course to take in the exciting, colourful market. And once again I was not dissapointed. I have probably been going to this area for 15yrs or so and it never seizes to amaze.

We chose The Camden Lock Hotel (again!). It was perfect for our needs, hospitable staff, clean rooms, showers, comfy bed and 10min walk to everything that is good about Camden.

Now the cost of the rooms here are fairly affordable, which is the allure, so don't expect 5* service or accommodation. But for what you pay it's ideal. See you again soon Camden.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel offers good value for those on a budget. The staff are friendly and helpful and I enjoyed the breakfast downstairs in the cafe. My concern (and the reason why i will not be staying there again) is that there was no lift and I really struggled with the stairs being unfit with a heavy bag. That said, cannot fault the value, the cleanliness and the friendliness. If you're on a budget and fitter than me this is the place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Really welcoming and efficient staff. Great room, clean and perfectly functional. At this price we weren't expecting too much and we were very pleasantly surprised. Even had tea coffee making facilities and toiletries and TV in room. Breakfast at £5 was also great value and served in really funky cafe downstairs which was nothing like the usual anonymous bland hotel dining room! Can't recommend highly enough, location perfect for Camden markets and the Roundhouse.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here for one night as I was attending an event nearby. The room I received was on the second floor and looked like it had recently been refurbished. Although it was quite small is was adequate for my needs and very clean. Nice comfortable bed and a good hot shower, the most important things to me in a hotel room.
The staff were very friendly and the inclusive breakfast in the coffee shop attached was wonderful!. The only negative points were that in the bathroom it was an energy saving bulb therefore very dark which made it difficult for me to see to put on make up and the noise of the traffic which goes on almost all night...but it is London!...and I would use the hotel again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nice
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I've been there twice recently.The first time I found it basic but accepted it because the price was quite good but the second time I found it really too basic for the price.The bedding is not bad , is clean, but the walls are really dirty as well as the carpets.The furniture in the rooms is really simple and not up to date at all.They could do an effort on this specially on the lighting;For little money you can do a lot today.
The bathrooms are on the contrary quite good and well equipped with nice thick towels;The wifi works quite well, depends where you are.
There is no lift and that could be a problem when you have a big suitcase.
The hotel looks more like a youthhostel in fact with all the laundery remaining in the corridors for a long time in the morning.
The location is ok not far from St Pancras but around the hotel it's quite poor for coffeeshops and restaurants.
The staff is lovely.
With the poor quality of the rooms and the dirtiness of the walls and carpets they really have to do something, also for putting new lamps in the room.If they don't make any effort about that the price will be definitevely too high for the place.

Room Tip: better choose first floor if you 've got a big suitcase and want better wifi but I had a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camden Lock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Lock Hotel

Address: 89 Chalk Farm Road, London NW1 8AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #551 of 1,062 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Camden Lock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Camden Lock Hotel, a small hotel situated in Camden next to the world famous Camden Lock just north of Regents Park. The Camden Lock Hotel situated in one of the trendiest places in London opposite the legendary Roundhouse theatre at London’s Camden Town is a real value-for-money, quality accommodation. There aren’t many places where you can spend one night out and have the luxury of such a wide range of different music venue choices. Camden Town provides not only a diversity of alternative shops and restaurants, but its pubs, clubs and bars, new and old such as Koko Club, Jazz Café, The Electric Ballroom, the Forum etc. which make Camden such a must area to visit and enjoy!The Camden Lock Hotel is situated just 5 minutes away from Kentish Town West Overground station.The Overground runs every 10 minutes for a 27 minute journey directly into Stratford, the heart of The Olympic Village.Please note: the hotel does not have a lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Camden Lock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Camden Lock
Camden Lock London
Camden Lock Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camden Lock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.