We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Boka Hotel to your Saves list
Boka Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33-35 Eardley Crescent, London SW5 9JT, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #823 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is 2 minutes walk from either Earl's Court or West Brompton tube station. It is also convenient to get there from Gatwick Airport, London. If you need to spend just a few nights in London using the hotel only for sleeping over then it is fair value for money. The room was small but clean; no bathmat nor hand towels were provided. Breakfast was adequate but could be varied sometimes as it was the same things being served every day.
There were many eating places around, including Tesco and other groceries. It had a lift which was very convenient for luggage and a kichenette with a fridge,microwave, kettle and supplies of coffee and tea.. On the other hand the lobby area was shabby; when I was there in September the dining area got a facelift so that was welcome. One of the guys at the reception desk bordered on rudeness and was very unwelcoming, although it could be he was not proficient in English. However they need to train their staff to make you feel welcome when you enter the hotel and offer assistance if necessary. It is after all part of the hospitality industry. If you are on a tight budget but still value your privacy then I would recommend it. However next time I,m in London I personally would not stay there as long as I could increase my budget.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    40
    76
    28
    63
See reviews for
29
48
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Featherstone, null, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Me and 15 friends just spent a night at this hotel as we were in London on a hen night. I would definitely recommend it if all you want is a clean comfortable bed for the night. The foyer was horrible and stank awful, however the rooms were spotless. The beds had pure white covers on which were immaculate and the beds were very comfortable. The kitchen area was clean although we didn't use anything and the bathroom was also very clean with plenty of very hot water. The dining room was clean and you couldn't grumble at the breakfast. The dining staff were polite and helpful. If you've ever been to Blackpool, then this is a palace compared to some of the places I've stopped in there! The only thing that would put me off returning here is the proximity of Central London. Although the taxi cost £20 which isn't bad shared between 4, it took ages and as usual the traffic was horrendous.

Room Tip: I stopped in room 108
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BokaLondon, General Manager at Boka Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review , sorry you did not like the lobby but we are very happy you were pleased with the rooms, breakfast and staff.

Re your Taxi, Earls Court station is in the Central Zone 1, but Central London covers a vast area, personally I would always recommend taking the tube during the daytime as it is very quick i.e Earls Court to Leicester Square is around 11 minutes travelling, taxis during the day whilst good do tend to be expensive as they are on a meter and in London traffic that can add up.

Anyway once again thank you for the review and we hope you enjoyed your hen night and all the best for the wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Centrally located less than 5 minute walk to both Earl's Court station and West Brompton station. Lots of nearby shops, restaurants, cafes, pubs, grocery stores - 24 hour ones too. Few stops by tube away from Buckingham Palace area. room had a private bathroom and kitchenette, with friedge, utensils, microwave, stovetop for cooking and hot water kettle. 5 minute walk from Easybus stop to/from Gatwick airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BokaLondon, Manager at Boka Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for the review , we are very pleased you were happy with the hotel and hope you will visit us again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We arrived and it looked rather shabby and the guy at the front desk was very welcoming I have to say. Got taken to our room and well it was for two people yet we had a double bed and an extra single bed?

Positive is that it came with a kitchenette so was able to cook our own food. However if you are not big on cooking there is a high street no less than 5 mins away has most things..sainsburys, tesco, m&s and even a co-operative .

The bed rather lumpy and seemed like it was two single beds placed together? Not the comfiest! Also the boiler in our room was horrifyingly loud at night so was not able to sleep whatsoever!

Recommended if u have no place else to stay, but is cheap so I guess we cannot have it all.

Just because it was not right for me, hopefully it will be ok for you :-)

Enjoy

Room Tip: One that is n to close to the boiler and is not facing the earls court expo hall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel had a fantastic location. We just walked the street up and turned to the left and there was Earl´s court tube station. That station is great, lots of lifts for heavy bags and it goes straith to Heatrow.
Boka had very small rooms but they were clean and tidy. Me and my frien had two single rooms and both of us had little kitchenettes. The bathrooms were good. I had hot water all the time (ground floor) but my friend had mostely cold. It was very quiet during night and the neigborhood felt safe.
The breakfast was ok with cereals (one sort), bacon, eggs, sausages and baked beans. Of course there was toast and jam. I don´t recommend the so called juice, it was rather disgusting.
I really recommend this hotel for especially for tourists. Great value!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you are only looking for a place to sleep for few days with a tight budget, then this is perfect. Especially as the location is excellent !

Don't expect much than that.
The rooms and the furniture are a bit old and not always super super clean but it was ok for me (and the bed was very good).It was quiet, though I recommend to use earplugs.
Breakfast is the traditional english one but it's flexible so you can ask for eggs only or just toasts.
Staff is friendly in general.

Room Tip: I recommend the room I had (208) on 2nd floor, on courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Boka Hotel was clean; the staff wee very friendly but the room itself was not very good. Our room was kitted out for three people but it had a double bed, single bed in an alcove one small three drawered chest, a clothes rail with two coat hangers on it, a two seater couch, an old table and two chairs. The room also had a small separate kitchenette with utensils etc if you wanted to cook.
The Staff were very friendly and nice and were so helpful.
I would recommend this for a very short stay but no longer than two nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boka Hotel

Address: 33-35 Eardley Crescent, London SW5 9JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Boka Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Boka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boka Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.