We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bewertung von Taulant I.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boka Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boka Hotel to your Saves list
Boka Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33-35 Eardley Crescent, London SW5 9JT, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #820 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Sinzig, Germany
1 review
“Bewertung von Taulant I.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The Boka Hotel is okay, but there are some things which i criticize. The Hotel is very old, the stairs are not stable. There are not enough chairs in the 5 bedded room, and the double bed wobbles, it is unstable. The next things which i criticize is that there are no pan in the kitchen and that there are not enough glasses, dishes and cutlery. Furthermore the breakfast was not yummy. But the Hotel has also positive things, the heating is very good, the room was always warm. And the staff has always cleaned up the room. Moreover the 24 hours check in was very good because i was every day long way. The position of the Boka hotel is very good because you need only 2 minutes to the underground. In the vicinity you found fastfood restaurants like MC´s. All in all i recommend the Boka Hotel because in comparison to other hotel the hotel is favorable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    45
    78
    29
    66
See reviews for
32
49
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dernau, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The Boka hotel is located about 5 minutes from the tube station Earls Court. And the way to the city center by underground is approximate 10 minutes. It is a medium sized hotel with a few guests. This could be, because the cleanliness and general condition are not so perfect. The hotel is equipped with a lift. The guests are mainly travelers and other groups. The food hall was very dirty and the hotel is located to renovation works.

A 24h supermarket is within 5 minutes walking distance.

At the reception, which was staffed by two employees, you were greeted very unfriendly by one of the persons (the lady ), without either of them looking up even once. The english language skills of the lady were rather poor, so it was difficult to understand the lady if you are not English.

The breakfast was ok, you can choose between full English breakfast (eggs, beans, sausage ), toast or cereal but the food hall was very dirty so the breakfast time was inedible. Our hotel room had a small kitchen including a microwave and a fridge which was awfully good but sadly there wasn’t any cutlery and no plates. But if we asked the reception we get some. There was only a small electric heating because the main heating was turned off, so the rooms were sometimes cold.

All in all, I would never come back to the Boka Hotel .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Neuenahr
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We visited London with our class and spent five days and four nights in this hotel.

The hotel offers a good accessibility due to its proximity to the Earl's Court station (only few minutes of walking). Also a 24h supermarket and some pubs are in the immediate vicinity.

The rooms were quite acceptable, but the cleanliness could be much better and for me personally, the vermin traps were disturbing. The small kitchenette was a real benefit especially if you got hungry in the evening. But the selection of kitchen utensils available wasn't that big.

For breakfast you had the choice of English breakfast, scrambled eggs, toast or cereals.

I had no problems with the service. All of the employees were friendly and answered every question I asked.

All in all, this is an average hotel for a fair price and I can rcommend it for School Trips.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BokaLondon, Manager at Boka Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review we of course remember your class and school who have been here several times and were very happy to have you all here, a very pleasant group of people.

I would like to comment on a couple of items.

Re "vermin traps" these are not actually traps but are called Bait Monitoring Stations. These are in place to monitor if there are any pests such as mice, these are checked monthly by our Pest Control Contractor , Crystal Services PLC , one of the largest companies in their field. We have had many comments recently about this and would like to set the record straight, we as a business do not choose to have these items or where to place them. Under the Health and Safety at Work Act 1974 we are obliged to have a pest control routine and since 2006 the law means all food establishments must have a Pest Control contract, failure to have one in place would lead to fines from the local authority and they do check such things regularly . As we have mini kitchens for guests in rooms we are obliged to also have pest control in room areas where food may be, this is for everyone’s benefit and does not mean that we have pests. It’s similar to a Fire Alarm, it’s there by law for clients safety but does not mean a premises has had or intends to have a fire, if you see what I mean. But we do not have a pest problem which our documentation confirms and I am sure Crystal Services PLC would be happy to confirm that to anyone if they asked .

Kitchen Utensils, the mini kitchenettes are not meant to be full blown kitchens but a small space for a guest to use for snacks etc , but if you feel the utensils were inadequate we do apologise and if anyone does want anything extra we would always say just ask us and we will try and help.

Once again thank you for your review and I do hope my response explains things .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodder, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We booked this hotel for a class trip to London.

The position of the hotel is good. The tube station Earls Court is just few meters away and so you could explore London very good. Pubs, shops, supermarkets and restaurants are also reachable in just a few minutes on foot.

We had got a room for four people, with a double bed and two single beds. Besides in the room was a small kitchenette, an own bathroom und a TV. The room was small, but clean! On one day our room wasn’t clean and we didn’t get new towels. When we complained about it, on the reception, we got immediately new towels and the other days our room was always made.

The breakfast was ok, you can choose either an English breakfast (egg, beans, sausages), toast or cereals.

To the employees you could say that they were a little bit unfriendly. You had the feeling that, they were a little bit annoyed by our questions, but they helped!

Because of maintenance works the complete heating system failed, in the whole hotel. Because of that it was very cold throughout the hotel and especially in the breakfast room. But every room had got a small heater for the defective heating.

Finally I could say for the price performance ratio the hotel was ok.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I have stayed here on 2 consecutive weeks. The first time I left some valuables in the chest of drawers. When I remembered I called them and they were very helpful. They immediately went to the room, put the items in a bag to be left at reception and called me back. I picked them up the following week. I reckon I wouldn't have got such a responsive service as that from a 5 star hotel!

Both rooms I stayed in had a kitchenette; the 2nd had a microwave which was handy. Also it is close to West Brompton tube and of course Earl's Court exhibition centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BokaLondon, Manager at Boka Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we do really appreciate them.

Hope to see you again sometime

Regards

Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

The location is nice but the hotel is shabby and dingy. The staff are unfriendly abrubt and unhelpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BokaLondon, Manager at Boka Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Guests

I am sorry you feel we are a dump and so unfriendly. When you booked you sent a message asking if the rooms were ensuite, we repsonded by email immediately that they were . Whilst at the hotel where you had booked a Double and a Single and we allocated you two ensuite triuple rooms with kitchenettes you never complained once , and on your departure you stopped at reception as you wanted to book a taxi and also were unsure which terminal to go to at the airport, you chatted and smiled whilst I checked your terminal for you and my colleague booked your taxi for you ( we are aware you were not particularly happy at the cost of a taxi to the airport but as we pointed out you had a lot of luggage and the taxi company informed us you needed a people carrier instead of a normal sized car as the 6 varying sized cases would not fit in a normal sized car as well as the passengers ) .

I am sorry you feel the need to describe the place as a dump and criticise our service when the only actual contact we had with you was to offer assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

The Hotel is centrally located in a residential area. The next tube station is reachable within only two minutes by foot which is very comfortable. Close to the hotel there are several pubs and small supermarkets where you can get cheap food.

Our hotel room had a fine mini kitchen including a microwave and a fridge which was awfully good but sadly there wasn’t any cutlery and no plates. We bought our food at “Tesco” Supermarket which is about 10 Minutes away from the Hotel and has open 24 hours a day.

The furniture and the bath in our room wasn’t the newest but most widely functional. The only thing to complain about is that the shower hose was so short, that it snaps off when I tried to hang it in at the mounting and no water comes out. So I had to hold the shower head in the hand while I was douching. To heat our room there was only a small electric heating because the main heating was turned off, but this reached because it wasn’t so cold outside.

The reception is permanently manned and the personal is very friendly and helpful. One evening we asked the women at the reception for the address of a club we wanted to go to, and she searched it for us on the internet and explained the fastest track.

The breakfast room was in the basement. You could choose between toast and cereals or English breakfast. I didn’t try English breakfast but everything else was tasty.

All in all, the hotel is good for a city trip to London if you are on a cheap budget.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boka Hotel

Address: 33-35 Eardley Crescent, London SW5 9JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Boka Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Boka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boka Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.