We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost there....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Central St Giles

Byron Central St Giles
1A St Giles High Street, London WC2H 8AG, England (Formerly Byron)
+44 20 7240 2707
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,318 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Price range: $11 - $31
Cuisines: Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: We make proper hamburgers. Good Scottish beef, ground fresh, cooked medium, served in a squishy bun with fries and a craft beer.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Almost there....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Simply presented burgers, tasted good, would have preferred the burgers to contain some form of seasoning..... Beer expensive for bottled, 440ml is not even a pint (568ml). Chips would have been nice fresh. Tasted too much like Burger King fries...dry. Decor and service were very nice, my wife said that the toilets were nice too. (She is always pleased with nice toilets!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    28
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Burger delicious meat, warmth service and good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

If you fancy a good burger, this is the place to be. They also serve delicious onion rings
And fantastic desserts.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Amazing burgers and milkshakes to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My first visit to Byrons was wonderful, had a veggie burger with courgette fries...absolutely amazing!! We also ordered a Byron burger and fries with a vanilla milkshake...again heavenly!! Will definitely eat here again on my return to London.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“School dinner with good ingredients?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Byron are a chain, so no great expectations as such, however you'd think serving a 'good burger' for a place that claims expertise woul be an easy task! Not in this case as our meal was way too cold to be anywhere near impressive! Another disappointment was that even fries are considered as an extra/side dish which you'd have order and pay for separately. Service was good so was the atmosphere.. I wish same could be said for the food. Next time I will make life more simple (and cheaper) and head for Mc Donald's.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE BURGERS, GREAT BEER AND WINE- GREAT VALUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We needed to eat fairly quickly as we were on our way to the theatre. It was our first visit to one of the classy Byron restaurants and we were very impressed. The menu is mostly burgers, done in a variety of ways, with some salads and chicken options. The drinks include some excellent and unusual USA beers and good wine at affordable prices. Our party of 4 each chose a different burger and everyone was delighted with their choices. The service was smart and efficient and the bill was £62 for 4 people including 2 drinks each. That's wonderful value for this fashionale part of London - next time we will allow time to linger and try the desserts.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byron Central St Giles also viewed

 

Been to Byron Central St Giles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Central St Giles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.