We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hammersmith - Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 King Street, London W6 0QU, England (Hammersmith / Fulham)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #254 of 1,071 hotels in London
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hammersmith - Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. About 200yds from Hammersmith tube station on the Hammersmith and District Line. It is just off the high street that contains every retail store a visitor may need. There are numerous restaurants from pubs selling steaks to Vietnamese, and Japanese cuisine. The hotel is behind the Plough and Harrow pub.

The hotel was the usual high standard I have come to expect from Holiday Inns. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. The room spotless and well appointed. Great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    280
    78
    15
    12
See reviews for
155
130
35
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our baby over the summer. The room was a little bit of a tight squeeze for the three of us, but that's to be expected in central London I guess. The decor was also a little tired/dated but, having said that, also perfectly clean and comfortable - no complaints really; after all we knew we hadn't booked (and paid for) The Ritz! The staff were polite and helpful.

Breakfast was included and again was perfectly adequate if nothing special. There's a spacious public area to eat it in in the hotel, which also doubles as a bar in the evening.

One tip is that parking is charged extra here - £15 for 24 hours I think. However, at weekends at least, it is possible to find free on-street parking in the vicinity (which is what we did) if you want to avoid the extra charge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed_Khwaja, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at the hotel. I am pleased to note that you found the rooms clean & comfortable and staff polite & helpful during your stay with us. As part of our investment program for 2013, guestroom corridors will be given a facelift to make it more welcoming.

We look forward to wlecoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Ahmed Khwaja
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Me and my wife were visiting London, it was a third trip for myself and first for my wife. I really enjoyed the location, it is located next to restaurants, shopping, bars, cafe and transportation. On most day there is a little public square which hosts all sorts of awesome food stands, jamican jerk chicken and Japanese stew to name a few.The hotel itself if plain and simple a marvel of functionality, if you are looking for character look else where, if you are looking for a comfortable hotel, with all the modern amenities and a quite bed, then this is for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Me and my family stayed at this hotel in August of last year. When we arrived by taxi we discovered that the hotel isn't directly on the street but inside an ally-like corner. We walked in an almost immediately checked in to our rooms. We will admit that we were really surprised when we saw the rooms, maybe we're just not used to it but the rooms were deathly small; and they contained no mini bar and no safe. My bigger problem was that there was not enough closet space to hang and put your clothes. I was in a double room with my sister and we ended up having to put our clothes in the floor and under the desk. There wasn't room service, and we came to a realization as to these several amenities were not provided; it was a holiday inn 'EXPRESS' so a safe is apparently a luxury thing. Th lovely things about the rooms were that they were so incredibly clean, and that although there wasn't much of a view, way in the distance there was a train passing by every now and then which for me and my family was very enjoyable. The breakfast at this hotel is complementary which is very nice, but the variety is terrible. Being an American jordanian I became accustomed to big breakfasts and huge variety. The breakfast was a standard English breakfast of beans, toast, eggs, cheese, muffins and sausage. My complaint about the breakfast is that after a few day of staying here it becomes very, very dull. And it wouldn't hurt if you switch up the type of cheese every two days of so, it was the same cheese every single day with no other alternative. The location of the hotel is absolutely amazing, it's situated in a lovely street filled with shops for everything! It's even got banks. At the far end of the street, about a 5 minute walk there's the metro which is very convenient.

We did enjoy our stay very much despite these little details. If you're looking for a good hotel and are on a tight budget then the hotel is great, just don't expect luxury, because in the end you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

It's a very welcoming hotel, the breakfast is very good and there is a variety to choose from ,the room was clean and so was the shower ,the towels were nice and fluffy but the comforters were lumpy and definitely need a change . Other than that it was a great clean and comfortable hotel to stay at and the staff were very helpful . The area is really good you can find your daily needs easily and a lot of shops where you can buy clothes , decorations and a lot more . There are also good restaurants to eat at . Not far away there is a tube station where you can travel safely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed_Khwaja, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and review your stay at Holiday Inn Express Hammersmith. I am glad that our location was convenient to you and I am pleased that you were satisfied with our staff, rooms and amenities. As part of our continuous investment programme for the comfort and benefit of our guests, we are now replacing duvets in all the rooms with better feel and comfort ones.

Once again, thank you for your valued custom and comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ahmed Khwaja
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express London Hammersmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Welcoming, efficient check-in. Comfortable, quiet room with crisp bedlinen and lovely fluffy white towels. Generous complimentary breakfast with friendly and efficient staff. Very convenient location for our visit to the The Royal Albert Hall - 15 minutes by taxi. Hotel also has an under cover car park.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed_Khwaja, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Hammersmith. It is lovely to hear nice comments about our staff and I will make sure to share them with my team.

Our location is indeed great with several restaurants and the tube station just about 5 minutes walk that give you easy access to the rest of the city and great land mark such as Royal Albert Hall. Holiday Inn Express Hammersmith always includes breakfast at no extra charge and I’m pleased that you were able to take advantage of this.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, when you’ll be able to enjoy our warm welcome and hot breakfast menu again.

Kind regards

Ahmed Khwaja
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Hammersmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My sister and I stayed for one night in December 2012 while in London arranging our mothers funeral. As our trip had been unplanned and we arrived in London late at night, we didn't book in advance and walked in. We arrived after midnight and where still charged £136.00 for the night, if we had realized how bad the service would be we would have kept walking to the next hotel. The member of staff who checked us in was efficent but not friendly. After putting our cases in the room we came downstairs for a drink. We waited 15 minutes to be served at the bar. The room itself was clean and comfortable but nothing more than you would expect at a hotel down the road which is half the price and serves a better breakfast. We discovered how bad the breakfast was next morning. The eggs were terrible we decided they had to have been made with powdered egg, the coffee was stale and the orange juice suspicious. The worst thing however were the strange smelling tiny sausages completely inedible. My sister and I stayed a further two nights in London that week making arrangements and another night the following week for the actual funeral, we stayed at a different hotel which I have highly recommended in another review. The hotel which made us very comfortable with great service we recommended to the various relatives who traveled for the funeral many of whom also stayed there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hammersmith, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not satisfactory as a result of the various issues highlighted in your review. Your feedback has been shared with the team and we will certainly ensure to improve on the service standards.

I hope this experience will not deter you from staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Sub Iyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith Hotel
Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith Hotel London
Holiday Inn Express London
Holiday Inn London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith England
Address: 124 King Street, London W6 0QU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Family Hotel in London
#327 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a convenient location and easy links to central London at the Holiday Inn Express London Hammersmith hotel. The modern Holiday Inn Express Hammersmith is an inviting home-from-home, a short stroll from Hammersmith Tube station for direct links to Heathrow Airport and the attractions of central London. Free wireless Internet in public areas and a complimentary Continental breakfast with hot items make us a good-value choice just steps from Hammersmith's bustling King Street. Feel free to make use of Holiday Inn Express London-Hammersmith's 24-hour Business Centre, and host events for up to 35 people in our 4 meeting rooms. It's a 10-minute walk to meetings with Coca Cola, L'Oréal and Disney, a mile to the BSI and 2 miles to major conferences and exhibitions at Earls Court and Olympia. Our handy location means it's just a few minutes' walk to live music and comedy at the HMV Hammersmith Apollo, and a short Tube journey for panoramic views on the London Eye. Packed full of boutiques, high-street stores and restaurants, the enormous Westfield shopping centre is 2 miles from the hotel. Our hotel in London's Hammersmith is a convenient choice if you're arriving in London by car. We're outside the congestion charge zone and offer some parking spaces. Under-16s stay free in family-sized Guest rooms and you can socialise till late in our contemporary Lobby bar. We also offer free Wi-Fi. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.