We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inventive menu and delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 22 North Street

22 North Street
22 North Street | Clapham, London SW4 0HB, England
+44 20 3583 3702
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
22 North Street is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,522 of 17,052 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We are proud to be a independent seasonal British restaurant, dedicated to serving the highest quality food and drinks. Our monthly menu always offers a choice of traditional classics alongside more diverse, innovative flavours. Our kitchen team is led by dedicated London chef Ian Lawless and the Front of House team is managed by Aniko Szollosi. We work very closely with our wine and spirit suppliers, striving for a perfect match of dish and drink, changing our offering when we think we've found something we know you'll enjoy.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Inventive menu and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I always give credit to restaurants who try to be original in their menu and pride themselves on making everything on the premises, and this one has a tick in both boxes. A very appetising menu with inventive and well presented dishes. Fabulous starter of goat's cheese and pears was particularly good. Friendly staff and pleasant surroundings made for a very nice Sunday lunch. Would definitely go again - we have unfinished business on a very mouthwatering desert menu!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    19
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great all rounder: from charity dinner to treating the in laws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

22 North Street seems to be succeeding when many; I mean 5/6 have failed this in this challenging spot over the last decade. Our family, choosy teenager and daughter on special diet enjoyed their meal; my in laws on a separate occasion, were really appreciative and best if all our group of 16 parents and speaker had a wonderful time. Delightful service, great food and amazing value. And when they ran out of one dessert, women and chocolate you know, the magic words... We have 2 other choices available solved that problem. Now looking for an excuse to try the Harry Potter secret dining room. One thought: bit drafty by the door.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Intimate, friendly, excellent service ad food simply superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Hidden in a dark uninviting street is the wonderfully warm, atmospheric gem that is 22 North Street. The menu is adventurous and enticing, with many new combinations for us that really worked (I had a pork belly and clam starter!).
The service is great and we will be returning again very soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Really enjoyed an evening at this restaurant. Food was religious and plentiful and the staff were excellent. Looking forward to a second visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I visited 22 North Street last month with a friend for dinner and had a fantastic evening. The atmosphere is lovely, waiting staff so friendly and efficient, and the food absolutely superb. The set menu offer they have is incredible value, but even going off piste and picking the specials didn't break the bank. I chose the lamb and halloumi salad followed by turbot with endive tart tatin and it was one of the best meals I have eaten for a long time. I highly recommend 22 North Street and will definitely return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 22 North Street also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to 22 North Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 22 North Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.